We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Hotel In Antwerp”
Review of Century Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Century Hotel
Ranked #59 of 72 Hotels in Antwerp
Reviewed 30 November 2013

I have stayed in many places in Antwerp, And considering we payed 120 euro for a quad room this is a very over expensive hotel and no good value for money. There was only two of us actually staying in the room. Check in was a joke they wanted to charge us nearly 10 euros in city tax when it clearly says on the confirmation 1.50 per person so it should be 3 euro for two of us but then they charge you for the whole room which i have never experienced in Antwerp. Then we asked for the breakfast time and they said it was not included yet again on the confirmation it said breakfast included. This hotel is just such a rip off and always trying to get more money from you its like booking Ryanair hotel. The room even for a family room was just not practical and very old fashioned. There was no shower curtain around the bath, no holder in the wall for the shower so it was fun trying to have a shower. Also the bathroom door nearly fell off when opening and closing it. I could go on and on but i would just say do not even book a room here and if you already have cancel if you can if not i feel so sorry you will have to experience this hotel. I would recommend the Billard Place Hotel, Coco Matt Apartments, Hilton, Crowne Plaza or Best western over this place anytime in Antwerp.

Room Tip: Find another hotel to stay in.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CoventryCarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (474)
There are newer reviews for Century Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 475 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2013

Having booked a double room we arrived to find that our room had twin beds in a room shown on the fire plan shown as a single. This was reluctantly changed when we complained at reception. The room was clean but very basic (as were all the rooms). Breakfast was a simple cold buffet. On the first night we investigated the restaurant with a view to eating there - there was no one eating there and they could not show us a menu (only reel off a list of items). We ate elsewhere.

Room Tip: The room at the front have views of the Central Station.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnneB416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Fraud ads. When I made reservation, it said cancellation free, but the plan I was accommodated was unable to cancell or change and they charged me for changing room option to give us following experience.
I ordered two double beds for a triple room option, but we were given one twin and two singles!
On second night, two sets of the comforter disappeared, and the twin bed no comforters on it thus we had to bring comforters from the single beds!! We have paid more then 150 dollers for the MOST DISGUSTING AND HUMILITATING EXPERIENCE! The room is far from clean either. Thus we recommend to NO ONE to stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wowhownow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile


Nice welcoming

Room nice and bed comfy and all clean . The lift smelt of smoke and so did the landing to the room.

Good location literally out front of Antwerp Centraal

Biggest let down was the breakfast . Probably the worst breakfast ever seen. Hardly anything to chose from

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

The hotel is located in larger centre of the city. Our room was facing the train station which is really beautiful. Next to the station is the ZOO, which is one of the most interesting ZOOs I've ever seen. Breakfasts were suprisingly great! Staff was pleasant and helpful. But there is where positives end. Room was not so clean, furniture is a bit out of date and there is no air conditioning. Walls are thin, so if you have noisy neighbours, it could be a problem. Hotel parking is not available, you have to park your car at some of city parkings that are pretty expensive.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Having read the previous reviews and stayed for three days, I agree with all the good and helpful comments. Our room was facing the station, the noise is not too bad, our windows did partly open. I agree I would not like to have been there in very hot weather. Front desk staff change a lot we didn't see the same person twice. Good value overall.
One entrance to the station is opposite the front door of the hotel, great for popping out for a snack, supermarket, chemist etc. For a basic hotel it is located in the diamond quarter, with one at the front enterance!
Antwerp station is ranked as the fourth most beautiful station in the world, and it does give that impression when you arrive and see the architecture. It has a amazing four levels. A zoo is around the corner.

Room Tip: if a light sleeper rooms not facing the rail station, ask if the windows open.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

The hotel was probably worse because it was very hot in Antwerp when we were there. The room was very small - the bathroom was large and modern (no shower curtain) and since there is no air conditioning, it was hot and stuffy. They provided a small noisy fan that was never off. Even though it was very noisy (right next to the train station) we slept with the window open (sometime the room door open too).

The breakfast (included) was surprisingly very good even if the selection varied throughout the week. The guy working breakfast was a sourpuss, but he did his job.The hotel staff was the same, some were very nice and of service others were gruff (I guess it depended on what tour bus had just pulled up).

For the fact that this was a relatively inexpensive place, I guess it was OK. For a bit more I would probably stay elsewhere. Oh yea, the free WIFI was garbage. Never worked strong enough to even open a page. Maybe they didn't want you to find out about the better deals around,

Room Tip: Expect small rooms and not enough space for luggage, and if it is a hot day - stay away from this pl...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dre0303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis Budget Antwerpen City Central Station
0.1 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Antwerpen
Leonardo Hotel Antwerpen
#30 of 72 in Antwerp
682 reviews
0.1 mi away
Antwerp City Hotel
Antwerp City Hotel
#20 of 72 in Antwerp
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Astoria Hotel Antwerp
Astoria Hotel Antwerp
#19 of 72 in Antwerp
516 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eden Antwerp
Eden Antwerp
#34 of 72 in Antwerp
319 reviews
0.6 mi away
TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp
TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp
#51 of 72 in Antwerp
1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Century Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Century Hotel

Address: Pelikaanstraat 20, Antwerp 2018, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 72 Hotels in Antwerp
Price Range: £44 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Century Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Century Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tourist Hotel Antwerp

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing