We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”
Review of Colombus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Colombus Hotel
Ranked #54 of 72 Hotels in Antwerp
tumblehome
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed 2 February 2008

The location of the hotel in the city center is excellent. I stayed in two different rooms and in both I wasn't bothered by noise from outside the hotel.
The staff is very helpful and friendly.
Ok, the hallways, the elevator and some rooms could do with a refurbishment, but all in all the hotel is very comfortable.
Another asset of the hotel is the swimming pool. It's small but not very many guests seem to use it.
Breakfast is good (with a glass of fresh orange juice).
I'll certainly recommend this hotel to friends and colleagues.

  • Liked — Free wireless internet!
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tumblehome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    25
    29
    12
    10
See reviews for
10
28
12
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
belgium
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2007

We usually stay at the Holiday Inn Express on the Italielei for brief trips to Antwerp,but on this occasion I fancied a change so thought the Colombus,being centrally situated with a wonderful Art Deco reception,would be a good bet.Not so. Yes its opposite the Opera,a magnificent building but dont forget its covered in scaffold as sadly its being turned into luxe apartments (what a pity) so front rooms,as well as being noisy, overlook what is an
albeit grand building site! Indeed the breakfast room and reception area are very nice,but the bedrooms were awful!Very,very old,tired,dark,pine panelled ceiling,ancient bathroom,poor breakfast...needless to say its back to the Holiday Inn which is half the price and twice as clean!

  • Liked — Art Deco Desogn In Public Rooms
  • Disliked — Dark Old Dingy Bedrooms?No Comfort
  • Stayed April 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank babsBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Antwerp hotels

London, England
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2007

My own experience mirrors the recent reviewer rather than the one from two years ago. The breakfasts have certainly changed, for example, as they are now of good (continental) standard and include a glass of proper orange juice brought in from the kitchen - not from a bottle but freshly squeezed on the premises.

While downstairs is quite opulent, the stairs and upstairs corridors are dingy. What really mattered, however, was that my room was nicely appointed, extremely spacious and, so far as I could see, perfectly clean. No air conditioning, but a powerful ceiling fan.

Serviceable position close to the Opera house. Five minutes walk from the station in one direction (you really don't want to be any nearer) and slightly more in the other direction from the Rubens House area, which is a particularly nice part of the city centre. The three main linked squares are a further five minutes.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank PHNorthLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2006

This is a dependable 3 star hotel. Rooms are old but they are clean, as are the bathrooms. There are ceiling fans in all rooms and nice size TVs. I stay a lot for business and it is a dependable 3 star hotel...good value...and a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed July 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Natology
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paris
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2005

we stayed there last February rooms are old and smelly, breakfast in not fresh and the swimming pool is awful (feel like being in a tomb!). Avoid at all cost!

  • Stayed February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sebparis9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Antwerpen Centrum Opera
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hyllit
Hotel Hyllit
#15 of 72 in Antwerp
416 reviews
0.1 mi away
Antwerp Inn hotel
Antwerp Inn hotel
#48 of 72 in Antwerp
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp
0.3 mi away
Hotel Prinse
Hotel Prinse
#55 of 72 in Antwerp
113 reviews
0.3 mi away
Century Hotel
Century Hotel
#58 of 72 in Antwerp
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colombus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colombus Hotel

Property: Colombus Hotel
Address: Frankrijklei 4, Antwerp 2000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 72 Hotels in Antwerp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Colombus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Colombus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colombus Hotel Antwerp

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing