We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful design hotel in the south of Antwerp.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampshire Hotel - O Sud Antwerpen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hampshire Hotel - O Sud Antwerpen
Ranked #49 of 71 Hotels in Antwerp
Breda
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful design hotel in the south of Antwerp.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

We had a amazing two nights in this hampshire hotel. The room was spacious, had a bath tub in the bedroom and a separate shower. The only down side was the gallery to the room which was very dark. Downstairs next to the hotel is bar O were you can enjoy a great glass of wine and some tapas. When going back to Antwerp we will definitely return to this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FemkeQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    25
    18
    8
    6
See reviews for
4
53
1
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
dubai
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

The room was little bit dark since the floor and most of the things are black in color bu the setting is good. The reception downstair was helpful. The cafe Nero was a super one where you can relax before you enter your room. This hotel is in the centre of the town where there are many bars and restaurants around. Even Indian veg restaurants are there.

Room Tip: Suggest to take a room on the top floor since the cafe Nero down will be open after midnight and jam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Davis_Xavier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2013

We stayed here during New Year's Eve. We really liked the place when we entered the hotel and room. However when we looked a bit closer at the state of the furniture and some of the materials used in the room, it looked run down. I agree with Esrotterdam that most probably this place looked great 2 years ago. I really hope the owner works on this so it can become a wonderful hotel at a nice location.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Macs104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013

Room: trendy and chic decor (was lacking in light at times and large beautiful closet doors were hard to shut). Very clean rooms and very comfortable bed. Rooms are a bit noisy at night due to the bar downstairs and traffic so bring earplugs if you are a light sleeper. Also forget about any kind of room service past 9pm.

Staff: friendly and had good tips on local restaurants, cafe, museums and shopping.

Amenities: nice bath soaps, wifi was quick and easy, expensive garage parking 25 euros per night.


If you are looking for an average priced yet "cool" vibe in a great location this hotel is for you.

Room Tip: Get the room with the double jacuzzi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danley1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

We are on our way out of the hotel, but taxi is in delay so would like to share my experience here in the hotel. Just because we had such a great time.
Picked out this hotel because it was the only situated in that area. They call it the South, but basically is is still center of the city. The area us artistic, many nice restaurant, wide streets,... looks like all the Antwerp people come here. We are not so fond about the super tourist places by the way.
The hotel itself had a very nice and cool design. Much black, which makes it a little creepy and not always comfortable because of the darkness but the look and feel in geneal is really good.
Nice shower, huge bath with whirlpool and huge mirror wall in champagned color. Fancy.
King size beds with fine cotton cheets, wow I want this kind of bed to in my house.
Also the breakfast downstairs in the Brasserie Nero was aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaamazing. I would go back to antwerp only to have the breakfast again.
Satff is super friendly btw.
Basically A+ overall.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christophe987654321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

My partner and I booked this hotel as part of our anniversary weekend and we were totally disappointed from check-in to check-out. The only good thing to say about this hotel is it is in a great location and as others have said, the cafe below the hotel, Nero, has good food and music.

When we arrived, there was no one at the desk even though the sign said check in was from 3pm - 10pm and it was 4pm at that time. We waited about 5 mins for someone to arrive and they didn't explain anything about the hotel (e.g. breakfast, checkout times, features) and just gave our key and told us our room was on the first floor. The hotel does offer free wifi, but it is very slow and patchy, often cutting out.

We had booked the 'eco' room, as we were interested in the wooden bath and were told these were the most quiet rooms in the hotel. The room overlooked a construction garbage bin, was dusty and there was no light in the shower. There were also coffee stains over the walls and parts of room didn't look finished, with cables and pipes hanging out. We requested to change to a room with a light in the shower and had to change room categories.

We moved to the deluxe suite for no extra charge which had a much nicer view and was bigger. I think the move was a bad choice. All the walls were really dirty, the toilet door didn't close, there was no toilet roll holder (the toilet paper was just on the floor), no place to hang your towel, the shower head was filthy and the seals around the bath were cracked and mouldy.

The phone in the room doesn't allow you to make calls outside the hotel and after calling reception to see if we could use their phone we were told 'reception is closed you will have to use a pay phone'. Not very impressive service at all. According to the Hotel O website, room service is available, but there was no menu in the room and we had to ask about the breakfast options ourselves. To make things worse the hotel cleaner walked in to our room (even though the do not disturb sign was on) without knocking, while we were sleeping.

To top it all off, on checkout, the person at the desk could not process our credit card and we missed our connecting train.

Don't waste your money here, I felt sick giving my money to them. The other reviews and hotel photo's gave a really good impression and we really wished it was actually like that. Definitely stay and eat in the zuid area of Antwerp, it is lovely but don't stay at Hotel O! The hotel recommended Fiskebar for dinner and it was amazing...so maybe they did one good thing after all!

Room Tip: Just don't stay here, but if you must make sure you ask for a room facing the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hlst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Antwerp hotels

amsterdam
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

hotel O is situated in Zuid, which I find the nicest district of the city. it has numerous good eateries, restaurants and cafes, with a cool design vibe. the building is beautiful and one of the nice hang-outs is actually situated straight under the hotel. (Nero barsserie). reception was very friendly and happy to share some insider-tips for discovering the city. the hotel reception has a surprising gift shop, Nero is connected to the hotel, that's where you can have breakfast. the room we stayed in (deluxe) was dark, with beautiful dark wood on the floors and walls and high ceilings. vintage design furniture combined with very tasteful new items. big windows with a view on the museum of arts and a bathtub in the room and a seperate rainshower. great bed and a nespresso for a morning coffee in bed. one of the most tasteful and special hotelrooms I have seen. Modenatie and Photography museum are in walking distance and very much worth a visit. parking on the Kaaien , which is only 2 minutes by foot, is for free. for dinner, check out restaurant Josephines, vintage decor with a good cocktail bar, situated in the same area. would certainly recommend hotel O!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robinAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Les Nuits
Hotel Les Nuits
#25 of 71 in Antwerp
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
1.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp
0.9 mi away
Hotel O  Kathedral
Hotel O Kathedral
#22 of 71 in Antwerp
3.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Prinse
Hotel Prinse
#53 of 71 in Antwerp
3.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Matelote
Hotel Matelote
#24 of 71 in Antwerp
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
1.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Antwerpen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - O Sud Antwerpen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - O Sud Antwerpen

Property: Hampshire Hotel - O Sud Antwerpen
Address: Leopold de Waelplaats 34, Antwerp 2000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 71 Hotels in Antwerp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampshire Hotel - O Sud Antwerpen 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HotelO Sud is a design hotel located across the Royal Museum of Fine Arts in one of the most exciting neighborhoods of Antwerp, 't Zuid. This trendy area is famous for it's numerous of bars, restaurants and shops. With its unique location the hotel offers a dynamic and distinctive design. HotelO Sud has 14 spacious rooms which feature a mixture of vintage and designer furnishings. All rooms include free Wi-Fi, California King size box spring beds, flatscreen TVs and modern state-of-the-art bathrooms with rain showers. Some rooms have a whirlpool bathtub. Whether you choose an ecological, luxury or sensual theme for your overnight stay , all the rooms will surprise you. HotelO Sud also has a meetingroom with a view overlooking the Museum of Fine Arts. The room is fully equipped and offers a modern and unique design. We offer meeting packages up to 20 people. Our Brasserie Nero is a typical and well known Belgian restaurant where you can enjoy an extensive breakfast buffet, lunch or dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - O Sud Antwerpen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing