We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really nice museum and viewing deck” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of MAS - Museum aan de Stroom

MAS - Museum aan de Stroom
Book In Advance
More Info
US$117.03*
and up
Private Tour: Antwerp Trip from Brussels
Ranked #9 of 153 things to do in Antwerp
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Really nice museum and viewing deck”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

My friend and I headed to MAS because we had been told about the great views.
I love the fact that it is free and that to get to the top you have to walk around the whole museum (without access to individual galleries). Annoyingly, it did feel like we were going around in circles for ages but atleast we got to see some of the displays. As far as I know there were no elevators, so you really do have to walk round each floor to get to the top.

Anyways, at the top....I'm going to be perfectly honest...Antwerp's skyline is nothing to brag about. BUT it is a really cool space and I still think its worth a visit.

Check out our trip: http://blog.travelpod.com/travel-blog-entries/nessandjess/3/1400363155/tpod.html

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank vxk831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,057
    826
    217
    52
    25
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“hmmm, could be bether”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

history only put themselves in array for the Belgians. No description in English. Highly disrespectful approach to the tourists.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kasia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Wonderful View from Top”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Well, this is a staggering building with an outstanding view across the City. Some of the best art-work isn't explained to its full advantage, though (there is a whole section on storage goods which isn't explained), but some of the artwork is amazing.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“a roof with a vieuw”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

THE museum of Antwerp now celebrating its third anniversary. A 'new' way of visiting a museum. On top of the museum is a very big terrace from which you have splendid vieuws over the city.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Iyengarkvm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

The building itself is worth the price of admission, which by modern standards is very modest - €5 standard and €10 for a dedicated exhibition. Great location, a wide variety of exhibitions, and each floor provides a new perspective on the city, all the way to the roof. You will have to check what is scheduled for the temporary exhibits.

The best permanent collections are the smaller exhibitions about power, as well as their real bread 'n butta, the history of the port/shipping. The museum has several fine works in its collection, including an anonymous "Spanish Fury" and Japanese inspired Bay of Nagasaki, but this collection will really connect with the sailor/maritime art aficionado.

The MAS offers the best view of the Port of Antwerp and its surroundings. It also offers a view of an artwork on the square fronting the museum - Dead Skull by Luc Tuymans.

Thursday nights, admission is €1 for 1 theme, and it stays open until 9pm... but who are we kidding... it gives you until 9pm to invite that guy or woman you eyed in the gallery to share a drink in one of the many, many cafes that surround the docks near the museum. Not bad.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Christopher G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed MAS - Museum aan de Stroom also viewed

Antwerp, Antwerp Province
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 

Been to MAS - Museum aan de Stroom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing