We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some may like some may simply find it strange”
Review of Hotel O Kathedral

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel O Kathedral
Ranked #24 of 72 Hotels in Antwerp
Gunsbach
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Some may like some may simply find it strange”
Reviewed 20 April 2012

This Hotel "brand new " well located in the heart of the historical centrum of Antwerp ,with rooms overlooking the cathedral, and easy to walk to the main sites - the Grote Markt, down to the river etc...do not offer the real needs of what i would call a real hotel !!

Rooms painted in mat black ,cheap furnitures and floors not clean do not allow to enjoy all the location ..Especially when you are on a business trip .

Some people may like this kind of design ,and particular atmosphere but for 110 €uros a night the location do not justify this price

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeanMarcPGunsbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    118
    60
    28
    20
See reviews for
29
131
9
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2010

This is a cozy place to stay in Atwerp close to everything. The view from our room overlooks the Plaza with an old church. Staff are friendly, rooms are great. Proximity to awesome selection of restaurants and bars. Great price...

Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank JackeeV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver BC
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 380 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2009

This is my third stay here. It is the first time I noticed a corner of the tiny lobby dedicated to listing of gay friendly hotels around the world. The location as everyone writes is its main attraction. This is a two star type of place in need of a renovation. My room door would not lock, but it had a chain. The room is very adequate and clean. This is basic accommodation and at 100 Euros including breakfast about what you might expect for that price in a great location of a major city.

  • Liked — Has all I needed
  • Disliked — Needs a renovation
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlegreVancouverBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne
Level 6 Contributor
317 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2008

The Hotel Villa Mozart may not be as plush as some Best Westerns, but the location more than made up for it. Our room overlooked the cathedral, and it was so easy to walk to the main sites - the Grote Markt, down to the river etc. As we were only there for one night, this was important to us. The cathedral bells were not a problem. They started at 0800 and stopped at midnight, and were nice & musical rather than the loud booming variety. Anyone who complains about them should stay at home!

Our room was clean but a little warm, so we opened the windows. There were a few loud yobs, but nothing unbearable and that you wouldn't find in other cities. The bathroom was OK, not overly luxurious but it had a bath deep enough for a soak after a days sightseeing, separate shower, toilet & basin. The sealant in the shower could do with renewing and the curtain at the window was awful - black material which looked like it had been through a hole-punch - but there were lots of toiletries provided, and the room itself was very large.

The reception staff were also friendly and helpful, especially the young man who checked us in and out. We arrived early and he checked that our room was ready and let us book in a little early.

The location of the hotel made it ideal for a short break, and we would definitely return to Antwerp, which is a lovely city, and stay here again.

  • Liked — The central location
  • Disliked — The smell of sewage in the lift!
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sussexstorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2007

Lovely Hotel we had 2 young Children so booked a double Junior suite which was great for us . The location is super the only downside of this hotel is the restaurant dont bother Service is slow food bad and its expensive.

  • Liked — The location large bedroom and bathroom
  • Disliked — the restaurant
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank carolcass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capellen
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2007

Apparantly everybody agrees that this hotel has a great location. Recently there must have been some major maintenance since in my room an in all public areas, the hotel was in very good shape. The staff are very friendly though perhaps for some people to informal.

  • Stayed May 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank businessmanCapellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Matelote
Hotel Matelote
#22 of 72 in Antwerp
323 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rubens - Grote Markt
0.4 mi away
Hotel Les Nuits
Hotel Les Nuits
#21 of 72 in Antwerp
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Banks Hotel
Banks Hotel
#34 of 72 in Antwerp
431 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel 't Sandt
Hotel 't Sandt
#14 of 72 in Antwerp
261 reviews
0.9 mi away
Queen A Antwerp
Queen A Antwerp
#4 of 72 in Antwerp
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel O Kathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel O Kathedral

Property: Hotel O Kathedral
Address: Handschoenmarkt 3, Antwerp 2000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 72 Hotels in Antwerp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel O Kathedral 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleep with a unique view of theCathedral of Our Lady? It’s possible! Hotel O Kathedral is located in the heart of Antwerp’s historic center within walking distance of the main sights, museums, bars, restaurants, shopping streets and the Schelde. The hotel features 33 comfortable and modernly furnished rooms with designer furniture, open bathroom and hardwood floors. Our romantic rooms all have a view of the cathedral of Antwerp and have a wall painting inspired by Rubens integrated in wall and ceiling. This gives you the unique feeling of sleeping in a painting. There is also a bar in the hotel and an in-house chocolate shop and coffee shop. WIFI is free and most rooms have air conditioning that can be arranged at your own request. Hotel O Kathedral serves a daily continental buffet breakfast with fresh and seasonal ingredients and home-made pastries, granola, salads and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel O Kathedral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Antwerp
Classic Hotel Antwerp
Antwerp Best Western
Antwerp Classic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing