We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our weekend in Antwerp”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ibis Antwerpen Centrum
Ranked #16 of 72 Hotels in Antwerp
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Our weekend in Antwerp”
Reviewed 7 November 2012

My small group of military history enthusiasts visited Antwerp in early October 2012. We stayed in the Hotel Ibis Centrum. The hotel is modern and just across the road from an underground car park. The rooms are all doubles which hiked our costs up as we would have shared twins, and saved nearly half the cost.
The bathrooms are very compact and only have showers.
We found the breakfast to be expensive when compared with local restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,045 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    509
    319
    58
    24
See reviews for
101
455
109
186
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
colorado
Level 6 Contributor
314 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

Good choice, moderately priced with modern clean rooms right next to the Stadsschouwburg which is the large cultural venue for dance and music. It is about a 10 minute walk from the central train station. There are not very many restaurants in the immediate area but it is a short walk to the main streets and is in a safe area for walking.

Room Tip: The higher up the better, but there is not really much traffic in this area. Kids use the area in fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColoradoVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2012

We stayed a this hotel for three nights. Good location. Quiet area. The only loud sounds were the big groups of kids arriving around 11.30 every night on a school trip. We only had breakfast on one morning because of the high cost and the fact it was a public holiday in Belgium. We did try the bar for dinner. Food ok and service not to bad. I wouldnt have wanted to stay to long as the rooms are basic and the bathrooms are the smallest i have ever used.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helen118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sedgefield, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Reasonably central (10-15 minutes on foot from Groote Markt). Has the usual predictable Ibis features: smallish but bright and clean rooms. Not ideal for two people for a long stay because too small, but good value for a weekend or for a business traveller needing Internet access and a large working surface.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cossypha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Great location (10-15 minutes from the Old Town on foot), though it is a bit noisy beacuse of trafiic. In my opinion room (and bathroom) could be a bit bigger, because I felt slightly claustrophobic. Hairdryer in the bathtoom was definetely an advantage. Not a bad choice for one night, for longer stay you have to search for a different hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snooka76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

This is just what you would expect of an Ibis hotel. It's clean and neat, the rooms are small and the bathrooms are tiny, but everything works. If you only want to sleep in a hotel, and don't want to pay too much, then this is ideal.

Its location is good. It's about a 10-15 minute walk from Centraal Station (don't confuse Ibis Centrum with the Ibis Budget hotel which is opposite the station, as another reviewer has done - they are different hotels). It's about a 10-15 minute walk from the centre of Antwerp. It was easy to get a tram and bus to the airport, and there are bicycles for hire too.

I only had one complaint - the bar food. There were three main courses and two "snacks". Only one was vegetarian (spinach lasagne I think) and they didn't actually have any. So I asked for the "Croque Monsieur Panini" [sic] but without the ham ("croque monsieur" is basically a grilled ham-and-cheese sandwich). I was told that it was not possible to remove the ham. So not wanting to make a fuss with my carnivorous friends, I ordered it anyway, reasoning that I could perhaps pick the ham out of the panini. But no, it wasn't a panini at all, despite the name, just two bits of dry toast with melted ham and cheese inside them. Awful. And it cost almost ten euros. Ludicrous.

So it's a good hotel, and I might stay there again if I'm in Antwerp overnight, but I certainly won't be going anywhere near the bar food.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stourton1582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon/ Somerset
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights . Overal very happy with stay and the hotel - good budget hotel. However I can not say the same of the bar staff. We ordered food after 3/4 of an hour we enquired how much longer our food would be and we were informed that none had been ordered. The staff member accused my husband of lying when other members of our party confirmed that he had. At the time my husband had ordered the staff member stopped mid order stating that he had to serve other customers!! He had then tould my husband to write the order down on a beer mat. This one member of staff let the hotel down , for this reason we will not be back again. The hotel also lost out on four meals, not good for profits .

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pikey1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
0.6 mi away
Ibis Budget Antwerpen City Central Station
0.5 mi away
Hilton Antwerp Old Town
0.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Antwerpen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Lindner Hotel & City Lounge Antwerpen
0.3 mi away
Astoria Hotel Antwerp
Astoria Hotel Antwerp
#18 of 72 in Antwerp
510 reviews
0.3 mi away
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
#6 of 72 in Antwerp
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Antwerpen Centrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Antwerpen Centrum

Property: Ibis Antwerpen Centrum
Address: Meistraat 39, Antwerp 2000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Antwerp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Antwerpen Centrum 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Antwerpen Centrum is in the heart of the historic town centre of Antwerp, near the famous Vogelenmarkt marketplace, Rubens House, the main shopping street (known as Le Meir) and just 700 m from the railway station as well as close to theatres. Book one of our 150 rooms and make the most of our facilities, a restaurant, bar with terrace area open 24 hours and 2 meeting rooms for seminars and conferences. Business guests will appreciate use of WiFi Internet access, public parking also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Antwerpen Centrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Antwerpen Centrum Hotel Antwerp
Ibis Hotel Antwerpen Centrum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing