We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel, nicely and conveniently situated”
Review of Theater Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Theater Hotel
Ranked #22 of 72 Hotels in Antwerp
Gouda, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable hotel, nicely and conveniently situated”
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We had an excellent two day stay at the Theater Hotel. The hotel is conveniently located (restaurants, shopping, culture) in a beautiful setting. Moreover, in a quiet street: our room at the back was very quiet, which certainly contributed to a good night's sleep. The room was spacious, the beds were firm and comfortable.

Clean and nice bathroom, the (good) shower was in the bath tub though, which could be inconvenient for some.

We traveled by train – you don’t need/want a car in Antwerpen - and took a walk from the (magnificent!) railway station to the hotel, but the hotel also is easily accessible by tram.

The breakfast room on the ground floor is stylish and spacious and the breakfast extensive and well cared for. Coffee and tea are served at your table.

The staff is attentive and friendly. The lounge of the hotel looks fine too.

WiFi is not free. It allegedly should be available at the hotel for € 5, - per 24 hours. We didn’t use it however, being under the assumption that the rate was much higher.

Room Tip: A room at the back doesn't have a very nice view (parking place), but is probably more quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RubberSoulQV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    213
    106
    38
    20
See reviews for
38
206
12
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013 via mobile

The location of this hotel is absolutely great. Breakfast is good, rooms are large and clean. I don't think this is a four star hotel though, 3 plus would fit better. Nevertheless price quality is good so I'd go back here again for a short trip to Antwerp.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rednaxv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland.
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

I had a very pleasant stay here on my first trip to wonderful Antwerp. The staff were really friendly. My room on the 5th floor was recently renovated, spacious and very clean. The breakfast was excellent with lots of variety. The hotel is in a great location, very close to the centre, but just far enough away to get a quiet sleep. Antwerp is super.

Room Tip: 5th floor has great rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PlanetWaves20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

We were booked into the Theater hotel by business friends in Antwerpen and we liked it so much we extended our stay over the weekend rather than move. The standard room on the 4th floor had been modernised and was large, well lit and with free WiFI provided the perfect base for work and being a tourist. The location also proved perfect, a few minutes to the Saturday markets, fashion shops, gardens and within walking distance of the train station and buses to Brussels airport. The hotel is very popular and seems to work very well for the variety of people we saw at breakfast. Its not a true four star maybe in terms of reception furnishings etc, but that doesn't matter as its made up in other areas. I hope you are lucky as we were with the reception staff as they were brilliant at helping us and made this into a five star experience.

Room Tip: The Standard Double rooms on the fourth floor with bay windows are modernised and very light. The Su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fliegenkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moab
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We were again in Antwerp and chose again the Theater Hotel (Alfa seems no longer mentioned). And again it was a good choice. The parking deck is directly connected to the hotel, so there is no wetting due to weather conditions.
Checking in was very convenient, the lady was highly motivated and experienced - even changing of the invoice adresse was an easy thing.
Got a room on 2nd floor, nice and light. Restroom was a little tiny and separated from the bath room.
One bulb was defective and replaced the next day. Air conditioning (heating !) was sufficient. Warm water tuning was a little bit tricky the first time, but then was ok.
The room was pretty nice and clean and nothing was out worn. Minibar (costs), and free water kettle (coffee/tea) and room safe are present.

Restaurant had a fixed menu and also some daily offers, some ordered steaks with fries and bearnase or pepper sauce - was all enough and tasty. Waiter was adequate.

Bar offered some beer from the tap - e-g- Stella - and was also fine.

Breakfast room has a o good view to Arenberg street and the buffet offers al you need - scrambled and boiled eggs, sausages, bacon, beans, bread, rolls, marmalade, choc hail, cheese, ham and so forth. Also cereals, yoghurt, fruit salad and juices. Regular coffee adn tea is incuded specialties cost additional money.

WIFI is available but is a monetary issue.

Although there was a bus group, breakfast and also check out was convenient and efficient.

No pool, no gym - you cant get all !

Room Tip: Non smoker rooms are in a better condition. Sometimes loudly speaking smokers are in font of the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ksg48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ekero, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

The Good things; The location, the cleanliness and the size of the rooms - my mother-in- laws room was huge, and ours was pretty good sized for Europe. The beds were comfortable, the breakfast was good but not spectacular and the staff friendly and helpful.

The not as good things: The decor of the hotel is, I guess, "contemporary". This means very bare in dark brown, grey and yellow/orange, not even a picture on the walls. The wifi has a surcharge of €5, embarrasing in the year 2013 and surprisingly often seen in 4 and 5* hotels, while it is generally included in the price in hostels. I asked for a bathrobe at the reception and was told they don't have them anymore as they were always 'disappearing' - so supply me with one, make a note on my booking and request that I return it on check-out, then! These points together would say that this in not a 4* hotel but a 3*, though still a nice hotel.

Room Tip: There are good sized rooms and huge rooms in the hotel, if you feel like having more space is good f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tomlinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2013

Worst hotel.the wall is paper thin. You can hear people talking on the street next to it and in the room. Give towel with holes. Basin with crack holes. Charge you 5 euro for internet per day. Its ridiculous

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank solo808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Antwerp hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Antwerpen Centrum
Ibis Antwerpen Centrum
#16 of 72 in Antwerp
1,035 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Les Nuits
Hotel Les Nuits
#24 of 72 in Antwerp
166 reviews
0.4 mi away
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
#6 of 72 in Antwerp
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Rubens - Grote Markt
0.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Antwerpen
0.6 mi away
Hotel Matelote
Hotel Matelote
#20 of 72 in Antwerp
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Theater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Theater Hotel

Property: Theater Hotel
Address: Arenbergstraat 30, Antwerp 2000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Antwerp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Theater Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the old theater area of Antwerp, this elegant 4-star hotel offers comfortable guest rooms and a restaurant with modern world cuisine. The Theater Hotel adds classic style to your relaxing stay in bustling Antwerp. Decide to start your day with a wholesome breakfast buffet. From this central location, near the financial centre and the harbour, you can easily explore the city centre on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MyHotelShop, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Theater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alfa Theater Antwerp

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing