We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for business - service was great!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Antwerpen
Ranked #12 of 72 Hotels in Antwerp
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great hotel for business - service was great!”
Reviewed 6 June 2013

I stayed at the Crowne Plaza Antwerp for a business meeting and I was extremely satisfied with the hotel and its staff team members. I would definitely recommend for business and leisure travellers alike.

The hotel is located a bit out of the centre of Antwerp, and my taxi cost about €14 from the Centraal station. The decoration throughout was very modern and with lovely modern touches. There is even a 'food shop' located near the reception, with sandwiches, snacks, drinks etc, which I thought it was quite handy if you are in a hurry. Check-in was very smooth and the receptionist was very nice and welcoming.

I was given a room on the 11th floor, with nice views to the park. Size was good and decoration was also very modern. Room was very clean, with all the amenities you'd get in a business hotel.

I had dinner at their Anna restaurant, and it was very good. The service was a bit slow, however the team members were working really hard, as the restaurant was quite full. Service, again, was very good, with the waitress being quite friendly. Breakfast was very good also, a lot of variety, much more than you'd normally get (at least in the UK!), there were many hot items, but I really enjoyed the choices with the cold meats, cheeses and 6 types of bread and bread rolls!

As I delivered a training at this hotel, I really enjoyed their meeting rooms and their food options. The meeting room was located on the last floor, with amazing views from the top. The food was really good and with great presentation - I had to take a picture, it was really different from what I'm used to in hotels across the UK. The team members were very helpful, and really helped me to have a great and productive meeting.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulesM2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Antwerpen, responded to this review, 7 June 2013
Dear JulesM2012,

Thank you very much for sharing your positive experience here on Tripadvisor.
I’m very glad to read that you enjoyed all the aspects of your stay and meeting here at Crowne Plaza Antwerpen!

It gives me great pleasure to share your kind words with my whole team.

We look forward to welcoming you back should you travel to Antwerpen again !

Kind regards,

Hans Wils
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,048 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    303
    390
    237
    71
    47
See reviews for
78
315
52
445
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We did a overnight trip to Antwerp from Mons. I had searched the internet to find the best deal on a place to stay, and booked this hotel through Hotwire for 42 EUR for the night. I was delighted at the price.

The cons:
- A bit far from city center & train station... about a 17 EUR cab ride from the Grand Bazaar.
- Did not have enough staff to cover the front desk during check-in/check-out times.
- A bit loud in the hallways during the late Saturday-early Sunday timeframe (this was due to other guests stumbling to their rooms)

The pros:
- Free WiFi
- Well maintained facilities
- Rooms were comfortable
- Staff were courteous and helpful.

Room Tip: Use Hotwire's Hot Rate for a "4-Star in Antwerp". I snagged the room for 42 EUR (rough...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dgedutis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Antwerpen, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Dear Dgedutis
Thank you for taking your time to share your experience here on TripAdvisor.
We value any feedback we receive, as this is the base for us to improve our service.
It gives me great pleasure to read that you enjoyed our facilities and our courteous staff during your stay!
We look forward to welcoming you again during a next trip to Antwerp!
Kind regards

Hans Wils
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

This is an average Crowne Plaza Hotel. I paid an extra 10 euro's per night at the time of booking hoping to get a larger room - but all I seem to have is some smellies to put on the pillow to help with sleep.
The minibar was empty except for the usual two free bottles of water. A sign advised that it was for our own use but there was no temperature control and it was warm. Certainly the cans from the car were a lot cooler than those from the fridge.
I am a platinum Priority Club member and I thought this entitled me to a room upgrade, but my room was fairly standard. The hotel acknowledged my platinum status with a free drink for one and 10% off in the bar/restaurant. As there were two in our party I thought this a bit mean. We dined on the first night. The restaurant was chaotic. A total of four persons served us which probably was the reason why the bread we ordered with two separate people did not ever arrive. The food itself was good - well cooked and a good sized portion.
The hotel is close to a very busy motorway and, although double glazed, I found that the traffic noise awoke me at 5.30am.
The staff were pleasant and efficient, even though very busy. A new innovation to me was that a 5 euro voucher was issued ( to spend in the bar/restaurant ) for any day you did not require the room to be serviced.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that faces away from the motorway.
See more room tips
Helpful?
Thank neilmorris838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Antwerpen, responded to this review, 26 May 2013
Dear neilmorris838

Thank you for taking your time to post your experience here on TripAdvisor and providing us with feedback.
This gives us a good base to further improve our service.

As a Platinum Priority Club Member you are entitled to a complimentary upgrade, based upon availability.
I will share your comments regarding your restaurant experience with our F&B Team to avoid similar experiences in the future.

Thank you again for your appreciated feedback and we hope to welcome you again during a next visit to Antwerp!

Kind regards,

Hans Wils
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumbai
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

At the time of check in on 14th May I presented my credit card as a guarantee. I was told by the receptionist that my card was not authorised" so I paid a CASH deposit of 50 Euro. On check out I paid in CASH for my dinner and a breakfast. When I left the hotel I got an alert from my card company that my card had been charged for 21 Euro by the Crowne Plaza hotel. I called them and it took them many hours to look into it. I had to go back to the hotel and talk to the manager to get my money credited back to my account.
I find this very unethical, if in the first place my card was not authorised and they took a cash deposit how did they charge the card when I left. Also, when I have paid in cash how can they ever charge my card. I will remain suspicous of this hotel and never ever give them my card details. It is frightening to realise that a hotel can charge your card without your knowledge if they have the details.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rudetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Antwerpen, responded to this review, 26 May 2013
Dear RudeTravel,

As explained by our manager on duty and commented on your facebook post before, you were unfortunately charged twice for the breakfast, both at the Front Desk as at the restaurant self. The credit card provided upon check-in was used for the payment of the breakfast with an automated approval.
As soon as this was brought to our attention your card has been refunded immediately.

As we are a PCI-compliant hotel, your credit card details are protected and the protection of this sensitive information is one of our top priorities.

I deeply regret the fact that this impacted your stay at our hotel badly.
Once again our apologies for the miscommunication.

Kind regards,

Hans Wils
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford upon Avon
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

The first pleasing thing about Antwerp's Crowne Plaza is that it is easy to find. It stands several stories higher than any building nearby so driving to it is a piece of proverbial cake.

The next pleasant surprise is the ample free parking on the opposite side of the road. And although the hotel is a good distance from the city centre there is a tram stop around the corner and a taxi rank outside the hotel.

There is also a petrol station right next door, so stocking up on refreshments and snacks is possible without paying hotel prices.

The hotel itself is a delight. The reception area is cavernous, modern and beautifully furnished in an 80s glass and chrome kind of way. The rooms are exactly as you would predict, with a big comfy bed and nice quality furnishings, all decked out in a contemporary dark neutral style.

As ever, the unexpected bonus - the service over and above the call of duty - was the thing that made our stay here special. We had the misfortune of having our car broken into in Antwerp city centre. Thankfully nothing was stolen, but our immediate worry was how to (a) secure our car for the night, and (b) arrange a replacement window in a foreign city in a Saturday morning. The young chap at reception was superb. He rang around the window repairers, acted as interpreter, drew me a map, and even found a place where I could get a temporary plexi-glass window fitted FREE OF CHARGE! This enabled me to get home safely to Blighty, and sort things out properly on the insurance.

So, top marks for going the extra mile. All round, a very impressive place, and jolly good value too. Such good value in fact, that I felt slightly guilty about smuggling crisps and beer in from next door.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allanza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Antwerpen, responded to this review, 26 May 2013
DearAllanza

Thank you for sharing your positive experience with fellow travellers here on TripAdvisor!

It gives me great pleasure to share your comments with my team.
We strive to provide every guest with the highest levels of customer service on a daily basis.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you again when you travel back to Antwerp!

Kind regards,
Hans Wils
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Soest, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Just returned from a weekend stay at the Crowne Plaza Antwerp. What a perfect location, excellent hotel, friendly and professional staff. Free parking is available accross from the hotel and then bus 70 takes you within 10 mnutes to the city centre in Antwerp. We ate our evening meal in the hotel bar which was very good, food was well presented and very tasty. The pool is brilliant, the kids had a ball:)
We will definately be returning, great hotel and excellent value

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizB2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Antwerpen, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Dear LizB2013

Thank you very much for your positive review about your stay at Crowne Plaza Antwerp!

It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed the service you received during your stay and that you were able to enjoy your visit to the city of Antwerp with your kids, inside and outside of our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you again when you travel to Antwerp again!

Kind regards,

Hans Wils
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

The check in counter was full of new arrivals due to a tour group coming in. The hotel staff was excellent in getting us to our rooms quickly due to the well staffed check in counter.

The only reason I am not giving a 5 star is because of what another person already gave in a review, inability to control temperature in the room.

Overall good facility for a weekend trip away from home. Nice and courteous staff.

Room Tip: Don't get a room on the west side sun sets in rooms are hot in the evenings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spicyjamaicangirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Antwerpen, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Dear Spicyjamaicangirl

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience at our hotel here on TripAdvisor.

Your kind comments regarding our hotel and our team members have been shared with our team, and we hope to welcome you back if you visit our beautiful city again!

Kind regards

Hans Wils
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
2.0 mi away
Hilton Antwerp Old Town
1.8 mi away
Lindner Hotel & City Lounge Antwerpen
0.3 mi away
Ramada Plaza Antwerp
Ramada Plaza Antwerp
#11 of 72 in Antwerp
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp
2.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Antwerpen
1.7 mi away
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
#6 of 72 in Antwerp
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Antwerpen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Antwerpen

Property: Crowne Plaza Antwerpen
Address: Gerard Le Grellelaan 10, Antwerp 2020, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Antwerp
#8 Romantic Hotel in Antwerp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Antwerpen 4*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Check into the modern Crowne Plaza Antwerpen hotel for easy access to Brussels Airport and central Antwerp.In a leafy residential area known as the Green Heart of Antwerp, Crowne Plaza Antwerpen is surrounded by parks and green zones. This welcoming high-rise hotel affords city or park views from all its stylish rooms, and you can log on to complimentary wireless Internet anywhere in the hotel.Brussels Airport is 30 minutes by airport shuttle bus, which stops directly outside Crowne Plaza Antwerpen. You can hop on local buses to reach Antwerp's historic centre in 10 minutes. We're seconds from Antwerp's Ring Road, with easy access to the rest of Belgium, and halfway between Holland and France. Leave your vehicle in our ample car park.The Crowne Meetings Team can arrange successful conferences for up to 500 theatre-style in one of our 14 meeting rooms. All rooms have complimentary WiFi (60 MB per 24hrs), while those on the 16th floor offer spectacular city views, sure to impress clients. Enjoy complimentary access to Octopus, the pool & wellness centre of Crowne Plaza Antwerpen.Mingle with locals over a business lunch or family dinner at the relaxing Anna Living and Bar. From the sumptuous breakfast buffet to a sandwich between meetings, a Belgian beer after sightseeing or a succulent steak for dinner, you'll find an enticing menu throughout the day at Crowne Plaza Antwerpen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Antwerpen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Antwerpen Hotel Antwerp
Antwerp Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing