We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine hotel, nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of De Keyser Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
De Keyser Hotel
Ranked #48 of 71 Hotels in Antwerp
Nijmegen
Level Contributor
49 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fine hotel, nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

Fine, inexpensive and quiet hotel in Antwerp, conveniently located close to the action and sites of Antwerp. Breakfast buffet was okay. Nearby Century parking garage has a deal with the hotel which will give you a discount (simply park there and show your ticket when you checkout, you will get a new ticket at a reduced rate). Room was okay, indeed a bit dated here and there, nothing special (we booked the superior room). Staff was friendly. Would come here again if they have a good deal.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caspartje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    162
    156
    60
    63
See reviews for
36
207
26
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

A good central location some opposite Antwerp Centraal train station ideally suited to exploring Antwerp. The room was clean and of good size, however being on the 9th floor you picked up the constant drone of air conditioning plants on the roofs of surrounding buildings.
WiFi was free in the lobby only and was charged for in the rooms!
Breakfast was good and plentiful.
Would have no problem in recommending this hotel or staying there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldseeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013 via mobile

Hotel location was great, directly in the center of Antwerp, rooms were very spacious, but it would be great to clean them a bit better, there was a layer of dust on the table and tissues in the bathroom were empty...

Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank ThiesHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

I don't know where all the bad reviews come from , I guess some people are just hard to please. This hotel is located 100 yards from Central Station and is only a 10 minute walk to the city center. The hotel staff is very friendly and the rooms are very good. Some of the views face the inside court yard and are not the greatest sight but what are you doing sitting in your room !!! The rooms are a good size , clean , comfortable and priced very well.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

We arrived before 3pm, but the people in reception were very friendly and we could leave our luggage till later. We were 4 people and had 2 adjoining rooms on the 5th floor. The room was clean and quiet and the bathroom had plenty of space. Breakfast was more than sufficient. I would return to this hotel the next time.

Room Tip: We had room 512 at the back. Nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjoerdsma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

This hotel is not worth 4 stars. We arrived around 13,00. The check in was quick, and we could leave our bags at the reception since we could not enter our room until 15.00. Our room (908) seemed to be renovated and looked modern. A second look learned that this room was redecorated on a tight budget, with poor finishing. There was a big hole in the curtains and the airco control panel was broken. The bathroom was redecorated in the same way. There is a double sink, which is convenient. The hair dryer is very old, and the hose kept falling off. The toilet kept running and control panel nearly fell off. The shower is dark, there is no light at that side of the bathroom. Water does not run off properly and is a bit smelly, as if the room is not used very often. At night we tried to get the airco to work. It only seemed to work if we set it on "high" which was a too cold since the airco blows towards the bed. The bar was okay, the waiter was very attentive. Breakfast was very busy. Not a big selection of foods, just mediocre. It just all felt a bit shabby and definitely not worth 4 stars. If this hotel would sell itself as three stars it would prevent people from being disappointed. Location is great, just across Antwerp central station, near the zoo, shops and historical city center.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Antwerp hotels

Oostende
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

Nice hotel in city center with good sleep quality. Bedroom is modern; clean and up to date.
Bathroom has to be refurbished.
Breakfast is correct! Choice of cold and hot breakfast.
Parkingspace at 200 meters but not linked to the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexander P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
0.0 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Antwerpen
Leonardo Hotel Antwerpen
#32 of 71 in Antwerp
3.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Antwerpen
0.3 mi away
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
#3 of 71 in Antwerp
4.0 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hyllit
Hotel Hyllit
#16 of 71 in Antwerp
4.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp
0.2 mi away
Astoria Hotel Antwerp
Astoria Hotel Antwerp
#18 of 71 in Antwerp
4.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Keyser Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Keyser Hotel

Property: De Keyser Hotel
Address: De Keyserlei 66 - 70, Antwerp 2018, Belgium (Formerly Alfa De Keyser Hotel)
Region: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Antwerp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — De Keyser Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Freshly newly renovated rooms from 2010, central located in Antwerp, in front of train station, buses and subway, nearby the animal zoo and diamond district behind the hotel. 5 Minutes walk from the shopping area and ten minutes walk from the old city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your De Keyser Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alfa De Keyser Antwerp
Hotel Alfa De Keyser

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing