We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Theater Hotel improving”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Theater Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Theater Hotel
Ranked #25 of 71 Hotels in Antwerp
Moab
Level Contributor
202 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Theater Hotel improving”
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We were again in Antwerp and chose again the Theater Hotel (Alfa seems no longer mentioned). And again it was a good choice. The parking deck is directly connected to the hotel, so there is no wetting due to weather conditions.
Checking in was very convenient, the lady was highly motivated and experienced - even changing of the invoice adresse was an easy thing.
Got a room on 2nd floor, nice and light. Restroom was a little tiny and separated from the bath room.
One bulb was defective and replaced the next day. Air conditioning (heating !) was sufficient. Warm water tuning was a little bit tricky the first time, but then was ok.
The room was pretty nice and clean and nothing was out worn. Minibar (costs), and free water kettle (coffee/tea) and room safe are present.

Restaurant had a fixed menu and also some daily offers, some ordered steaks with fries and bearnase or pepper sauce - was all enough and tasty. Waiter was adequate.

Bar offered some beer from the tap - e-g- Stella - and was also fine.

Breakfast room has a o good view to Arenberg street and the buffet offers al you need - scrambled and boiled eggs, sausages, bacon, beans, bread, rolls, marmalade, choc hail, cheese, ham and so forth. Also cereals, yoghurt, fruit salad and juices. Regular coffee adn tea is incuded specialties cost additional money.

WIFI is available but is a monetary issue.

Although there was a bus group, breakfast and also check out was convenient and efficient.

No pool, no gym - you cant get all !

Room Tip: Non smoker rooms are in a better condition. Sometimes loudly speaking smokers are in font of the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ksg48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    198
    101
    37
    20
See reviews for
29
193
11
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ekero, Sweden
Level Contributor
100 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

The Good things; The location, the cleanliness and the size of the rooms - my mother-in- laws room was huge, and ours was pretty good sized for Europe. The beds were comfortable, the breakfast was good but not spectacular and the staff friendly and helpful.

The not as good things: The decor of the hotel is, I guess, "contemporary". This means very bare in dark brown, grey and yellow/orange, not even a picture on the walls. The wifi has a surcharge of €5, embarrasing in the year 2013 and surprisingly often seen in 4 and 5* hotels, while it is generally included in the price in hostels. I asked for a bathrobe at the reception and was told they don't have them anymore as they were always 'disappearing' - so supply me with one, make a note on my booking and request that I return it on check-out, then! These points together would say that this in not a 4* hotel but a 3*, though still a nice hotel.

Room Tip: There are good sized rooms and huge rooms in the hotel, if you feel like having more space is good f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tomlinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2013

Worst hotel.the wall is paper thin. You can hear people talking on the street next to it and in the room. Give towel with holes. Basin with crack holes. Charge you 5 euro for internet per day. Its ridiculous

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank solo808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Antwerp hotels

Hilversum, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We choose this hotel for a weekend stay in the city. One of the pluses is the location, in a quiet street in the Theater district and very close to the historical center of the city. We liked the large room that we were given, with plenty of space and very clean. We only missed a little bit more of light in it as it was a little bit dark. Breakfast buffet was also very good with a good assortment. On the down side is that the hotel looks overall a little bit old fashioned (specially the rooms) Even though everything is in good state, it needs a renovation in the decoration and furniture to give it a newer look. Nevertheless, I think it is a good property and I’d recommend it or repeat the stay if returning to the city.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sawmanr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2013

My husband and I had our wedding in September 2012 at Horta, and our guests stayed with the Theater Hotel. Everybody was very pleased with the hotel. I worked with them closely to book the rooms for everyone; you just couldn't find a company that's easier to work with. As a matter of fact, my husband and I loved it so much, we want to stay there one night every time we visit Belgium (I am from Belgium, but we live the US). The location is the BEST location you can have in Antwerp and you just can't beat the price.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heidi_Malvina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

This hotel has an easy access in the centre of Antwerp. There's a car park around the corner and within one minute walk you are at the big shopping street the Meir. The hotel has clean modern rooms and a neat bathroom. Breakfast is ok. If you want you can get some information of shopping streets and restaurants including a map of Antwerp at the desk. We stayed here only one night so I can't say much about the cleaning service. The price we paid was reasonable for what you get but I wouldn't pay more for this hotel because it's just a simple small hotel in the centre of Antwerp and we didn't stay long in the hotel itself.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bowie89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013

Friendly staff, nice double room, good beds, very clean, very very central (without the noise).
By booking on a travel website you can book this hotel for €70 (without booking fee, tourist tax).
The breakfast (included) was very good.
500 meters away there is a parking garage that costs only €8 for 24 hours (Nationale Bank).

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TChristiaans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Antwerpen Centrum
Ibis Antwerpen Centrum
#15 of 71 in Antwerp
992 reviews
0.4 mi away
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
#3 of 71 in Antwerp
772 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Les Nuits
Hotel Les Nuits
#22 of 71 in Antwerp
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Rubens - Grote Markt
0.4 mi away
Banks Hotel
Banks Hotel
#28 of 71 in Antwerp
401 reviews
0.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Antwerpen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Theater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Theater Hotel

Property: Theater Hotel
Address: Arenbergstraat 30, Antwerp 2000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Antwerp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Theater Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Six-story Hotel centrally located in Old Quarter near theater & financial districts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MyHotelShop, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Theater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alfa Theater Antwerp

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing