We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hyllit Hotel - Antwerp (Below average)”
Review of Hotel Hyllit

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Hyllit
Ranked #20 of 73 Hotels in Antwerp
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We arrived in Antwerp having had a few days in an excellent and cheaper hotel in Brugge. Despite having had the window open for 3 days, the room still reaks of cigarette smoke which for non-smokers, is disgusting.

The Spa is quite nice but has bizarre limited opening hours and for sure, you cannot start and end your working day with this facility despite the hype. It should be available 24/7 and as there is no supervisory staff, I cannot see the logic in it not being open.

Breakfast is probably ok, but after Brugge, below average and impersonal. I arrived at the bar at 21:30, waited for 10 mins for service, and instead went up to the tobacco stinking room.

In summary, it is well positioned but access to the car park is a faff, and the best facility, the spa, is rarely open. The stench of the room is an unnecessary complaint, and in my opinion, shows a disregard for the quality of life of non- smokers. For reference: fifth floor.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank Edwinal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (432)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 432 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2014

A great location for a Hotel, and it also lives up to its expectation. Has great room service, big rooms, cleanliness, great gym center, and a really nice bar for the evening. Overall, it is a great hotel to be in. Never had a problem here.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MihirJog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Hylitt hotel is a very well located hotel in Antwerp, just block away from the central station making travel very convinient and in close proximity to the diamond market, the zoo and the aquatic park. We had a lovely stay the hotel and a good guidance to go around the city!!!!!!
LOvely breakfast spread and beautiful room with a good look over the swimming pool!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank murtuzashabbir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Location is ok, close to railway station and ZOO, but quite a walk from the things worth visiting. Room was a bit dated, did not have a very clean feel to it. Room was odd shape with a sort of ante room / office without windows. Room with the beds was relatiely small. Beds were quite uncomfortable. Cover was synthetic of the bad sweaty sort.
Breakfast only so so. The OJ was of the water and powder variety (well not sure about that, but it tasted crap.

Room Tip: Avoid floor under the top floor bar/resaturant. They clean the bar after closing, they move the chai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lli_030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

I chose this hotel because it seemed close to the cental station on the map, and indeed it is. Turn left out of the station and it's no more than 100 metres. Check in was polite and speedy and my room on the second floor was spacious and comfortable. Wi-fi worked well.
Breakfast was good with a reasonable selection of both hot and cold food.
I used the bar on one night and though it had a nice ambience, the service was slow due to only only person behind the bar, who often disappeared into the back room, and one personal criticism was there was no draft beer.
The only other comment I would make is that on a cold and wet night, you have to venture outside to gain access to the hotel restaurant (Grand Duca) which is quite expensive, so as I was out anyway I chose one of the other plentiful and cheaper restaurants. But, nonetheless a good hotel and one I will use again when I'm next in Antwerp.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soluta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Stayed: 23-26.11.2013
Good: Very good location of the hotel, clean and clear. Underground parking possible (for money off course :))
Bad: Asked for iron, got it after 2 hrs only. Reception reserved more money on credit card compared to planned stay days. Swimming pool is cold = if you need it.. Breakfast could be better.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PLukash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

The hotel does a lot of things in a good way. The rooms were spacious and quiet. It's in the middle of the center, it has a decent bar and everything is neat and clean.

We were with a group of 6, and there were some things we really didn't like. First of all, the roads to the parking garage were closed for maintenance. If you are not used to a city, you use your navigation, but they didn't work in these circumstances. We were with different car brands and also used Google maps, but eventually none of the 4 cars reached the hotel, but instead parked at garages near the hotel. It wasn't mentioned at all at the hotel website.

Worse than that, was the internet. We were there for work. We needed internet to do our work. On day 1 it didn't work at all, so we had to sit in a Fastfood restaurant around the corner! Second day it worked sometimes, but if it did, it was really slow. We all lost a lot of time and money because of this lousy service in this hotel. Some guys flew in, just to meet and work with us, for which internet was required. This was a real pain.

A 4-star hotel, should be on top of these problems, at clearly, they weren't.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Knevel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp
0.6 mi away
Hilton Antwerp Old Town
0.4 mi away
Lindner Hotel & City Lounge Antwerpen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Antwerpen
1.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Antwerpen
Crowne Plaza Antwerpen
#13 of 73 in Antwerp
1,094 reviews
0.2 mi away
Queen A Antwerp
Queen A Antwerp
#2 of 73 in Antwerp
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hyllit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hyllit

Address: De Keyserlei 28-30, Antwerp 2018, Belgium (Formerly TOP Hotel Hyllit)
Region: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Antwerp
#11 Luxury Hotel in Antwerp
Price Range: £104 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Hyllit 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Hyllit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Hotel Antwerp
Antwerp Top Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing