We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unpretentious” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wagamama

Wagamama
Ranked #383 of 1,396 Restaurants in Antwerp
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
108 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Unpretentious”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

Year's ago I went out for a quick lunch at Wagamama's in the UK. I knew what to expect when entering the Antwerp restaurant: Japanese style dining in a minimalist interior. The food was tasty, portions were abundant. Sadly my side orders got lost somewhere in the process and never reached the table. Made up for that loss by ordering one of the yummy deserts.
I can imagine the place can be very crowded and wouldn't want to go there when it's really busy: the wait was already long enough and the restaurant wasn't even a third full. Relatively expensive.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank scor1910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    71
    35
    17
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
242 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
“No complaints - if you know the set-up”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

If you are not used to sitting on canteen-style benches then you should avoid this no-frills restaurant that is conveniently located in a mall containing a multi-screen cinema. Food is cooked freshly, and although I sometimes eat in British Wagamama outlets, there are things on offer in Belgium that are different and in some ways better than in the UK. On this occasion I was tempted by the Duck Niiro Kare, which was utterly delicious. I also had a Maes Pils and an espresso. The bill came to 20.85 euros, and this included all taxes and service - no need to leave a tip. A clean, efficient if hardly romantic outlet. Although not as cheap as KFC, the prices are comparable to those charged by other nearby South-East Asian food outlets.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Makaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Food is amazing. Have been to the london chain also. the deserts were awesome.
not very expensive also

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pompi14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp
Level Contributor
102 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“good food but a bit expensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

I had fried noodles with chicken and vegetables, chicken dumplings and a green tea.
It was good food, tasted delicious.
But it's overpriced.
The fried noodles didn't contain all that much vegetables or chicken. In fact... I had to look for the vegetables (I found a few sprigs)..
The chicken dumplings were nice and the green tea afterwards completed my meal.

I would recommend them to use more vegetables though.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Debby R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaipur, India
Level Contributor
90 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Great chinese food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

Like all the wagamama's around. Great food, quick and friendly service. For Chinese food you can't go wrong with mama.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AshishPorwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wagamama also viewed

Antwerp, Antwerp Province
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 

Been to Wagamama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing