We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“noise business hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Antwerpen
Ranked #11 of 72 Hotels in Antwerp
moscow
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“noise business hotel”
Reviewed 22 October 2008

It is typical hotel for business people. We have stayed there for 2 nights and it was plenty. Bed is very comfortable with good pillows. In very room there is a LCD tv, and internet on TV.
Main disadvantages: hotel is situated far from a center (about 50 minutes bu walking), bus stop is in front of the hotel. there are 3 subways round the hotel, so it is impossible to sleep well by night.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MASHURA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

997 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    282
    372
    227
    69
    47
See reviews for
75
300
50
419
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2008

With Crowne Plaza you pretty much know what you're going to get and so there were no big surprises here really.

Reception staff were all very polite, friendly and accommodating with any of the requests I had. My room would have been a bit cramped for two guests but as I was on my own it was fine. The free Wi-Fi access is a great unique selling point but as the hotel is located out of town the 10 - 15 Euros I saved on access I spent on taxis.

My main concern was the lack of in room safe, a hotel of this standard in this day and age has no excuse not provide these - anyone used to Crowne Plaza hotels will be used to having this facility and so it isn't great if you have a laptop as it's time consuming to have to store this in the hotel safe at reception.

The other thing is this hotel is quite exposed and it was exceptionally windy when I stayed so the noise of the wind whistling round the building was so loud it kept me awake.

I didn't try the breakfast but the mini bar was not unreasonably priced when compared to other hotels and the bed itself was comfortable.

  • Liked — Free Wi-Fi
  • Disliked — Location too far out of town
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SE1SKIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilo, Hawaii
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2008

I got a decent rate through priceline which made the stay more acceptable. I woul dhave hated to have paid several hundred dollars to stay here. The hotel is very easily accessible by busses 17 or 22 from downtown. If you buy a 10 trip bus pass AT THE TRAIN STATION, its ony 0.8 euros per trip to or from the city. The actual hotel is lacking in personality. The room was pretty basic and there was persistent noise coming through the window from the nearby freeway. Breakfast was 24 euros or so which is actually normal by Belgium standards for a hotel so we opted out and went downtown to eat instead. The spa was closed while we were there and the only exercise equiptment was on the 16th floor in a room that was simply a converted hotel room (SMALL). Don't count on having an acceptablke gym until the renovations are done.
Although the ammenities were lacking, we found the service to be very good, clearly the strong suit of the hotel.
For the price we paid I would look around downtown hotels and see if there were anything around the same price available there since the Crowne Plaza was nothing all that special.

  • Liked — friendly staff
  • Disliked — dingy room
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank arobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, UK
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2008

On arrival at the hotel, being a member of Priority Club i was told I was allocated a Superior Room. On arriving at my room, I would have hated being allocated a Standard Room, as my "Superior Room" felt like a hostel room! It was functional, but it felt bare and devoid of character.

The room actually felt cold so I tried to turn the heating up, this did not seem to work. So I called reception so told me they would move me. So, I packed my bags and waited. 15 minutes later I had a knock on my door from a member of staff who informed me teh hotel heating was off and it was pointless, therefore, changing room! He eventually offered me an extra blanket (just like you would in a youth hostel!).

There was no optio of having brekfast in your room, so down I went. The staff were abrupt and rude. I was glad to leave.

Crowne Plazas - one can usually trust the name and have a great hotel. In the case of Antwerp , DON'T, its just no like the others, no warmth, no character, no smiles.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank WELSHCAROLINE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haverhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2008

First impressions are of a high rise concrete ediface next to the ring road are not the most welcoming! No amount of foliage and flags can bring this round, so something inside needs to be good; it's not, sadly. The reception is to the right, round a corner past some large posts and the bar and restaurant are to the left of the main entrance. When you walk in, you see a wall and some large posts. The reception staff have always been friendly on all the occassions I've stayed.
The rooms. The higher up you are, the further from the traffic noise of the ring road (especially on the northerly end of the building). I have had some tired rooms a while back but everything seems refurbished now so they're fine. They will upgrade you for €30 (if I recall correctly) so even if you're Platinum Priority Club member you'll not get an upgrade as they have their own programme.
The bar. A rather unremarkable place to be.
The hotel is not central, but there is a bus stop outside with buses 17 (Centraal Station) and 22 (Groenplatz) costing €1.60 single. The ride takes 15 minutes and is worth it as Antwerp has so much to offer.
I have heard the gym and pool are good, but I've yet to test them.
As hotels go, it's okay, but it needs something, character perhaps.

  • Liked — As a Crowne Plaza, it has a good level of comfort.
  • Disliked — The bleak, characterless, Soviet aura about the place.
  • Stayed April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank stuart462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IngeCrownePlaza, Director of Sales & Marketing at Crowne Plaza Antwerpen, responded to this review, 4 June 2008
Thank you for your feedback, we will still continue to renovate the hotel and will do our utmost to give it a special " caracter".
Ideas are always welcome as we find feedback of our guests very important.

Hope to meet you during your next visit in Crowne Plaza Antwerp!.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delft, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
151 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2008

The rooms are average in size and it all looks okay. Bathroom is a bit bigger than normal. What i didn't like is the overkill of mirrors in the room/bathroom on the closet etc etc. It's a good thing is that the windows open so you can get some fresh air, but the hotel is located next to the ring road (highway) of antwerp so you do get some traffic noise if you do. Breakfast is good and the staff is friendly and will help you out if needed. Overall my stay here was okay....... but nothing special.

  • Liked — free wireless Internet, size of the rooms
  • Disliked — road noise
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Dutchman02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
45 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2008

Crowne Plaza should be something of which something can be expected. I paid a reduced early booking rate of 124 Euro, the normal would be around 150.

Yet considering the price, the only things very acceptable were cleanliness of room and bath and extreme friendliness of staff.
Breakfast would have been 24 Euro extra, so did not take it. 24 Euro for a tea and two bowls of cornflakes, what usually is my breakfast would simply stick in my throat.

Key critical points are noisy from the motorway next to the hotel. Somebody really should have invested in good noise insulation when building the hotel.

Second is the spa. It really is well equipped, but:
-paint peeling off the steam room
-steam room probably should have scented like eucalyptus, but it smelled like very rotten eucalyptus, also noted by others attempting to use it.
-one of two showers broken in the sauna
-dark stains in the only operational shower
-a strange floatation on the cold plunge bath water surface

There is apparently WLAN, but didnt use it.
Paid parking is outside of the hotel, though very close next to the main road there are many other free places.
It is close to nothing, except the trade fair and the motorway exit (Wilrijk, I think), literally within walking distance. You see the hotel towering next to the motorway.

Wont stay again, not at that price. This is no value for that kind of money.

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eikoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
1.8 mi away
Lindner Hotel & City Lounge Antwerpen
2.0 mi away
Hilton Antwerp Old Town
2.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ramada Plaza Antwerp
Ramada Plaza Antwerp
#12 of 72 in Antwerp
3.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
1.7 mi away
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
#5 of 72 in Antwerp
4.0 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
2.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Antwerpen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Antwerpen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Antwerpen

Property: Crowne Plaza Antwerpen
Address: Gerard Le Grellelaan 10, Antwerp 2020, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Antwerp
#8 Romantic Hotel in Antwerp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Antwerpen 4*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Check into the modern Crowne Plaza Antwerpen hotel for easy access to Brussels Airport and central Antwerp.In a leafy residential area known as the Green Heart of Antwerp, Crowne Plaza Antwerpen is surrounded by parks and green zones. This welcoming high-rise hotel affords city or park views from all its stylish rooms, and you can log on to complimentary wireless Internet anywhere in the hotel.Brussels Airport is 30 minutes by airport shuttle bus, which stops directly outside Crowne Plaza Antwerpen. You can hop on local buses to reach Antwerp's historic centre in 10 minutes. We're seconds from Antwerp's Ring Road, with easy access to the rest of Belgium, and halfway between Holland and France. Leave your vehicle in our ample car park.The Crowne Meetings Team can arrange successful conferences for up to 500 theatre-style in one of our 14 meeting rooms. All rooms have complimentary WiFi (60 MB per 24hrs), while those on the 16th floor offer spectacular city views, sure to impress clients. Enjoy complimentary access to Octopus, the pool & wellness centre of Crowne Plaza Antwerpen.Mingle with locals over a business lunch or family dinner at the relaxing Anna Living and Bar. From the sumptuous breakfast buffet to a sandwich between meetings, a Belgian beer after sightseeing or a succulent steak for dinner, you'll find an enticing menu throughout the day at Crowne Plaza Antwerpen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Antwerpen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Antwerpen Hotel Antwerp
Antwerp Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing