We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“accurate reviews”
Review of Century Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Century Hotel
Ranked #59 of 73 Hotels in Antwerp
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Having read the previous reviews and stayed for three days, I agree with all the good and helpful comments. Our room was facing the station, the noise is not too bad, our windows did partly open. I agree I would not like to have been there in very hot weather. Front desk staff change a lot we didn't see the same person twice. Good value overall.
One entrance to the station is opposite the front door of the hotel, great for popping out for a snack, supermarket, chemist etc. For a basic hotel it is located in the diamond quarter, with one at the front enterance!
Antwerp station is ranked as the fourth most beautiful station in the world, and it does give that impression when you arrive and see the architecture. It has a amazing four levels. A zoo is around the corner.

Room Tip: if a light sleeper rooms not facing the rail station, ask if the windows open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (487)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 487 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2013

The hotel was probably worse because it was very hot in Antwerp when we were there. The room was very small - the bathroom was large and modern (no shower curtain) and since there is no air conditioning, it was hot and stuffy. They provided a small noisy fan that was never off. Even though it was very noisy (right next to the train station) we slept with the window open (sometime the room door open too).

The breakfast (included) was surprisingly very good even if the selection varied throughout the week. The guy working breakfast was a sourpuss, but he did his job.The hotel staff was the same, some were very nice and of service others were gruff (I guess it depended on what tour bus had just pulled up).

For the fact that this was a relatively inexpensive place, I guess it was OK. For a bit more I would probably stay elsewhere. Oh yea, the free WIFI was garbage. Never worked strong enough to even open a page. Maybe they didn't want you to find out about the better deals around,

Room Tip: Expect small rooms and not enough space for luggage, and if it is a hot day - stay away from this pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dre0303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

I've just returned from Antwerp having booked the Century as part of a Eurostar package deal.
I really couldn't fault it for the price.

-Central location outside the impressive station
-Clean
-Very good Breakfast with freshly baked bread

It's a busy, basic B&B that fully delivers as a Three Star Hotel.

PS:
It's important to note that they will charge for a City Tax (€1,50 per person per night) even on a fully inclusive per-paid package!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank EPSW2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

If your'e visiting this hotel in summer be warned:
-Windows cannot be opened.
-Reseption staff is unruly and unpleasant.
-Do not Visit this hotel if your'e suffering from Asthma.
-No Airflow in the rooms.
-Standard should be of a Motel (2 star), or lower. becuase its a terrible dusty old tiny place.
-Inspection and cleaning : 5/10
I will never get back to this hotel, ever.

Room Tip: there are 2 rooms where you are able to open the window. ask for them in the reception, if your'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ysgav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Just returning from a lovely break at the Century hotel in Antwerp. I stayed there before and am pleased to say that it still offers the same friendly service and good value for money. The hotel is located opposite the side of Antwerp central railway station and on the edge of the Diamond District. A tourist tax is payable at this hotel - a charge of 1.50Euro per person, per night, payable in advance.
Rooms are ok in size, with a small bathroom. There is no air con or ceiling fan. It was quite hot when we stayed, but not too bad in the room. I think this was because we stayed on the 2nd floor and our room overlooked the station, so the sun couldn't blare through the window. Rooms were kept clean and tiday, with bedding changed quite regularly.
There is a large breakfast room on the first floor. A good selection of rolls and breads, cheese and cold meats, some salad and a little bit of fruit. There are also jams, spreads and yoghurts. The hotel has an excellent Coffee machine, offering an array of hot drinks and also 4 different juices and water. The hotel caters for large coach parties and the tables at breakfast seat up to 8 people.
Overall, an ideal hotel for those on a budget who like a nice central location.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ilovkpop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

I stayed here in June 2014 when making a quick trip to Antwerp for a PhD thesis defense. the room was booked by the University. On the positive side, the hotel is conveniently located next to the train station and the rooms were clean. On the negative side, there is NO air flow in the rooms unless you open the window and that invites the noise from outside as others have noted. the WiFi worked fairly well and the breakfast was a low budget petit dejeuner. The hotel was filled with elderly British people who appeared to be enjoying themselves. I would not stay here again since there are other hotels with similar locations that are much more highly rated.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bblumberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

was a bit sceptical seeing various reviews. Yes my room was a bit dark and carpet could do with a deep clean but apart from a couple of residents who did not understand how to close their room doors was very quiet. WiFi worked fine h ad no problem with it. Breakfast was typical continental style which was lovely so you did not have to rush. Receptionists were very helpful in regards where to go and provided a decent map of Antwerp. Eating wise I choose to eat out near cathedral. Right next to station which is convenient.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis Budget Antwerpen City Central Station
0.1 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Antwerpen
Leonardo Hotel Antwerpen
#30 of 73 in Antwerp
700 reviews
0.1 mi away
Antwerp City Hotel
Antwerp City Hotel
#19 of 73 in Antwerp
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Astoria Hotel Antwerp
Astoria Hotel Antwerp
#18 of 73 in Antwerp
520 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eden Antwerp
Eden Antwerp
#34 of 73 in Antwerp
327 reviews
0.6 mi away
TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp
TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp
#52 of 73 in Antwerp
1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Century Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Century Hotel

Address: Pelikaanstraat 20, Antwerp 2018, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 73 Hotels in Antwerp
Price Range: £44 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Century Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Century Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tourist Hotel Antwerp

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing