We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bssiness”
Review of Hotel Hyllit

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Hyllit
Ranked #14 of 72 Hotels in Antwerp
toronto
2 reviews
“bssiness”
Reviewed 3 December 2009

i spent two days at the Hyllit Hotel in Antwerp on a recent business trip.i've stayed there many times over the last several years and have a nice stay each time. the front desk recognizes immediately and greets me by my name.the staff is courteous and everyone greets you as they pass.the rooms are very clean and nicely outfitted ,but simple. the spa is well appointed and nicely maintained. in general the hotel is quiet and thereby very comfortable for businessmen. there is also a special rate for visitors in the diamond trade.i highly recommend this hotel for business travelers.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank torontoprince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    205
    65
    31
    13
See reviews for
37
138
16
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2009

I recently stayed at the Hyllit. The hotel had a good location close to all shopping. I stayed in a junior suite which was absolutely huge for one person. The room had just been redone and even had a nice balcony(although not that useful in January). The staff were very helpful with questions as well. A very pleasant stay for a couple days.

  • Liked — Huge brand new rooms
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank madtaxer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2008

Ok hotel near the central station of Antwerp, about 10mins walking distance from the historic centre.
The hotel is ok, standard business hotel. We stayed here early January and had no complaints, staff was friendly and room was spatious and clean.

It takes some time to figure out which elevator you hve to use to get in/out and then to get to your room, but let's say that adds to the character.

I guess it's good for a business trip but for a weekend trip or romantic getaway you might want to look further.

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel0city
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2007

Booked a different hotel through a discount website but that one had been over-booked so got moved to this hotel. I completely agree with all the other reviews. They have a bizarre lift system - one to get in, one to get out, one for breakfast and another to get to the rooms. I apparently got upgraded to a Jr Suite for my troubles but the room was just plain WEIRD... spacious, yes, but they put in a very weird partition into the room to "split" the bedroom from the rest of the room. The bedroom came with a very small tv (don't most 4-star hotels have plasma tv these days??) and our double room was actually two single beds stuck together (which meant one person kept falling into the crack... very uncomfortable). There was also a lot of noise from people walking in the corridor/people upstairs. I tried the leisure centre which was great - very clean, spacious and overall very different from the rest of the dark hotel. Location is also not bad as you're close to the shops, but I think next time i'd prefer to stay in the old town.

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Camel100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2007

Spent a week at Hyllit. First, the bad: the internet, though it was available, was not reliable. You must purchase coupons for, in my case, 12 hours. Thought that would be enough, but if you shut your PC without logging off, the clock continues to tick and soon your EUR15 for 12 hours will vanish. Once I realized this and asked the lobby to turn off my clock; they said they couldn't. So I can't recommend it for business.

Elevators were strange - can't exit without walking all across the lobby - but I guess it's done for security reasons.

The good points: nice big room. Very convenient location 2 blocks from the station, and half a block from where the bus (from Brussels airport) lets you out. The refrigerator was full of overpriced drinks but you can just put them in a drawer and stock it with goodies purchased locally (nice grocery store underneath the large movie theater to the left across the street). No need to pay the EUR17 for breakfast, because so many nice restaurants are closeby.

I paid EUR105-130 by booking.com

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — internet
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Bennn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paphos, Cyprus
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2007

Where do we start! ...the only positive thing going for this hotel is the friendliness of the staff when booking in. To access the hotel, parking and bedrooms you have to use 3 different lifts. Lift 4 is when you want breakfast. we booked this hotel because of its central locatrion. The car parking is a joke. When we eventually got down to sub level 2 the spaces that were available were so small that if your car was bigger than a Mini you needed 2 spaces. This is what all the other guests had done, leaving no room for us. We had to unpack in the middle of the through route and then squeeze into a space so small that I had to pull in my mirrors to fit in. the room ( a junior double ) was dull even with the lights on. You could not leave the lights on and the curtains open as we were looked into by other windows directly opposite. They were using low-energy bulbs that were so dim I could barely see to shave. The bed was 2 singles pushed together, The pillows were a flat as a pancake and the air con did not work. There was no tea or coffee making facilities and the mini bar was expensive. There was not even a free glass of water. If you wanted to use there Wi-Fi for the laptop again there was a charge.Breakfast in the morning was terrible. I went for the cooked option. the food was maybe hot at 7.30, but when we arrived at 8.45 it was stone cold. The scrambled egg looked like wallpaper paste and tasted like it too. The staff were half asleep and looked like death warmed up. The coffee was however acceptable. We left as soon as possible vowing never to return. we had previously stayed in a Campanile costing half the price and it couldn't be faulted .

  • Liked — the coffee
  • Disliked — having to pay the bill
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank wellworntraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deryckwim, Rooms division Manager at Hotel Hyllit, responded to this review, 20 March 2010
This review dates 2007. Since november 2009 the Hyllit Hotel is under new management.
All rooms have been renovated, a new breakfast room, lounge bar and lobby are to be opened in April 2010. The management ensures that all has been done to give the guest a feeling of comfort when staying in the Hyllit Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2007

I booked this hotel at the last minute for 4 nights in May, rooms were not available in other Antwerp hotels of a good star rating. Should this have been an omen.

The Good,
In general friendly staff. 5 minutes walk from Antwerp Central Station.

The Bad
The room, a Junior Suite, Limp pillows as flat as a pancake and only one each, uncomfortable beds, bedlinen with holes in, air conditioning/heating was not working properly and the room was like a sauna most of the time, with no windows to open it was impossible to sleep, extractor fan not working in the bathroom, but my husband fixed it, mini bar was not restocked by the maid, no room service menu for drinks or food, no tea and coffee making facilities which became significant with what I have to say later about the bar. The hotel lift system involving entering the hotel by one door and taking the lift to reception and then changing lifts for your room, you used another lift to exit the hotel. Fine when the system was working, but one day a Japanese guest and myself were stuck downstairs trying to get into the hotel for 10 minutes because the entrance lift which the staff have the power to override for their own use was being used for something else. Standing in the street in the pouring rain yelling at the double glazed window above me where reception was to be let into the hotel just belied belief.

The Bizarre,
The hotel restaurant could not be accessed from the hotel, although we saw signs around the hotel saying lift to the 6th Floor (the staff could access it) but guests had to go outside, walk round the corner and go in through the public entrance and do the same when returning, just lovely in the pouring rain. Now the mystery of the open/closed, open again, closed again hotel bar. There were no tea and coffee making facilities in the room, so the only place to get one was at the bar or room service. My husband and I got the impression this bar had a mind of it's own and opened only when it felt like it. On Friday night we returned from dinner approx 9.30 to find the bar open, on Saturday night same time the bar was closed. In the hotel info it said the bar was closed all day Sunday, but I came back from being out all day to find the bar open, I went up to the room told my husband, we changed for dinner went down to the bar for a drink, it was closed again.

We will never stay here again, just awful.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
Thank lafemmenikita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Antwerp Old Town
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp
0.4 mi away
Lindner Hotel & City Lounge Antwerpen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
#6 of 72 in Antwerp
798 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Antwerpen
0.2 mi away
Queen A Antwerp
Queen A Antwerp
#4 of 72 in Antwerp
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hyllit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hyllit

Property: Hotel Hyllit
Address: De Keyserlei 28-30, Antwerp 2018, Belgium (Formerly TOP Hotel Hyllit)
Region: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Antwerp
#10 Luxury Hotel in Antwerp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Hyllit 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Hyllit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Hotel Antwerp
Antwerp Top Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing