We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous rooms at the friendliest B&B in Antwerp”
Review of Yellow Submarine

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Yellow Submarine
Ranked #6 of 112 Antwerp B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

Would thoroughly recommend staying here, we loved the room, cool furniture and a huge round bath! What makes this more than your average B&B is the friendly and warm welcome, we felt very spoilt, fizz on arrival and a gorgeous breakfast served in our room before our early morning drive to Berlin. Perfect-thanks guys we hope to return! Great bar and restaurant recommendations too.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ljboswell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed at Yellow Submarine for a couple of days in July 13, our host Elke and her assistant of whom I'm really sorry I can't recall her name, were outstanding, nothing is too much. A great place to explore and close to some of Antwerps finest beer bars.

There is a full review on my beer blog Beersay at the link below, cheers

Yellow Submarine - http://wp.me/p1mN8x-1Im

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank filrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

The B and B is rally well located just 10 minutes walk from the Old Town and just 2 minutes walk from MAS and the waterfront.

The rooms are clean,modern and really comfortable with lots of nice additional touches thrown in. Bowls of lovely sweet, a bottle of Cava on arrival. Breakfast was fantastic with lots of interesting bits and pieces to try. Perfect for a weekend trip away.

However, where this B and B really comes into its own is the wonderful hospitality of Elke and her husband. They are incredibly welcoming and helpful. Elke was full of idea of things we could do and tried to make reservations and things for us. It made the weekend incredibly relaxing and we wouldn't hesitate to go back - it felt like a home away from home. Thank you.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

I stumbled on this b and b after trawling through loads of b and bs and hotels on the internet. The b and b is located in a square about ten minutes walk from the old town, which is very convenient. The area is quite mixed with the red light district about 2 minutes away, but this is easily avoided! The proprietor Elke could not have been more welcoming and helpful. A complimentary bottle of Cava and bowls of sweets were provided in our room and our breakfast the next day was wonderful: boiled eggs, patisserie, cheese and ham and freshly squeezed orange juice. There was even a nespresso coffee machine in our room too.

Just a word about the bathroom, the bath is round but also has a very powerful overhead shower. The bathroom was not enclosed at all, although in an alcove so the loo is to all intents and purposes in the bedroom. There are loos downstairs as well, but it was rather disconcerting to be frank!

Room Tip: There are ony 3 rooms, 2 with baths and showers and one with just a shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UninvitedGuests
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Elke, the owner of the Bed and Breakfast, is very friendly and helpful!

A surprise was waiting us there, we had make a reservation for the room with the shower, but she gave us the one with the bath! Great room and surprise! Very clean the room, with a really big bathtub! There is a Nepresso coffee machine. Amazing great the RITUALS, are the bathroom amenities.

Elke asked us what time we want to have breakfast and when we went to the creative coffee the breakfast was waiting us with a newspaper from the country that we live! Really nice detail! Elke gave us many informations for Antwerpen!

If you want a place to sleep in Antwerpen this is the best place to sleep!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dinamitis06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights in August 12. A wonderful find! Location perfect for the tourist: easy walk to center, sights and restaurants. Room, elegant modern design. Immaculate housekeeping,
huge tub/shower unit. Elke lovely, very personable, interesting, and could not do enough for us.
She met my wife's food restrictions completely and graciously. Her advice was an Excellent source of info, especially regarding restaurants. She provided a Lovely bottle of bubbles on arrival and little thoughtful extras you find in expensive hotels (ie: chocolates in room each day were different). There are several good sized grocery stores within one or two blocks. The
Area is very safe and quiet. Security Garage for car close by and no extra charge. If we visit Antwerp again, this would be our first choice.

Room Tip: This BnB met all our needs and criteria.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leftaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

A great place right in the center of Antwerp - 5 minutes on foot from the cathedral. Spacious sleeping room with modern furniture, excellent beds, flat screen tv, free WiFi and an integrated bathroom with a huge round bathtub (incl. shower), lavabo and WC. Absolutely quiet location - you can sleep with windows open, if you like. Breakfast phenomenal - freshly pressed orange juice, fresh fruit salad, yoghurt with berries, ham, sausages, cheese, eggs, fresh bread, sweet rolls...The host - Elke - operates this lovely B&B with huge engagement, humour and lots of charm. She will be of your help in any way you want. As a really frequent traveller I can only say: superb.
Not negative, but worth to know: as in many designer hotels the bathroom is integrated into the sleeping room with only minimal separation by a sliding screen; no elevator and stairs are steep (as everywhere in older houses in Belgium); relatively high rim of bathtub might make it somewhat difficult for elderly people to enter the shower area.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manfred G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
0.8 mi away
Queen A Antwerp
Queen A Antwerp
#4 of 73 in Antwerp
155 reviews
2 mi away
B&B Guesthouse Leman
B&B Guesthouse Leman
#2 of 112 in Antwerp
114 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Le Tissu
Hotel Le Tissu
#1 of 112 in Antwerp
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Rock Lobster City Lodge
Rock Lobster City Lodge
#3 of 112 in Antwerp
32 reviews
2 mi away
JVR108 Luxury Guesthouse
JVR108 Luxury Guesthouse
#11 of 112 in Antwerp
35 reviews
1.1 mi away
De Witte Nijl
De Witte Nijl
#7 of 112 in Antwerp
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellow Submarine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellow Submarine

Address: Falconplein 51, Antwerp 2000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Antwerp
Price Range: £108 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Yellow Submarine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing