We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, good value -- recommended”
Review of Hotel Hyllit

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Hyllit
Ranked #14 of 72 Hotels in Antwerp
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good location, good value -- recommended”
Reviewed 30 November 2012

The Hyllit is a very good hotel. The staff are professional and helpful, the location couldn't be much better for Antwerp station, and it's only a short walk into the centre of the city.

My room was large, clean and comfortable -- as was the bed. However, my room safe was out of order and despite asking the hotel almost every single day for a week, it was never fixed. It might sound trivial, but my hotel room was burgled on another stay recently, so knowing my belongings are secure when I leave the room is important.

My only other very minor complaint was that it would have been nice if the swimming pool and better opening hours: it opened too late in the morning for me able to go before work, and if I was ever in the hotel during the day the pool was closed until the evening.

Overall, though, I recommend the Hyllit -- it was very good value for the high quality of hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank feverdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    204
    65
    30
    13
See reviews for
37
137
16
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2012

A good hotel leaves little to wish for: it has everything it is supposed to have, everything is in good working order and has not worn off, service is friendly. That's the story of this hotel: perfect for the business traveler or the city trip where you just need a centrally located, good hotel. The hotel would have gotten 5 stars if the room had been a little bit bigger and if it also would have had much character, which it doesn't, but often that's just okay.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joost-and-Claus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level Contributor
63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2012

We stayed two nights at the Hyllit when visiting for a concert. The main appeal of the hotel when we were booking it was the central location, and the fact it has its own car park.

The hotel provided good directions, but even with a good satnav finding the hotel proved to be "interesting" mainly due to the road works around Antwerp. We have driven in and through many cities in Europe, including Paris, and Antwerp is definitely not what you would call car friendly.

The Hyllit reception staff were first class, helpful, friendly, and knowledgeable about the city. The friendly approach was also apparent with all the staff we came in to contact with.

We had a breakfast inclusive deal with our room, and it proved to be well worth it. The breakfast was varied, and everything was fresh and tasty. In addition the breakfast was restocked regularly with both hot and cold food.

Our room was large and well fitted out, including an in room safe, and comfortable chairs. Our only concern was a background smell of smoke, as if the room had been smoked in. An interesting twist in a non smoking hotel, was the ash tray in the room, with a no smoking label on it? It's either an interesting way of getting the message over, or an admission that people will smoke anyway. This would have been a five star review but for the smoke smell.

The central location of the hotel puts you within a minute of the main railway station, and the main shopping area. The tram/underground system is also very close, and we were impressed that our concert ticket included the transport system. We were even more impressed at the constant stream of underground trains that had been put on after the concert.

Room Tip: Use public transport
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulWMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

My wife and I were in Antwerp for a birthday weekend and thought we'd try something different by staying in an Hotel we'd not been to before. We chose the 'Hyllit Hotel' close to the central station which is not normally the area we stay in.
Admittedly getting there with the car was a nightmare with road closures all around the place, and the GPS not being able to give an alternative route, however this was all clearly stated on the website, and being from Amsterdam we should have just taken the train anyway :) You can't really blame a hotel for road works. As soon as we arrived we had a good feeling about the Hotel. Beautiful clean lobby with friendly, helpful reception staff was a great start. We were quickly given our room keys, and shown to our room. We had a smoking room, which for smokers is rare luxury these days :)
The room was just what we like. Very spacious, clean, great bathroom with a nice bath, and a lovely double bed (not 2 single beds moved together) and luxury duvet and pillows. It had a nice big flat-screen TV and comfortable chairs to sit on. The heating worked. The lighting was romantic.
The shower was excellent, even on the 4th floor which can so often be a big let-down when you pay good money for a hotel. Breakfast was vast and really good quality.
The best bit for us was the fact we were left alone. So often in other hotels, even with the 'do not disturb' sign out, we have cleaners banging on the door and phone calls to see if we need anything! The place was silent and we had a lovely 3 nights sleep without any problems.
All in all a great stay. We'll definitely be coming here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim and Petra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012 via mobile

Rooms were nice, free wireless, great location, and the staff was helpful; when we asked them to open the bar after hours, they did. They also gave us good recommendations and directions to attractions and restaurants in Antwerp.

The rooms are bigger on the left-hand half if the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FBG-Tick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
603 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

wanted to stay close tot he diamond market and found this hotel. well rather desappointed. the location is OK with a car park. welcome is acceptable but no more than that. you don't feel in a clean place. the bathroom is old and not confortable even for a suite. to charm whatsoever. I won't come back

Room Tip: good location if you want to be in the heart of the diamond world of Anvers
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philippe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

The hotel was so near to the Antwerp train station but because we drove, we followed the car GPS and we could not find the hotel for almost 2 hours until we decide to park somewhere near and walked there. The road works closure on the main road was a real pain. We have made a few calls to the hotel for directions but it didn't help at all. They could have asked us to park at other carparks nearby instead of suggesting that we go around and find another route. Even with handphone naviagtor (GPS) help, we just could not find the right road. My phone bill will be in hundreds or more. No one would believe that we took 4+ hours to reach an Antwerp hotel from Den Haag. We felt so stupid and stressed out. Our holiday was totally ruined. I should have booked another hotel perhaps at the old town. Decent room and breakfast did not made up the chaotic situation we have faced looking for the right direction. SAD.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meisiah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Antwerp Old Town
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp
0.3 mi away
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
#6 of 72 in Antwerp
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lindner Hotel & City Lounge Antwerpen
0.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Antwerpen
0.1 mi away
Antwerp City Hotel
Antwerp City Hotel
#22 of 72 in Antwerp
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hyllit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hyllit

Property: Hotel Hyllit
Address: De Keyserlei 28-30, Antwerp 2018, Belgium (Formerly TOP Hotel Hyllit)
Region: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Antwerp
#10 Luxury Hotel in Antwerp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Hyllit 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Hyllit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Hotel Antwerp
Antwerp Top Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing