We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location just off the ring road / motorway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Antwerpen
Ranked #11 of 72 Hotels in Antwerp
Swindon, UK
Level Contributor
83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great location just off the ring road / motorway”
Reviewed 14 December 2010

Nice hotel on the outskirts. There is a bus stop outside the hotel or take a taxi to the city but it is 15 euros each way. Very nice bar area and the superior room are nice. The bar staff could be a little more polite.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leeandhen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,012 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    378
    232
    70
    47
See reviews for
76
305
50
428
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Elton Cambs UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2010

We visited Antwerp for a long weekend and decided to stay at the Crowne Plaza - a hotel we have used for almost 20 years. Its a hotel much used by business travellers and for conferences, but its good value at weekends. On arrival we found that the reception was being refurbished. It does not seem so very long since the last time. The bar and restaurant had also been remodelled , and it look very good. Our room looked like it had recently been refurbished and was very pleasant. A complimentary bottle of water was included , with free tea and coffees in-room, and for the first time a safe. (I wonder if this was a Superior room). Toiletries were of a high standard and the bathroom and bedroom were spotlessly clean.

Breakfast was the usual good mixture of hot and cold food ,and was regularly topped up. The tables were quicKly cleared and the breakfast staff very efficient - it made a good start to the day. There is always plenty of parking and the hotel is easily found , about a mile after the Kennedy Tunnel. It seems around 5 miles from downtown so its a taxi or a 10 minute walk to the nearest tram stop , but trams go into the centre (Groenplaats) around every 20 minutes. We could not fault our stay and look foward to returning.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BBosworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2010

the hotel is no near as bad some people say in there reviews. the hotel is clean , the staff are friendly , the breakfast was ok , there nothing bad i can really say about the hotel , only that i had to wait an hour for room to be ready ! i would stay there again

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank easy21uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2010

We booked a disabled access room, paperwork and confirmation all done online with a call to the hotel from England just to double check. Easy enough and no problems, they even told us what buses to get from centraal station to get to the hotel.

Once there check in was simple
No fuss and staff's English was very good.

Our room was 907 on the 9th floor with high views over the city. The windows are floor to ceiling so anyone with vertigo may want to consider this. The only negative thing was that our room was towards the side/back of the building which overlooks a major road AND motorway AND train line! Even with both double glazed slide windows shut it was still noisy. I think a room on the other side if the building would probably have been ok. (worth considering anyway as traffic is constant until about 2am)
That said our room was big enough and very Clean and tidy. There is a sideboard with chair which I imagine powerchair users will not be able to get there knees under. There is also a small table with complimentary bottled water on and another chair. If you are a single chair user then you might want to ask the porter to come with you to do a little furniture arranging.
Bed height seems fairly average and in line with my other half's wheelchair cushion (J2 cushion on and invacare manual chair)
There is an emergency pull cord in the bedroom but we noticed not in the bathroom, although there is the box it could connect to just no cord. Again single traveller be aware.

Restaurant: 21 euros for main meal which was ok ish. I had farmers pate for 14euros as a light bite. They serve till 2300hrs.

Buses: the numbers 17 & 31 stop across the road from the hotel and go to centraal station.
Also bus 22 from the same stop goes to groenplaats which is a much better destination for sightseeing. It takes about 10-15mins max to get into central antwerp.
You can pay 2euro to the bus driver for a 60min ticket or 10euro for a 3 day pass. ( it's 3 days from the first day used not 72hrs, ie we arrived at 6pm on 1st October and it ran out on 3rd October!)

Metro: no go for chair users there are a lot of refurbishments going on and very sparse lifts!
NOTE no transport seems to have automatics ramps (like London) you have to get someone to lift the ramp up and over to access it. That said the drivers were pretty good at driving close to the kerb to allow a backwheel balance transfer at times.

Leisure facilities were currently undern construction during our stay, they should be ready end 2010.

Our room was on 9th floor which had high views over the city. It was however on the

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clarabel74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
79 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2010

to keep it simple. It is a business hotel, but not a romatic getaway. There is nothing really bad about the hotel. Easy to find, 3 km from downtown, clean rooms, quick simple professional check in. Also communication beforehand was ok. I requested connected rooms, and got the confirmation the same day. Dislikes: restaurant is expensive, main courses are around 20 Euros. Breakfast is 21 Euros. (might be good, but for 21 Euros per person normally I do not even try.) If You get a good deal, the hotel is an ok choice. I will come back, as I have another reservations on the pointsavers, You can not beat that. Parking is kind of expensive with 15 Euros per day, but enough parking on the street. Once You are there You can check it out, I parked my car 50 m from the hotel entrance away, at least 50 more spaces around 200 m from here, while the hotel parking was empty. Another goodie: Internet is free. Another downside: no sleeper advantage package. Crowne Plaza is making so many advertisment with it, and the fromt desk did not even have an idea what is?

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaddySch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baldock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2010

Very nice, clean hotel with friendly staff who, of course, can speak perfect English. Good accommodation with most amenities required in the room. Upper floors have great view over City. Food too pricey however, especially when there is a fabulous fixed price restaurant (The Kolmar) almost next door which offers extremely good value for money and the food was great (plus in the evening all beer and house wine in with the price - including refills!)

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelfing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2010

The place is OK for business, but it has been worked hard and needs refurbishment.

Bathroom is outdated, althought the shower is the most powerful one I have ever experienced!

Restaurant was big disapointment, but you got fed before an OK sleep for the next day.

Breakfast was a bit stressful, however

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brookway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
2.0 mi away
Hilton Antwerp Old Town
1.8 mi away
Lindner Hotel & City Lounge Antwerpen
2.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ramada Plaza Antwerp
Ramada Plaza Antwerp
#12 of 72 in Antwerp
655 reviews
1.7 mi away
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
#7 of 72 in Antwerp
797 reviews
2.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Antwerpen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Antwerpen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Antwerpen

Property: Crowne Plaza Antwerpen
Address: Gerard Le Grellelaan 10, Antwerp 2020, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Antwerp
#8 Romantic Hotel in Antwerp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Antwerpen 4*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Check into the modern Crowne Plaza Antwerpen hotel for easy access to Brussels Airport and central Antwerp.In a leafy residential area known as the Green Heart of Antwerp, Crowne Plaza Antwerpen is surrounded by parks and green zones. This welcoming high-rise hotel affords city or park views from all its stylish rooms, and you can log on to complimentary wireless Internet anywhere in the hotel.Brussels Airport is 30 minutes by airport shuttle bus, which stops directly outside Crowne Plaza Antwerpen. You can hop on local buses to reach Antwerp's historic centre in 10 minutes. We're seconds from Antwerp's Ring Road, with easy access to the rest of Belgium, and halfway between Holland and France. Leave your vehicle in our ample car park.The Crowne Meetings Team can arrange successful conferences for up to 500 theatre-style in one of our 14 meeting rooms. All rooms have complimentary WiFi (60 MB per 24hrs), while those on the 16th floor offer spectacular city views, sure to impress clients. Enjoy complimentary access to Octopus, the pool & wellness centre of Crowne Plaza Antwerpen.Mingle with locals over a business lunch or family dinner at the relaxing Anna Living and Bar. From the sumptuous breakfast buffet to a sandwich between meetings, a Belgian beer after sightseeing or a succulent steak for dinner, you'll find an enticing menu throughout the day at Crowne Plaza Antwerpen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, IHG, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Antwerpen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Antwerpen Hotel Antwerp
Antwerp Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing