We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good, apart from the barking dog!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Antwerpen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Crowne Plaza Antwerpen
Ranked #13 of 71 Hotels in Antwerp
Hampshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good, apart from the barking dog!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights between Christmas and New Year. Our 2 rooms were spacious and comfortable. However I feel that visitors should be aware that pets are allowed into the bedrooms! Very unhygienic I think and I don't like the idea of cats and dogs being on a bed that I will sleep in. Sadly the occupants in the room next to ours left their barking dog in the room whilst they went out, it was extremely annoying. On complaining to the lady on reception we were told that guests were allowed pets into the room, no action was taken. When we checked out the guy who was on reception was very apologetic and did take 20€ off our bill. If it hadn't been for the dog we would have enjoyed our stay more.

Room Tip: We did ask for a room at the back away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaisygirlHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Antwerpen, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Daisygirlhampshire,

Thank you for your review here on Tripadvisor!
I’m sorry to read that your stay was influenced by guests that had a barking dog with them in the room.

Your stay experience is one of our top priorities, so if you experience a similar problem in the near future please do not hesitate to contact us directly as we are happy to make the necessary adjustments to ensure you have a great stay.

Concerning the hygiene issue that you mentioned, rooms that had pets in them during a previous guest stay are thoroughly deep cleaned and checked entirely in order to ensure a perfectly clean room for every guest.

I’m happy to read that your overall stay experience was positive and we look forward to welcoming you back for a future positive stay.
Kind regards,

Hans Wils
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

945 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    361
    221
    69
    48
See reviews for
68
287
50
399
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

Crowne Plaza is refurbished and the evaluation of this hotel is good, for the following reasons;
location is excellent very close to the highways , close to the center of Antwerp- good access-
good parking - the rooms are clean - restaurant is good- for business it is a very good place.

Room Tip: best is first - or second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vincent D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Antwerpen, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear VincentD,

Thank you very much for sharing your positive experience with fellow travellers here on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcoming you back and please don't hesistate to let us know if we can do anything to make your stay a 5* rating worthy stay!

Kind regards,

Hans Wils
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surin Province, Thailand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

I stayed here on business for two nights in December.This hotel is quite old and maybe a bit below the standard I normally see in Crowne Plaza (Asia), but it is clean and the reception staff are very friendly, knowledgable and efficient.
The bed - amazingly comfortable and I slept very well. The room I had was clean and ventilation was good.
A major let-down is the WiFi reception - almost unusable on VPN with a signal strength of 25% in the rooms and cause of a major frustration for me, this would possibly prevent me from booking again for business (I need WiFi or LAN connectivity for work), however if I was staying on a personal break to visit this beautiful city I would be very happy to stay here.
Restaurant/bar - good food and reasonable service (it gets busy so you need patience).
Bathroom - shower-curtain in bath. I wish European hotels would stop doing this......! But it was clean and bright.

Room Tip: If you need WiFi - ask first! There is no LAN facility.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob_Surin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Antwerpen, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Dear RobFell,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience here on Tripadvisor.
We understand how important wireless internet is, so we are currently updating our entire system in order to provide you and future guests with top quality internet.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon so you can enjoy another great stay at crowne plaza antwerpen and see the improvements we made on our wireless network.
Kind regards,

Hans Wils
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level Contributor
103 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

In Belgium for a meeting and stayed overnight here. Short distance from the centre of Antwerp and “just” off the Ring, in fact can see the hotel from the ring road. Not hard to find but a bit fiddlely.

Check is was fast and efficient as a “gold Elite” IHG member. Hotel reception is modern clean and airy. On the 10 floor so a good view out of the room windows. Room was lovely and clean and fresh. The bed had the normal Crown Plaza/Intercontinental, mattress topper on it so you just sink into the bed but get great overall support from the underlying mattress so a great nights sleep was had by me. Bathroom was bright, clean and airy, with lovely soft towels. All the normal “lotions and potions” on offer too.

Lovely view from the room but a bit foggy next day but sun was just coming up behind an office block/flats, which would have made a lovely picture if only i had had my camera!!!

Breakfast in the AM was the normal fare with a good choice of cold (cereals, fruit yogurt, salmon, cheese and baked goods Danish pastries etc) and hot options (bacon, eggs, mushrooms etc) at a reasonable rate.

Lovely pool, which I had to myself in the early evening when I arrived, with sauna, steam room and gym which was free for guests.

So would I stay there again yes if I was in the area and this CP was much cheaper than the one at Brussels airport!.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank pair211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Antwerpen, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear Pair211

Thank you very much for your lovely review about your stay.
I’m happy to read that you enjoyed both the service and quality you received during your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another successful stay if your travel plans bring you back to Antwerp!

Enjoy the holidays!

Kind regards,

Hans Wils
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

Stayed here on our way to Christmas markets with Leger. Hotel was one of the best that they have stopped at. Rooms were nice and clean and the bed very comfortable. Bath room had bath as well as shower. Staff friendly and helpful. Food was good Tv had English tv which was good Also very near to Antwerp which is a nice place to go to.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gandhifan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Antwerpen, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear Ghandifan,

Thank you very much for your lovely review about your stay.
It’s a pleasure to read you enjoyed your stay and that you share this with fellow travelers.
We hope you enjoyed the Christmas markets and… happy holidays!
Kind regards,

Hans Wils
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
95 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

The best part of this hotel is the wellness area with a nice sauna, steam bath and swimming pool. The staff at the reception was very friendly. I had made a mistake during the reservation but this was eventually solved - very kind of hotel! The rooms were clean, spacious and a very comfortable bed. Despite being near the highway, there was no noise in the room. The location is good easily reachable by car and it takes only ten minutes by public transport or car to get into the city centre. Breakfast was good too; too bad they keep curtains closed so there isn't much day light. The value for money of this hotel is excellent.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaartenTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Antwerpen, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear Maartentraveller,

Thank you very much for your lovely review about your stay.
It’s a pleasure to read you enjoyed your stay and that you share this with fellow travelers.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon in ‘t Stad!
Kind regards,

Hans Wils
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kontich, Belgium
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

Stayed in november together with a group of colleagues. Upon arrival my Gold status was acknowledged and I was upgraded to a deluxe room on the 10th floor.

The lobby, reception and bar are very modern and trendy. Cool feature are the touchscreen TV's providing touristic info. Staff was very friendly and helpful at any time of day.

The room located on the 10th floor was nice, spacious and very clean. The bed was good and the noise level ok, even for being on street/traffic side. But the hotel floors are a huge contrast to the trendy lobby. They look much older and could do with some renovation.

There's also a business area and wellness area with pool on the main floor.
It's very welcoming after a busy day.
Nice feature: The swimming pool is black which makes swimming in it rather special.

So generally it's a nice hotel with good value for money.
I would certainly return.

TIP: If you're a first time visitor to Antwerp beware that you're out of the city centre and need to take public transport or your car.

Room Tip: Go for the higher levels
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mkiverijn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Antwerpen, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear MKiverein

Thank you very much for your lovely review about your stay.
It’s a pleasure to read you enjoyed your stay and that you share this with fellow travelers.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon in ‘t Stad!

Kind regards,

Hans Wils
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
1.8 mi away
Lindner Hotel & City Lounge Antwerpen
2.0 mi away
Hilton Antwerp Old Town
0.3 mi away
Ramada Plaza Antwerp
Ramada Plaza Antwerp
#12 of 71 in Antwerp
3.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp
1.7 mi away
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
#3 of 71 in Antwerp
4.0 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
2.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Antwerpen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Antwerpen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Antwerpen

Property: Crowne Plaza Antwerpen
Address: Gerard Le Grellelaan 10, Antwerp 2020, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Antwerp
#9 Luxury Hotel in Antwerp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Antwerpen 4*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Check into the modern Crowne Plaza Antwerpen hotel for easy access to Brussels Airport and central Antwerp.In a leafy residential area known as the Green Heart of Antwerp, Crowne Plaza Antwerpen is surrounded by parks and green zones. This welcoming high-rise hotel affords city or park views from all its stylish rooms, and you can log on to complimentary wireless Internet anywhere in the hotel.Brussels Airport is 30 minutes by airport shuttle bus, which stops directly outside Crowne Plaza Antwerpen. You can hop on local buses to reach Antwerp's historic centre in 10 minutes. We're seconds from Antwerp's Ring Road, with easy access to the rest of Belgium, and halfway between Holland and France. Leave your vehicle in our ample car park.The Crowne Meetings Team can arrange successful conferences for up to 500 theatre-style in one of our 14 meeting rooms. All rooms have complimentary WiFi (60 MB per 24hrs), while those on the 16th floor offer spectacular city views, sure to impress clients. Enjoy complimentary access to Octopus, the pool & wellness centre of Crowne Plaza Antwerpen.Mingle with locals over a business lunch or family dinner at the relaxing Anna Living and Bar. From the sumptuous breakfast buffet to a sandwich between meetings, a Belgian beer after sightseeing or a succulent steak for dinner, you'll find an enticing menu throughout the day at Crowne Plaza Antwerpen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Antwerpen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Antwerpen Hotel Antwerp
Antwerp Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing