We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel for both business as pleasure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Hotel Antwerpen Centrum Opera
Ranked #29 of 72 Hotels in Antwerp
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
114 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“good hotel for both business as pleasure”
Reviewed 21 January 2014

I stayed 5 days in this hotel in November 2013 because I needed to go to Belgium for work. The hotel is located at an easy in and out gateway from Antwerp to wherever in Belgium you might need to be. There's also an underground parking at the hotel which is a plus. If you travel by train the Central Station is about 10'walk (so a trip to the Zoo is also convenient from here)
Also for shopping the hotel is nicely located as you're close to central shopping district of Antwerp.
The breakfast is nicely organized and the rooms are spacious and clean.
So in fact you get every bit you pay for.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silvie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joachim_MACO, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Hotel Antwerpen Centrum Opera, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Dear Silvie V,

We are pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay in our hotel. It is encouraging as our guest’s satisfaction is our primary concern.

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    176
    136
    46
    21
See reviews for
19
175
48
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bodegraven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
107 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Not spectacular, not bad either: this is Mercure.
Location is o.k. as it's at the end of the Meir so a 10 - 15 minutes walk will take you to the Groenmarkt / citycentre. Easy access by car. 2 carparks round the corner with affordable (not cheap!) rates. Rooms are spacious and clean. Staff is professional with customerfocus. No on-site restaurant, only for breakfast. Breakfast at € 18,-- is too expensive but this seems to be the trend nowadays.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tejostr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joachim_MACO, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Hotel Antwerpen Centrum Opera, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear tejostr,

I would like to start by thanking you for taking the time to write a review of Mercure Antwerpen Centrum Opera on TripAdvisor.

Your kind words have been passed on to our teams who made your stay a memorable one. This will certainly motivate them and us all to keep up the good work.

We thank you for your continuous support and look forward to serving you again soon.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

The hotel is one of a chain and a typical business hotel.
On the plus side is it's central location, easy walking distance for all attractions.
It was clean and spacious. The TV was a little dated but contained all the usual continental stations.
The bed was very comfortable. There was a safe, tea making facilities and free toiletries.
On the down side was the decor which needed upgrading. The bathroom was 'tired' (but clean) and the shower area a little archaic. Although there was free tea-making facilities, there was a paucity of milk, coffee, tea bags etc. If you are staying there, I suggest you take your own.
We did not have breakfast at 18 euros per person which we thought was expensive. I would recommend the Petit Paris cafe near the Cathedral (3 eiermarkt street). Great scrambled eggs and bacon for 6.50 euros and superb coffee! Very welcoming. Finally, Antwerp is great for a weekend City break, with its many bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pete G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Located within about 10 minutes walk for Antwerp Central station, this was a typical Mercure Hotel, as described on the Mercure website.
Check-in friendly and efficient, excellent customer service.
The room and bed was clean and comfortable with air-conditioning/heating that worked. Slight traffic noise from our room at the front.
The bathroom was clean and functional.
The breakfast was a typical Mercure buffet, with a good range of food on offer – slightly on the expensive side, but average price for Mercure.
I would use this hotel again, when in Antwerp

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Northernlass481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I booked in here & was little concerned when we were told we had to get out of the lift at level 5 and walk the stairs to level 6!
When we got there, we had a huge attic room with large ensuite bathroom.
Bed was comfy, room was clean, complimentary water & tea & coffee.
My only reservation is that even though the window was at the back, there was some evident road noise, noticeable at night especially. But (unusually) it didn't disturb me & I would definately return.....
(For info: parking at an extra cost is right next to the hotel & secure)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank antonyschn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Otley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

Receptionist very friendly, immediately changed my room when the first one smelt of cigarette smoke. Large comfortable bed and modern room with no traffic noise. Hair dryer was one of these on the wall ones which was pretty weak. Continental breakfast very good with large selection. 15 min walk tot own centre and restaurants.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank EHF301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flanders
Level Contributor
121 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

We chose the Mecure Opera Antwerp for its location. We have stayed in Mercure hotels all over Europe and have always found it to have a good price-quality level. The receptionist was very kind and helpful when we checked in, she even gave us a (very good and affordable) address for breakfast, as our reservation was room only. The room was spacious, the bed wonderful. The bathroom however was not very clean: the bath tap clearly needed a good scrub. On the second morning we had breakfast in the hotel and we were isappointed: this was very different than the other elaborate breakfasts we had in other hotels: staff was not friendly, not attentive, the eggs were cold, several kinds of bread were gone and not filled up again... Such a pity. But we will try again Mercure on other occasions, but not in Antwerp.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Nefertete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
0.5 mi away
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
#7 of 72 in Antwerp
797 reviews
0.3 mi away
Antwerp City Hotel
Antwerp City Hotel
#22 of 72 in Antwerp
351 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Antwerpen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Astoria Hotel Antwerp
Astoria Hotel Antwerp
#18 of 72 in Antwerp
505 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Rubens - Grote Markt
0.2 mi away
Queen A Antwerp
Queen A Antwerp
#4 of 72 in Antwerp
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Antwerpen Centrum Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Antwerpen Centrum Opera

Property: Quality Hotel Antwerpen Centrum Opera
Address: Molenbergstraat 9 - 11, Antwerp 2000, Belgium (Formerly Mercure Antwerpen Centrum Opera)
Region: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Antwerp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Antwerpen Centrum Opera 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six story hotel with cozy wine bar located in city center; 4 km from Deurne (ANR) airport & 40 km to Brussels BRU airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Hotel Antwerpen Centrum Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Antwerpen Centrum Opera Hotel Antwerp
Residence Hotel Antwerp

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing