We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid if possible”
Review of Century Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Century Hotel
Ranked #59 of 73 Hotels in Antwerp
Reviewed 28 October 2010

We had booked this hotel with a reputable firm and when we arrived the staff said there was no record of the booking at all and we had to pay another 60Eur. On top of that the room was very basic and not as clean as I would have liked. On our first night a group of youngsters partied in the corridor very loudly for some considerable time only quietening down (eventually) after I asked them to. I had not realised I was paying full whack for a room next to dorm.
I would not go again and advise others to do the same.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pollyLichfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (493)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 493 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2010

The rooms were not ready when we came, however ew arrived at 6 PM. Walls in our room were very dirty and also towels had some blue marks! Beds were uncomfortable, i think the same mattress is here for many years. It is impossible to eat breakfast befor 7 AM, because restaurant was till this time closed. One of the worst hotels I have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kleio46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2010

The only good thing about this hotel was it's location accross the road from the railway station in the centre of things close to bars & restaurant's.
The rest was just plain bad. I moved furniture to find thick dust that had obviosly been there some time. The breakfast restaurant and food was below basic. The room was 7 foot wide and poorly decorated.
Pay a bit extra for the more well known hotels which were also in the centre if you like a bit of comfort.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank getawaytoanywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2010

I booked three rooms with the Century hotel online for a low rate, only to have two of them cancelled without my knowledge when the booking company went bust (this was not the fault of the hotel). We needed the rooms, however, and were forced to pay an extremely high rate for the very basic rooms available. The rooms were generally unpleasant, not particularly clean and two out of the three rooms had showers that barely worked. One room also had a strong unpleasant odour.

The following day we were told that the rooms did not include the 'tourist tax' and forced to pay even more. Additionally, one of our party had soiled a sheet - the hotel demanded €150 cleaning costs, and refused to let us into our room or access to our bags until this was paid in cash. The man at reception was exceptionally rude and eventually we decided to cut our losses and check into a different hotel for the remainder of our stay. In order to do this, we had to call the police to reclaim our bags, which the Century refused to release.

There are redeeming factors of a great location at an unbeatable price (I suppose you get what you pay for), if you book early online, but I do not recommend this hotel and will not be staying there again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adacore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights, and having just read the previous reviews I was wondering if it was the same place, we had a room on the 7th floor towards the rear of the building, not much of a view, but a least quieter than our friends had it in a room overlooking the station.
The room was fairly large and I have to say it was ok, the bed linen was clean and it was changed every day as were the towels, the shower room was also clean and we had no complaints with the overall state of the room.
The public areas were looking a bit tired and could do with a bit of TLC, we did not see any bare cables etc as a previous reviewer commented on, but we did not go around all the hotel.
Breakfast was plentiful and ok, the usual meats/cheese and bread, with jams and cereals, teas and coffee, the juice machine was not good, non of the juices coming out appeared to have been remotely near a real fruit!.
As for location, it was great for the Station, and about a 20 minute walk to the shopping and historic centre, so not too bad, plenty of bars and restaurants nearby as well.

Overall not a bad place but not a great one either.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lostandfound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2010

As part of a college course we stayed in the Hotel Tourist because of the central location. Well they do say that you get what you pay for and because we paid just about nothing we got absolutely nothing. The minimum you would expct is a clean bed though.

The room was absolutely filthy, marks on the wall, the bed looked like it hadnt been changed and every night I slept with a hoodie on because I didnt want to put my head on the dirty pillow!
The hotel itself is dropping to pieces! There was a half built corridor with a bit of cardboard blocking it off, cables hanging from the walls, uncovered too which is clearly dangerous.
The staff were not at all helpful, speaking from experience. It might be a cheap deal, but expect absolutely nothing even for the small amount of money that you pay.
Choose somewhere else!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaffaCake01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2010

Me and my son arrived at very hot day,the room was very small,and the window could be open only for some millimetres.We kindly ask the man at the reception to change the room,and received a terrible answer and terrible attitude.
The sheets has hols and we have to call several times till the same man arrived with the sheets,and told us to speak " n i c e l y " to him!!!!!!!!!!!
We've been traveling a lot, but never ever have such bad treatment.
We will pay a little bit more,but never ever at this hotel again!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PAULATelAviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis Budget Antwerpen City Central Station
0.1 mi away
Antwerp City Hotel
Antwerp City Hotel
#18 of 73 in Antwerp
381 reviews
0.1 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Antwerpen
Leonardo Hotel Antwerpen
#30 of 73 in Antwerp
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp
TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp
#53 of 73 in Antwerp
1,090 reviews
0.2 mi away
Astoria Hotel Antwerp
Astoria Hotel Antwerp
#17 of 73 in Antwerp
525 reviews
0.3 mi away
Antwerp Inn hotel
Antwerp Inn hotel
#44 of 73 in Antwerp
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Century Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Century Hotel

Address: Pelikaanstraat 20, Antwerp 2018, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 73 Hotels in Antwerp
Price Range: £43 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Century Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Splitty, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Century Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tourist Hotel Antwerp

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing