We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst stay of my life”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ambassador Suites Antwerp
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We stayed in the ambassador suites in August and unfortunately there is not one positive thing I can say about this place.

The biggest issue was that ours and our friends rooms were both infested with bed bugs!! We all were bitten, some of us even requiring medical treatment. They had initially agreed to refund payment for this time but have now gone off the radar, as you will be able to read from our friends review.

The bathrooms were mouldy, carpet was ripped up and disgusting and the staff were generally unfriendly and unhelpful.

Oh, and on the way out we found a used condom hanging over one if the handrails in the stairwell!

Do NOT stay here

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Scotybain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (252)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 254 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2013

I won't write much on this place. Its not worth my effort as there are just so many things wrong that i could write all day. All i can advise to people possibly looking at this place is simply DON'T BOOK!!!!! Just have a look at the pictures i have taken and you will understand why. The pictures were taken from my so called 'penthouse suite'.
Especiallydon't stay in summer, this is the worst possible time. The rooms are unbearably hot even with all the windows open. now fans are provided. hotel management are a digrace and the place is not clean. the worst part is probably the state the place is kept in.
The floors on at least 3 levels i went on were in dis-repair. the owners obviously don't care and only want tourist dollars and have a complete lack of consideration for the guests staying here.
Our holiday was completly ruined by staying in this place. don't let it ruin your holiday as well. All i can say is thank god for trip advisor. I know some people like to have a moan even when something is not quite right, or doesnt quite suit them, but this place is a disgrace and not tourist should have to put up with it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank sea_shell_susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Be-Housing-Group, General Manager at Ambassador Suites Antwerp, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Dear Guest,

We do want to apologize for the discomfort during your stay

We have investigated these complaints and we have to admit that some of the problems mentioned by our guests are indeed unacceptable. But please be aware that some of these inconveniences are due to circumstances.

Our residence does not operate as a hotel and as such we do not provide hotel facilities like daily cleaning and change of linen, this allows us to offer our rooms at a much more affordable price. In general we only offer cleaning and change of linen on a weekly base.

We are currently in the process of renovating the floors in the hallways and rooms, we understand that this can bring discomfort to our guests and we try to keep this discomfort as minimal as possible. However this is a renovation that we have to do to ensure a comfortable stay for our guests and maintain the quality of our residence. We fully understand that we should have found a better way to communicate this temporary discomfort to our arriving guests.

Due to record breaking temperatures this summer in Belgium there was discomfort of high temperatures in the rooms. Most of the Belgian buildings are not equipped to deal with this kind of temperatures. However we realize that we need to find a solution for our guests if we have these high temperatures in the rooms again in the future.

The problem with the wall socket in this suite was indeed unacceptable. When I saw the picture, I immediately spoke with our technical staff and reprimanded them that they did not see and solved this problem when they did one of their regularly inspection rounds in the residence. If technical problems of this nature occur, and exceptionally they do, please report this to our staff at the reception and they will send someone of our technical staff asap to make the necessary repairs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This is an economic apartment building with a helpful desk. The area is known as the Diamond District, because 60% of diamonds are traded there! We were looking for a convenient place from where to explore Belgium for a week, renting a car; this was perfect for us, allowing us to explore during the day and make dinner in its small kitchen. The only aspect we did not like was that there was no cleaning for 5 days, and there were no cleaning utensils either (broom,...). You can park outside, if arriving just before 7pm. Overal positive.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pope22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We stayed overnight here with our two young children. The room had 4 single beds and a kitchenette and living area. It was spacious but very shabby and tired. The corridors were semi floored so quite dirty. The concierge (who we had to call despite arriving during the 'allocated opening' hours) was however very friendly. Location was good, easy walk to the station and zoo.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rudders77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

This place is quite literally the pits. Nobody to check us in on arrival. Reception closes at 6pm and had to wait almost an hour for the caretaker to check us in, who was very grumpy that we had disturbed him outside office hours. Even during the day it was hard to speak with him as he always had someone in his office chatting to him.
There was live plugs hanging off the wall in the living room. The window could be opened wide which is very unsafe for children.
The apartment had not been cleaned properly. Infact there was a load of hair to the side of the shower cubicle when we checked in.
There were no English tv stations not that you would really want to watch tv on a tiny TV set from the 90's, but even if you did you sure wouldn't want to sit on the uncomfortable couch they have in the living room.
I paid 4 euros to wash my clothes. For some reason the washing machine stopped half cycle meaning I had warm soapy clothes. I dried the, for another 4 hours but the dryer didn't last long enough. So after spending 8 euros (oh and another 2 euros for soap tablets from the vending machine) I decided to cut my loses and using the laundrette down the road. I don't mind paying extra to do my washing in a hotel, but if you are going to charge me 10 euros for the privilege then make sure it actually works. I mentioned this to manager on charge. He shrugged his shoulders and said that I shoud not have used it in the first place as it was a rip off!!

The most annoying part was we only issued with 1 room key between 4 people as we had a 2 bedroom penthouse apartment. The least I expect is either 2 keys, or a 24 hour reception where we can access our room if the main key holder is not back. Instead, most nights someone was woken up each night as some of the group were returning to the hotel at different times than others.

Another major problem was the heat. It was not even peak summer yet the heat in the apartment was unbearable. We had visions of cooking meals and using the living space, but given the heat we choose to spend most of our time outside of the apartment. Oh and they cleaned the apartment once in the whole week. And when I mean clean, they emptied the bin, have us some new towels and left. They didn't even clean the toilet or shower!

This place really has been left to fall apart. I'm surprised nobody from the 'ambassador suites' hasn't visited because based on this place I would give any ambassador suites property a very wide berth!

Room Tip: Don't bother with the penthouse. Not worth the money. Infact don't bother with this place fu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank surfer_downunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
be_housing1, Manager at Ambassador Suites Antwerp, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Dear,
We are disappointed to hear that your stay in our residence wasn't what you've expected. We daily try to give our guests a nice stay and give the comfort they need for a good price.
As I can read in your review you arrived on a Saturday or Sunday after 18hours while our offices are closed. We are not a regular hotel and our reception isn't open 24h/24h.
In case of late arrival we have a special check inn procedure using a safe in the lobby and a code that is send to you by mail. Maybe something went wrong in this communication with the result that you had to use the emergency number and had to wait for our complexmanager to come down to the reception.
Before each arrival our complexmanager controls the room on cleanliness to make sure that everything is all right for the guest. We are sorry to hear that this wasn't done correctly and we'll do the necessary to avoid this in the future.
We take notice of the remarks you gave about the room and use them to change and improve our services. However, we have some English channels on our television and all movies and series in Belgium who are in English are subtitled in Dutch...
I can tell you already that we are installing Satellite television in all our buildings at this moment and this to increase the number of channels in different languages. Also our washing machine is checked but no technical problems are found,
The remark you give concerning the key of the room is correct. We use a special (technical) key card in this building and don't have an extra key for the room. This may be uncomfortable in case you are with 4 guests.
The meaning and experiences of our guests are very important. It's thanks to this critic that we can improve ourselves every day. Even when this stay wasn't what you expected, we still hope to see you back soon, so we have the chance to prove you that a stay in 'Ambassador Suites' is pleasant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We liked very much the area; although it´s not in the center the neightbohourd was really unusual and the walking tryp to the center agreable; that gave extra value to the stay. The apartment was really big and no noisy at all. Tha kitchen facilities are really useful.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank pawelek2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

The studio flat was better than the photos on www.booking.co.uk so we were pleasantly surprised. Had everything we needed, eg fridge, kettle, microwave etc plus washing up liquid, cloth, tea towel.
Room was clean and beds were firm but comfortable.
Car park reasonable price.
Only negative was having to ring manager in arrival to be able to check in.

Room Tip: Rear of building, we had room 207
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrspmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
0.3 mi away
TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp
TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp
#53 of 73 in Antwerp
1,089 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Budget Antwerpen City Central Station
0.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Antwerpen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Astoria Hotel Antwerp
Astoria Hotel Antwerp
#18 of 73 in Antwerp
525 reviews
0.6 mi away
Antwerp City Hotel
Antwerp City Hotel
#17 of 73 in Antwerp
381 reviews
1.4 mi away
Condo Gardens Antwerp
Condo Gardens Antwerp
#49 of 73 in Antwerp
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Suites Antwerp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Suites Antwerp

Address: Belgielei 6 - 10, Antwerp 2018, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 50 Speciality Lodging in Antwerp
Price Range: £48 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassador Suites Antwerp 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the middle of the diamond area in Antwerp, you will find our residence Ambassador Suites Antwerp.Within walking distance of the Central Station and the town center, this beautifully renovated four-star hotel, is the perfect base for you to visit the city.The studio-apartments are comfortably equipped with separate bathroom with bath/shower and toilet, kitchenette, living area and tv.The fully furnished kitchenette with spacious fridge and microwave, will give you the possibility to prepare your own meal or the reheat small dishes.A washing machine and dryer can be found in the residence.In the entire building, you can make use of the free wireless internet.The residence offers an underground parking – which can be used by our guests for a small fee ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Ambassador Suites Antwerp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Suites Antwerp Hotel Antwerp
Ambassador Hotel Antwerp

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing