We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“somehow satisfying”
Review of De Keyser Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
De Keyser Hotel
Ranked #45 of 72 Hotels in Antwerp
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“somehow satisfying”
Reviewed 10 April 2009

I booked this hotel over the internet, I stayed for only one night as I was going for business, normally I stay at Ramada Plaza which is a luxurious hotel but far from the centre of Antwerp, this time I chose this hotel for convenient centre location which turned out to be great, I stayes in a room which was fine, my boss stayed in the next room which was unfortunately a bad one, tv was not working & he also complained about few other things like the the light at the entrance which used to light up every time he turned in his bed. the breakfast was really good but the worst about it was the parking in case you have a car, the nearest parking was further on a side road in a public car park.. other than that I can't complain, the room was clean & you could watch nice channels on the flat screen tv. . oh there is one more thing, no free wifi internet available & I had to pay 10 euro for a one hour wireless connection in the the room while mcDonald's which was next to the hotel had free wireless connection for its customers. overall rating good. may go again for good value.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank curlyhairgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    171
    167
    65
    64
See reviews for
36
217
28
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2009

I did book the Alfa Keyser for Valentine's week-end. After booking I looked at tripadvisor .Oh no, those reviews, all other hotels were fully booked - what to do? I called to the Alfa hotel and was honnest about what I have seen on the internet, and that I only liked to visit the hotel in a nice renovated room - no problem , I was prommised a clean, big, quiet room. And yes the room was spacy (at least 25/30 sq. m., the batroom was big 8 sq.m. , senseo coffeemaker cable t.v. internet acces in the room, nice big bed with extra pillows to watch the t.v., minibar, safe, enough wardrobe . The breakfast was very busy, but there was a good choise of bread (6/7 different rolls) croisants,pastry, boiled eggs,scrammbled eggs, cheese, ham, fresh vegetables, yoghurts, pancakes, marmelades etc.etc. maybee the coffee was the only thing we didnot like (did you ever had good coffee at the hotelbreakfast?) better try the tea. Also we did park our car in the diamant parking around the corner and that was only a few euro's.
The room was clean but not spotless, the staff was very friendly and helpfull.
We did not understand why so many bad reviews are on tripadvisor? we liked it, the spot is perfect 1 min. from the station right in de middle of all the shops and restaurants.
If all the hotels we will visit in the future are the same standard as the ALFA KEYSER we would be happy. Go there ask mr. Lesley for a new room . price was also a suprise, we paid € 160,= for 2 nights for 2 incl. the breakfast. absolutly **** stars .
2 older ladies from Amsterdam who travelled the world.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dutchladies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2008

Very dirty rooms!! on the internet they misled people!! with wrong pictures of rooms, the hotel rooms are dirty en the hotel is a dump!!!

If you want realy four star hotel!! go around the corner to Radison Sas astrid ! that's realy a four star hotel i have bin their.

SUPER RADISONS SAS ASTRID


DON't GO TO ALFA KEYSER !!!

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank koosmatroos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Antwerp hotels

Bristol
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2008

What a dump !!!

The hotel website talks about a luxury restaurant, room service facilities, and a gym / sauna etc...

No Room service when i tried to order food.
Restaurant closed down months ago but they have not amended the website or removed the menus from the rooms yet.
No hot water for showers,
No plug in the bath
Plumbing that sounds like you have a geezer in the room.....

To sum up.... Would rather sleep on the streets.....

  • Liked — Checking Out !
  • Disliked — No Hot water, No Restaurant, No Room Service, Nothing Worked....
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank cdixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2008

What a shocker! Four stars? No way! Only if you add a minus sign. Badly serviced room. Bad plumbing. Dirty mattress. No hangers in the wardrobe. No glasses for a drink. It's hard to know where to stop with the complaints. Wild horses could not drag me back there.

  • Disliked — Room condition and servicing
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kreus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Waterford, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2008

I only stayed here for 3 nights but will never stay here again and will never recommend it to anyone!!

On the first morning we awoke to find no hot water for showers and Believe it or not, our bed was held up on one side by a crate... i found this the painful way when I hit my bare foot off it after the cold shower....The front desk staff were a waste of space.... didn't care about the shower or the bed..... and this is SUPPOSED TO BE A 4 STAR HOTEL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Breakfast was a buffet with little or no top up of food...... what you see is what you get and if there is nothing left, then you had better just get over it because none of the staff were going to do anything about it here either...... the first morning there was no coffee available. When I asked for it I was told they would get it for me after seeing what table I was seated at.. I never got it. I should also point out that I was down well before the end of the breakfast serving time.

A friend of ours was staying in a cheaper hotel 20 min drive away and didn't feel like facing the train ride back one morning. Somehow HE manager to get one of the frontdesk to give him a key card for the door at around 1 in the morning. We awoke to him walking into our room!!!!! Considering there were 2 women staying in the room, it makes no sense to hand over a keycard to a MAN!!! Opens up the question about people, especially womens, safety in this hotel when this type of thing can happen.

I could give more examples of the bad standard of quality but i think that what i have said above should be sufficient to put accross my feelings on the hotel.

The only good thing about this hotel is its location.... close to a shopping area, accross the road from the train station and the zoo..... BUT THATS IT!!

If you have any sense, Do Not Stay Here!!!

  • Liked — absolutely nothing
  • Disliked — lack of care or respect for their customers
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank minstrals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2008

This Hotel was one of the worst hotels I have ever stayed in! If one were Blind drunk it probably wouldn't of mattered, but it did .There was no hot water in the showers for three out of the four morings we stayed,the room was filthy and the staff were extremely rude and did not care when we complained and on top of all that the bed was missing a leg and was discretely held up by an empty beer crate. I would probably recommend this hotel for those people in you're life that you don't really care about!

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank dasherdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Antwerpen
0.0 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Antwerpen
Leonardo Hotel Antwerpen
#30 of 72 in Antwerp
662 reviews
0.1 mi away
Queen A Antwerp
Queen A Antwerp
#4 of 72 in Antwerp
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
#6 of 72 in Antwerp
799 reviews
0.1 mi away
Antwerp City Hotel
Antwerp City Hotel
#20 of 72 in Antwerp
354 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hyllit
Hotel Hyllit
#15 of 72 in Antwerp
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Keyser Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Keyser Hotel

Property: De Keyser Hotel
Address: De Keyserlei 66 - 70, Antwerp 2018, Belgium (Formerly Alfa De Keyser Hotel)
Region: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Antwerp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — De Keyser Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Freshly newly renovated rooms from 2010, central located in Antwerp, in front of train station, buses and subway, nearby the animal zoo and diamond district behind the hotel. 5 Minutes walk from the shopping area and ten minutes walk from the old city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your De Keyser Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alfa De Keyser Antwerp
Hotel Alfa De Keyser

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing