We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice budget stay convenient for Antwerp and beyond”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Century Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Century Hotel
Ranked #59 of 71 Hotels in Antwerp
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Nice budget stay convenient for Antwerp and beyond”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

Good place for a budget city-break. I was prepared for the worst after reading some of the reviews below and almost cancelled at the last minute. Either the hotel has upped its game or some people are hard to please for the room rate. Believe me, I've stayed in lots of 4 and 5 stars where the rooms have been smaller and the service abysmal.

I'd say the rooms here are bigger than your average budget hotel and my room was impeccably clean. The shower/bathroom was spotless and everything had obviously been recently refurbished. I was so expecting the worst on arrival that I had a slight argument with the charming receptionist who insisted that my room was ready, even though I was convinced it wouldn't be (by reading the reviews). How sad is that? - but we had a good laugh about it once I was convinced!

Breakfast was your normal continental - Dutch style - breakfast.... but then that's healthy isn't it? Lots of room too in the breakfast room.

As the hotel is so close to the central station I arrived on the high speed train from Brussels (c.50mins) and combined my stay by going north one day (74 mins to Amsterdam going first class on a £3 supplement with free food and drink) * Remember if you travel from the UK on the Eurostar service you currently have free onward travel for 24 hours anywhere in Belgium. (Also, by the way, the price of Amsterdam budget hotels are approximately double the price of Antwerp's so if you want to see both cities this is a good arrangement.

Alternatively, if you insist on renting real estate, a room with a view or poolside, go for the Hiltons and the Radissons in Antwerp. But they'll eat into your shopping money and believe me there is a lot of niche shopping in this city of diamond dealing.

I was so impressed by the wonderful architecture still left and rennovated in the city considering the amount of tonnage thrown at it though two world wars. You don't need to be a train buff to admire the jewel-box of a central station (on 4 levels) and the Zoo and park is right next door for a relaxing afternoon. There are plenty of cafes for people-watching about 20 mins walk (or 5 mins on the metro) around the cathedral. The Boerentoren or KBC tower is 26 storeys of pure deco - like a mini-Empire State Building - and was apparently the first skyscraper to be built in Europe. Check out wikipedia for more if you must and enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Xstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    115
    161
    75
    71
See reviews for
59
121
63
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

This Hotel looks the bees Knees from the outside swanky reception ,but behind the scenes it is a different story ,its a old building which looks tired very small rooms ,very narrow beds and no character ,even the t.v. is put so high up on the wall you can not see the picture sitting down.

It looks like the rooms only have a cursory clean and as commented before the sheets looked a bit thread bare in places but at least they were changed regularly .

If you want breakfast which is included in the price get down early as the hotel is popular with bus trips and most of the limited tables go quickly , food is a continental breakfast ceral, rolls, cheese , ham , boiled eggs ,the meat seemed to run out very quickly and was not always replenished very quickly.

If you want a convenient hotel in a good location this is not the Ritz but worth considering .

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EDDIEPeterborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012 via mobile

When you enter the hotel you get a negative approach because the receptionists are awfully miserable. Breakfast was rubbish as well!! They didn't even have cucumber and tomatoes in the breakfast lounge.In the rooms there was smell of sewage everywhere in the room. Some of the pictures don't even look like the real one. Awful view as well. To be honest there were boogies everywhere on the walls. I rate this hotel 1 star.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Salar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Antwerp hotels

London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

These are the bad points. I arrived as part of a large group. Our tour leader had already informed the hotel that we were going to arrive mid-afternoon. When we got there, we found our rooms weren't ready and the staff on reception denied all knowledge of our "early" arrival time. We had to wait about an hour in the nearby station until the rooms were ready. Even so, the hotel would only issue one key (electronic swipe card) per room, even to people in double/twin rooms who were going to do separate activities during their stay. When we asked later for an extra key, the person on reception tried to find every reason under the sun for not giving us one. He told us to ask for one in the morning, but in the end we gave up. They were also very unhelpful to our bus driver and would not give him clear information about where he could park the bus, which he was not allowed to park in the street in front of the hotel. The hotel is very noisy at night. The breakfast is adequate, but consists of fairly basic fare.

Now the good points. One female member of staff was very helpful. While we were waiting in the station for our rooms to be ready, she took the trouble to come over the road, to the station, to warn us to be careful and watch out for pickpockets. Another time, she also warned us not to have too many people in the lift, otherwise it would stop and we would get stuck in it. The room were were in had recently been decorated in quite a stark, modern style, but it was not unpleasant. The bathroom was very clean and it had an excellent shower. The staff in the hotel restaurant were extremely friendly, efficient and courteous.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the station are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

I spent 2 nights in this hotel with a group of friends. The hotel rooms have just been refurbished to a very comfortable, modern standard. It is the best 3 star I have stayed in its location was ideal to enjoy the city. There lots of trams, but it is just a 20 min flat walk to the cathedral. However 5 mins from the hotel is a large pedestrian area lined with large modern shops and bars.

We ate in the hotel's small restaurant and enjoyed a nice meal. The bar allowed self as well as waited service which was unusual.

Would definitely revisit .

Room Tip: No swimmimg pool or fitness centre - sorry website wouldn't respond!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coralall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

This hotel was the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. It should be called a hostel not a hotel. The room was filthy, carpet curtains etc. There was alot of mould on the bathroom ceiling. There was some chewing gum stuck to the bedside locker. The staff were ignorant. There was dust all along the wall paper. We stayed there one night and had to move, lost our money not that the staff cared. We moved to the Park Inn by Radisson, also a three star hotel, there was no comparison. The location was far from ideal, the room was very warm so you would have to open a window as there's no air con, so it was very noisy as it was across from the Central Station. There is a reason they dont show pictures of the outside of the hotel on the website as it would turn you off. I wouldnt recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Dont pick this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 413Margaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012 via mobile

I recently spent 3 nights at this hotel. My room had a flickering light in the ceiling which I had to report 4 times before it was fixed. i spent the first 2 nights in semi darkness as I had to turn the lights off due to the flickering.
If you get a choice of rooms, avoid overlooking the station, it is very noisy.
Twin rooms are very cozy, but then the prices were cheap compared to other hotels.
It has a good location, being very near the beautiful railway station.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Susieq8860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
0.1 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Antwerpen
Leonardo Hotel Antwerpen
#32 of 71 in Antwerp
3.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Budget Antwerpen City Central Station
0.1 mi away
Eden Antwerp
Eden Antwerp
#28 of 71 in Antwerp
3.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Astoria Hotel Antwerp
Astoria Hotel Antwerp
#18 of 71 in Antwerp
4.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
0.1 mi away
Antwerp City Hotel
Antwerp City Hotel
#20 of 71 in Antwerp
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Antwerpen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Century Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Century Hotel

Property: Century Hotel
Address: Pelikaanstraat 20, Antwerp 2018, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 71 Hotels in Antwerp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Century Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Century Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tourist Hotel Antwerp

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing