We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tourist class 4 star hotel.”
Review of Theater Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Theater Hotel
Ranked #25 of 72 Hotels in Antwerp
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Tourist class 4 star hotel.”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Hotel close to all main attraction and shopping area. A few steps from the nieuw music hall and the famous Birdmarket on Sunday.
The rooms where spacious and clean and tidy and where partially refurbished. But it had a worn out feel to it. Small details that needed repairs or replacement. Like broken hooks for your jackets. Wonky bathtube tab old shower head. Safe out of order. And the Airco wasn't working at all. After complaining at the reception we got a fan placed in our room.
Wifi works with acces code for 24h and only for one device. additional code costs 2€ p.p. The next dat we got the codes for 2 devices after mentioning the airco issue.
The housekeeping was attentive enough to notice our do not disturb sign and leaving fresh towels and toilet paper at the door. This was a nice gesture indeed and appreciated.
All over a good stay when you can get a good deal on your favorite booking site. But for us it was rather a 3 star then 4 class Hotel. Check in/out was fast and efficient.
For a weekend stay it sure is a good choice.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Furrydandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    215
    109
    39
    20
See reviews for
38
212
12
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed in Theater Hotel only for one night. Our room was on the 5th floor, it was spacious and comfortable with nice bathroom with bathtub.

Breakfast was average with very limited choice. Crisp bacon and ham were ok but eggs were undercooked. Among pastries there were only croissants, as for the drinks, apart tea/coffee there was only orange juice.

Otherwise a nice hotel with great location and friendly staff.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flora_2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Stayed for 2 nights and had a great time. We found it easily enough from the coach stop by the river by following the signs to the theatre district. It took about 10 mins to the Market Square and about 10 mins from the station. It looked a little old in the corridors but the room was lovely, spacious with a nice bathroom and flat screen TV. Complimentary tea and coffee was in the room and the toiletries were good. The staff were friendly at check in and check out. We didn't have breakfast as we thought it expensive at 20 euros each. We would definitely stay here again if in Antwerp.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Been her last weekend, stayed 2 nights. Put the car in Parking Arenberg (when you stay at the hotel you get a discount). Beware for the sundaymarket, you can't leave the garage before 15:00 h. The hotel is really nice, nearby the Rubens Museum, Fashion Museum, Meir, Groenplaats and a lot more. Ideal stay. Take the renovated rooms (we had 306). Breakfast is OK. The hotel is more a 3+ than a 4*. (We had the H10 hotel Ku'damm in Berlin, that's a real 4*).
The hotel is a favorite so be quick with reservations. WiFi in the lounge by code for 24hours.

Room Tip: Take the renovated rooms (we had 306 = 3th floor, streetside no noise)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dax2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

As a couple we stayed 3 nights in Augustus 2014 in this hotel.

We arrived by train in Antwerp and basically travelled by foot through the city of Antwerp during our stay. The hotel has an excellent location of being approximately 10 minutes away from the station and only a few minutes until the Meir (shopping street) and about 15 minutes to the Grote Markt.

The hotel room we had was nice and tidy. The room gets cleaned every day, and every day you will get fresh towels. The room we stayed in was at the front side of the hotel at the fourth floor (streetside). We were disturbed only one time by a noise from outside, but I have to admit we slept we the window open.

We included breakfast during our stay, and I was happy we did. The breakfast buffet has many items to choose from and the quality was good. Breakfast is served between 06:30 am and 10:30 am. Usually we arrived around 9:30 am, and there was always a free spot immediately, although this was the busiest moment in the dining room.

All in all, we had a great stay in this hotel and I would definitely recommend this room to others.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JurrienKlinkert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lahti
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Hotel is located in a very good area and rooms are nice but corridors not. It seemed to be good service but when we returned first evening from our dinner we noticed that our cards did not work. In the reception staff was not surprised - they had closed our keycards! The receptionist who took us when we came did not check security number of our credit card and that was a reason to close our room. No excuse!Later on I complained of that - they had our telephone number and they did not call us to ask the right security number of credit card. Never return this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Päivi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Velserbroek
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

A three days Antwerp was our goal to learn the city. And the Theater hotel is a good location to start. We had a good time in this hotel. At first the hotel looks a bit old from the outside. But inside it is a nice hotel, good breakfast, nice rooms. Although you can see it is not brand new. The staff was helpful and pleasant.

Room Tip: Beds are a bit hard in Belgium, so we asked for help and they were helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WillemVelserbroek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Antwerpen Centrum
Ibis Antwerpen Centrum
#16 of 72 in Antwerp
1,046 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Les Nuits
Hotel Les Nuits
#22 of 72 in Antwerp
167 reviews
0.4 mi away
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
#6 of 72 in Antwerp
811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Rubens - Grote Markt
0.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Antwerpen
0.6 mi away
Queen A Antwerp
Queen A Antwerp
#2 of 72 in Antwerp
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Theater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Theater Hotel

Property: Theater Hotel
Address: Arenbergstraat 30, Antwerp 2000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Antwerp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Theater Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the old theater area of Antwerp, this elegant 4-star hotel offers comfortable guest rooms and a restaurant with modern world cuisine. The Theater Hotel adds classic style to your relaxing stay in bustling Antwerp. Decide to start your day with a wholesome breakfast buffet. From this central location, near the financial centre and the harbour, you can easily explore the city centre on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MyHotelShop, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Theater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alfa Theater Antwerp

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing