We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel, no privacy in the rooms” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampshire Hotel - O Sud Antwerpen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hampshire Hotel - O Sud Antwerpen
Ranked #49 of 71 Hotels in Antwerp
Waalwijk, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good hotel, no privacy in the rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

I was traveling for business to Antwerp and stayed one night in this hotel. A stylish hotel, maybe a little bit too much, and a little bit confusing, too... Never happened to me before, but I really needed to read all instructions provided by the hotel staff, to know how things operate in this hotel.
The room I stayed in was really tiny, with a huge and comfortable bed and no separate bathroom. Actually there was a 2 persons whirlpool with a shower in the bedroom itself. It could be romantic or it could be embarrassing, depending on with whom you share the room. Don't think it's quite practical to have the shower in the bedroom - everything gets steamy if you take a shower/bath. I wouldn't have chosen this hotel for a longer stay, but for a few days trip it is just good enough. Staff was friendly and breakfast was good.
To sum it up - if it is your taste of a hotel, you will love it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    25
    18
    8
    6
See reviews for
4
53
1
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
105 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

Great hotel, just perfect.
A very stilish design hotel in a perfect location. My room was amazing with a fantastic view of the square. The staff is very friendly and professional. Since the reception close quite early we found our keys at the restaurant "nero" in the basement of the same building where you have the brekfast in the morning and a fantastic pint of belgium beer at nigh!

If you have a car you car park it very close to the hotel in a huge square, for free!

I will be back for sure.

Go there and enjoy it!

Ciao

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Black J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

we arrived at 20.00 hrs on Friday night. The lady at the reception was more or less waiting for us as last quests to check in. After she checked us in, she told us that the reception was closed after 2030 hrs. We had a room on the 1st floor and I asked her if she had any complains about the noise from the bar downstairs. She never had.
It was a nice, spacious room with a wooden bath. It could do wtih some more thorough cleaning and a toilet paper holder. We had a nice stay until the last morning when the neighbours took a shower and woke us up. It sounded like they took the shower in our room. When we left the room at noon (check out time), the reception already started calling that we had to check out. The receptionist was in a hurry because the reception was closing between 1200 -1400 hrs and it was 12.01 hrs! Even storing of our luggage was almost to much trouble. It looked like we were interrupting her lunch plans. This kind of hospitatlity didn't match the price and aspirations they want to achieve.
It's a nice hotel, perfectly located but not living up to our justified expectations.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moon s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

Stayed here only one night for business but this small design hotel has interesting concepts for the rooms. Some are quite large for European standards and the design element is definitely worth the money. I unfortunately was unable to try the breakfast offered in the morning as I had to leave early but the possibility for dinner or drinks in the evening is good as there are many locations to choose from including the bar/restaurant in the bottom floor of the hotel. If you need to park, you will have to circle the neighbourhood until you find something and leave before 08:00 in the morning or pay at the parking metre.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank terrycti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gent
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

Friendly staff, good food, top location and luxurious rooms.
The hotels has dark corridors and the doors are light boxes with details of Rubens paintings which is quite unique. Never saw this before. Also the beds are very very comfortable.

Room Tip: Sensual room or eco room !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breda
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

We had a amazing two nights in this hampshire hotel. The room was spacious, had a bath tub in the bedroom and a separate shower. The only down side was the gallery to the room which was very dark. Downstairs next to the hotel is bar O were you can enjoy a great glass of wine and some tapas. When going back to Antwerp we will definitely return to this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FemkeQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dubai
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

The room was little bit dark since the floor and most of the things are black in color bu the setting is good. The reception downstair was helpful. The cafe Nero was a super one where you can relax before you enter your room. This hotel is in the centre of the town where there are many bars and restaurants around. Even Indian veg restaurants are there.

Room Tip: Suggest to take a room on the top floor since the cafe Nero down will be open after midnight and jam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Davis_Xavier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Les Nuits
Hotel Les Nuits
#25 of 71 in Antwerp
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
1.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp
0.9 mi away
Hotel O  Kathedral
Hotel O Kathedral
#22 of 71 in Antwerp
3.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Prinse
Hotel Prinse
#53 of 71 in Antwerp
3.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Matelote
Hotel Matelote
#23 of 71 in Antwerp
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
1.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Antwerpen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - O Sud Antwerpen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - O Sud Antwerpen

Property: Hampshire Hotel - O Sud Antwerpen
Address: Leopold de Waelplaats 34, Antwerp 2000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 71 Hotels in Antwerp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampshire Hotel - O Sud Antwerpen 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HotelO Sud is a design hotel located across the Royal Museum of Fine Arts in one of the most exciting neighborhoods of Antwerp, 't Zuid. This trendy area is famous for it's numerous of bars, restaurants and shops. With its unique location the hotel offers a dynamic and distinctive design. HotelO Sud has 14 spacious rooms which feature a mixture of vintage and designer furnishings. All rooms include free Wi-Fi, California King size box spring beds, flatscreen TVs and modern state-of-the-art bathrooms with rain showers. Some rooms have a whirlpool bathtub. Whether you choose an ecological, luxury or sensual theme for your overnight stay , all the rooms will surprise you. HotelO Sud also has a meetingroom with a view overlooking the Museum of Fine Arts. The room is fully equipped and offers a modern and unique design. We offer meeting packages up to 20 people. Our Brasserie Nero is a typical and well known Belgian restaurant where you can enjoy an extensive breakfast buffet, lunch or dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - O Sud Antwerpen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing