We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but... NOISY!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Antwerpen
Ranked #13 of 73 Hotels in Antwerp
Reviewed 10 May 2011

The Crown Plaza Hotel in Antwerp is well appointed and provided us with a very comfortable stay.

However, if you are a light sleeper you might be advised to invest in some ear plugs before you spend your first night here. Sandwiched between two very busy highways (incessant traffic 24hrs per day) my stay in this hotel turned into somewhat of a headache due to the vehicle noise affecting all sides of the hotel. The windows of the rooms are fairly thin and don't seem to shut very firmly thus a lot of noise creeps in.

Other than that I can't grumble. Rooms, Service and Food all Good. If only they could resolve the noise pollution from what must be two of Europe's busiest roads!!!

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whippersnapper74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerpen1, Manager at Crowne Plaza Antwerpen, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2011

Thank you very much for your comment.
Noise is a problem in any highway hotel. Therefor we are including new, sound limiting multilayered glass in the renovation of the rooms. This wil drastically reduce the ambient noise in the rooms.

We hope you won't forget us on your next trip to Antwerp so we can show you we are commited to supply you with a good night sleep .

With kind regards
Hans Wils

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,097)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

553 - 559 of 1,097 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2011

We stayed here one night and hosted a meeting on the top floor the next morning. The rooms are small but surprisingly functional (both my husband and I need space to work with our laptops and we travel with lots of luggage.) My husband thought the shower here was the best on our 17 day European trip. Internet access was complimentary and worked very well. It would be nice if the hotel had a parking garage, since it's always a bit hard loading and unloading the car in the brisk Antwerp weather.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank octeckels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2011

I have stayed in this hotel before some years ago and it was suitable for a quick stop over, so I felt comfortable to return. Arrived late and checked in fine, good friendly front desk. Was allocated a room on the smoking floor, which I asked to change, but no luck, all full. So I went to the room. On getting into the room I was extremely disappointed it was horrendous. I opened the window to find out it opened straight on to the Antwerp ring road (8 lane highway). So I had a choice, noise or cigarette smoke. The furnishings in the room and cleanliness were extremely poor. In general it was hostel level. Anyway slept terribly.

Breakfast was good. On check out I mentioned my concerns. The front desk handled the situation very well. They explained they were about to renovate, so my advice is do not stay there until they have.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Canistayhomesometime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2011

I stayed 2 days at the Crowne Plaza in Antwerp for a meeting.
The hotel is located on the ring so a little bit far away from teh city center, but it can be easily reached from Antwerp and from Brussels airport.
The room are confortable and well furnished. the personell at the reception is friendly and ready to help.
There is a reastaurant in the hotel, some concern about the service: it took 40 minutes to receive a drink and they made a mistake for the meal during the dinner (I accepted because itherwise I would have waited another 30 minutes).
Good for business....but reasturant shall be improved!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cassandracrossing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerpen1, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Antwerpen, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2011

Dear guest of Crowne Plaza Antwerp,

We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Your feedback regarding our restaurant is highly appreciated.
Our restaurant & bar have been recently refurbished and we are currently looking into improving the quality & service level. We will definitely discuss your comments with our Food & Beverage Manager in order to reach the experience you might expect from a 4* business hotel like Crowne Plaza Antwerp.

We hope to welcome you again on your next visit to Antwerp.

Thank you again for sharing your comments with us.

Kind regards,

Hans Wils
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2011

I stayed two nights in his hotel on a business trip.

The lobby is classy, the rooms aren't. The style is outdated, the bathroom needs to cross to the new century. For that kind of price you could expect more than just cleanliness.

At least the breakfast was of higher standard (beside the fresh industrial orange juice) and WiFi was free.

The restaurant is not much better. At least the dishes are cooked there not just microwaved.

At last, one good point: the open parking. For 15€ / day you can go in and out as much as you wish. A bargain in this part of Europe.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ffreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerpen1, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Antwerpen, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2011

Dear Mr.,
Dear guest of Crowne Plaza Antwerp,

Many thanks for your feedback.

We appreciate your honestly regarding our hotel facilities.

Please note that we are currently renovating our entire hotel. This also means that our guestrooms and bathrooms will be refurbished soon, putting the hotel back to the standards you may expect from a Crowne Plaza Hotel.
As from April 1st 2011, our brand new health & leisure centre will also re-open its doors.

We do hope to welcome you again on your next visit so you can experience our renovated hotel.

Sincerely Yours,

Hans Wils
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2011

This hotel has been around for many, many years; initially known as the Crest Hotel it later became a Crowne Plaza. It has been recently partly renovated and offers the possibility of staying not too far from the city center of ANtwerp whilst being very close to all major motorways in the area. The lobby is recently totaaly renovated and modernised. It also offers the possibility of having a coffee or snack during an informal business meeting near the lobby. So it is a very convenient place to meet business partners for a short discussion. The rooms are ok, without any special thrills, but they are clean and wellkept. The food in the restaurant however is not very good, but than again there are ample restaurants in the area and in the center of Antwerp, so that should not be a problem !

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller123Brussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerpen1, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Antwerpen, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2011

Dear Traveller123Brussels,
We would like to thank you for your review on the Crowne Plaza Antwerp. We are happy to hear that you had a nice stay with us. Also, I would like to thank you for your honesty regarding our food in our newest “Living and Bar”. We are striving for top quality continuously, serving dishes that are inspired by the Antwerp region and its local products. Hence we take your comment very seriously, enabling us to improve our standards on a daily basis. We feel confident that you will not be disappointed during your next visit when having a meal with us. Thank you again for your much appreciated feedback.
Kind regards, Hans Wils.
General Manager, Crowne Plaza Antwerp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2011

I have stayed at this hotel many times over the last 10 years and have always felt at home. This New Years Eve I have for the first time wished I was staying elsewhere.
Firstly the good change that immeadiately hits you is the change to reception and Bar area..Gone is the dark Brown and Orange and in come the light 'Antwerp' Theme with a photo of antwerp blown up behine reception, on the bar / resturant floor. A small snack shop is to the left of reception but the Esso Garage next door is still cheaper. The staff were friendly and as we arrived just after 2 coach loads they were still looking pleased to see us. The main disapointment was the room, after opening the door the room smelt damp and as if not used for ages the room had 2 Singles rather than a double which I always request.. The Decor was dated. The Mini-bar was empty and turned off, the view was impeaded by 2 of the builders lift risers. I was however able to open the window and then exit to the bar. My friends room was similar except he could not open the window. The beer and staff in the bar were fantastic as normal and kept a constant supply of nibbles with each round of beer. Again the bar is much better in the new style compared to the Jazz theme put in 3 years ago.. NYE in Antwerp nr the cathedral was amazing and I would reccomend it. I will give the Crowne Plaza another try but hope the room is better next time and that the swimming pool ect are finished. 14 months to referb a lesure suite....too long.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Knotty2207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StefanNevelsteen, Sales at Crowne Plaza Antwerpen, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2011

Dear Knotty2207,
First of all we wish to thank you for taking the time to submit your review.
We are truly sorry about the less than satisfactory quality and overall service you received during your previous stay at our hotel. Although we are proud of the very high standards of service and quality we have set for ourselves, it is very regrettable that we were not able to meet our own standards. Rest assured that your comments have been passed on to the Department Heads concerned and that corrective action has been made to avoid reoccurrence of the same less than acceptable performance.

Further, we are glad to inform you about the improvements to our hotel we have scheduled for this year:
Renovating another 110 rooms meeting all your expectations.
Double glazing to avoid disturbance of noise.
A brand new Health & Leisure Club/ Event pool.

We would like to assure you that you and all our guests are truly valued guests at our hotel, and we hope that this incident has not overclouded your overall experience. We will make it our personal goal to make sure that your future stays at our hotel will be to your full satisfaction.
Should you have any additional comments or concerns you wish to bring to our attention, please feel welcome to contact us directly.

Kind regards,
Crowne Plaza Antwerp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
0.3 mi away
Ramada Plaza Antwerp
Ramada Plaza Antwerp
#12 of 73 in Antwerp
715 reviews
2.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp
1.8 mi away
Lindner Hotel & City Lounge Antwerpen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hilton Antwerp Old Town
2.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Antwerpen
2.2 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Antwerpen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Antwerpen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Antwerpen

Address: Gerard Le Grellelaan 10, Antwerp 2020, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Antwerp
#9 Luxury Hotel in Antwerp
Price Range: £70 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Antwerpen 4*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Check into the modern Crowne Plaza Antwerpen hotel for easy access to Brussels Airport and central Antwerp.In a leafy residential area known as the Green Heart of Antwerp, Crowne Plaza Antwerpen is surrounded by parks and green zones. This welcoming high-rise hotel affords city or park views from all its stylish rooms, and you can log on to complimentary wireless Internet anywhere in the hotel.Brussels Airport is 30 minutes by airport shuttle bus, which stops directly outside Crowne Plaza Antwerpen. You can hop on local buses to reach Antwerp's historic centre in 10 minutes. We're seconds from Antwerp's Ring Road, with easy access to the rest of Belgium, and halfway between Holland and France. Leave your vehicle in our ample car park.The Crowne Meetings Team can arrange successful conferences for up to 500 theatre-style in one of our 14 meeting rooms. All rooms have complimentary WiFi (60 MB per 24hrs), while those on the 16th floor offer spectacular city views, sure to impress clients. Enjoy complimentary access to Octopus, the pool & wellness centre of Crowne Plaza Antwerpen.Mingle with locals over a business lunch or family dinner at the relaxing Anna Living and Bar. From the sumptuous breakfast buffet to a sandwich between meetings, a Belgian beer after sightseeing or a succulent steak for dinner, you'll find an enticing menu throughout the day at Crowne Plaza Antwerpen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Antwerpen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Antwerpen Hotel Antwerp
Antwerp Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing