We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet location by the park, close to the central attractions”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
Ranked #3 of 71 Hotels in Antwerp
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Quiet location by the park, close to the central attractions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

We spent a day in this hotel during our Belgium overview trip in September 2012. We were able to walk there from the central train station - just under 10 minutes walk - and also walked from the hotel to all historical sights and museums. The hotel is located on a quiet street by the park. The reception - we had dealt with two different people during check in and check out - is warm, friendly and makes you feel right at home. Our room was in a great shape and had a park view. Comfortable bed, spotless bathroom, good colors and design of the room - my husband is a tough rater of the accommodations, but he was very satisfied with this place. We like to walk everywhere, and were able to do so because this hotel is so conveniently located. The next time we are in Antwerp, we will look no further than this hotel and will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GalinaCalgary_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JorisCammaer, General Manager at Leopold Hotel Antwerp, responded to this review, 15 October 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice comments about the Leopold Hotel Antwerp.

Reading this positive review from experienced travelers, like you and your husband, is a real boost and a real encouragement for us to continue our efforts.

We are all looking forward to your next stay in Antwerp.

Kind Regards,

Joris Cammaer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    403
    119
    17
    13
See reviews for
85
337
52
160
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liege, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2012

I stayed at the Leopold Hotel for business reasons.
Reception and breakfast staff extremely friendly and helpful. Good Wifi coverage and most important: it’s free.
Room was clean and spacious. Enough space to work and nicely decorated. Location is good, with nice view over some park.
Overall good atmosphere and reasonable room price.
Nice point: Hotel manager has his details printed in the elevator… Not needed to contact him, but it’s good to know!
Definitely worth to stay when going to Antwerp

Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Kadisha_02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JorisCammaer, General Manager at Leopold Hotel Antwerp, responded to this review, 15 October 2012
Dear Guest,

Wow... Thank you very much for your great scores.

5 out of 5 means a lot to us as this is the goal we are aiming for all our guests.
This is a real encouragement for us, as a team, to continue and work even harder to offer a great service to all.

We are really looking forward to your next visit to the Leopold Hotel Antwerp!

Kind Regards,

Joris Cammaer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2012

For the price you pay there is nothing exceptional about The Hotel Leopold. I was their attending a wedding so many of the guests were present in the hotel. As a result I managed to visit even the top floor penthouse apartment, which had excellent views of the adjacent park.

The front of house was very friendly and very helpful. We did however have to ask for an iron and ironing board several times to no avail. Finally I went to reception and physically brought the ironing board up to my room myself. The room itself was very clean an wifi was strong. you can pay for a faster service but it was not need.

The bathroom was modern with the only downside being the shower curtain. which had orange/brown coloured stains on the bottom - as expected when a shower curtain is not regularly cleaned!

The location from the train station is too long for walking and too short for taking a taxi! The taxi drivers do not want to take you as the fare is not very big and if you have a lot of luggage like we did then walking (in the rain!) can be a challenge in itself.

Overall there is nothing exceptional about the hotel - its not overpriced and then again its not a bargain either (89 euros per single and 99 euros per double) hence 3 stars.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SonnyCash1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JorisCammaer, General Manager at Leopold Hotel Antwerp, responded to this review, 12 October 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

I am happy to read that you enjoyed the friendliness of our team and the general comfort of the Leopold Hotel Antwerp.

We will even though continue to work on the remarks you wrote in order to further improve our service.

We hope to be welcoming you back soon in Antwerp.

Kind Regards,

Joris Cammaer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

I took my Fiance on a surprise trip to Antwerp to buy our engagement ring. After LOTS of TripAdvisor and other internet research I decided to go with the Leopold Hotel. The reviews were largely full of praise and the website and staff (upon reservation) seemed friendly and professional.

However, i was a little disappointed when i arrived with the hotel. The reception and lobby area don't create much of a welcoming atmosphere and both of the receptionists upon arrival seemed tired and uninterested in welcoming us to the hotel warmly.
One lift was out of order while the other screeched the most annoying screech every time the jarred door opened and closed-not a great start!

We arrived to our floor to be met with the 1980's finest decor which gave me a fair bit of anxiety wondering what the room would be like. I had booked (and paid a premium for) the deluxe park view room. Thankfully, the room was fine and clean and warm. The bathroom was a little bit underwhelming but the room and view were quite pleasant.

Location of the hotel is ideal for browsing the diamond district and is just 700m (5 minute walk) from central station. We walked a few times up to the old city and this is a pleasant 15-20 minute walk.

I wouldn't say I was unhappy with the hotel but having had high expectations based on other travelers reviews i was a little disappointed the hotel didn't "wow" my fiance like i had hoped.

Room Tip: Ask for a park view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JorisCammaer, General Manager at Leopold Hotel Antwerp, responded to this review, 3 October 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

I am happy to read that you enjoyed our spacious rooms and nice views over the park.
As you mention, our location is very suitable for both Central Station and the historical city center.

It goes without saying that I would like to apologize for not having been able to create the wow-factor for your fiancé, but please rest assured that we do our outmost to improve our service on a daily basis.

We hope to be welcoming you back at the Leopold Hotel Antwerp on a future trip.

Kind regards,

Joris Cammaer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2012

good location in front of a nice park.
not exactly in the city center, but not so far (15 minutes walk)
rooms are very spacious and well equipped.
the staff is kind and helpful
a little bit slow in the check-in, but that was the only remark i can do about this excellent hotel

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Marco C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JorisCammaer, General Manager at Leopold Hotel Antwerp, responded to this review, 1 October 2012
Dear Marco C,

Thank you very much for your kind review.

I am happy to read that you had a most enjoyable stay at the Leopold Hotel Antwerp.

We are looking forward to you next visit!

Kind Regards,

Joris Cammaer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2012

We recently used the meeting rooms at the hotel for two days. The service was excellent and the staff was extremely helpful and accommodating. The management also gave us a good rate for the two days. We are very pleased with their services and plan on using the same location for next year.

Thank you!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank V s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JorisCammaer, General Manager at Leopold Hotel Antwerp, responded to this review, 2 October 2012
Dear,

Thank you very much for your nice comments.

We are all looking forward to your next seminar!

Kind Regards,

Joris Cammaer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oudenaarde
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

We stayed at the Leopold Hotel last weekend to celebrate our anniversary. We were welcomed by a young receptionist with a big smile and she was really friendly and helpful. The right person to be at reception! The room was nice and very clean and we enjoyed a great breakfast in the morning. Definately a place to return to!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TripperOudenaarde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JorisCammaer, General Manager at Leopold Hotel Antwerp, responded to this review, 5 October 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your enthusiastic review.

I will most certainly pass your comments on to the team!

We hope to be welcoming you back soon at the Leopold Hotel Antwerp.

Kind Regards,

Joris Cammaer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
0.7 mi away
Hilton Antwerp Old Town
0.3 mi away
Lindner Hotel & City Lounge Antwerpen
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Antwerpen
0.4 mi away
Queen A Antwerp
Queen A Antwerp
#8 of 71 in Antwerp
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.1 mi away
Astoria Hotel Antwerp
Astoria Hotel Antwerp
#19 of 71 in Antwerp
4.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leopold Hotel Antwerp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leopold Hotel Antwerp

Property: Leopold Hotel Antwerp
Address: Quinten Matsijslei 25, Antwerp 2018, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Antwerp
#5 Romantic Hotel in Antwerp
#5 Family Hotel in Antwerp
#6 Business Hotel in Antwerp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Leopold Hotel Antwerp 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leopold Hotel Antwerp(former Carlton Hotel) has undergone a complete refurbishment and metamorphosis in 2009. Our 127 fully renovated guest rooms offer high quality Hypnos beds with a minimum size of 180 cm. The spacious rooms are decorated in hip, yet warm colour schemes, including I-Pod docking station and free Wifi. Leopold Hotel Antwerp is a contemporary 4 star hotel offering friendly and flexible service, all day food & drinks in a loungy atmosphere. The Leopold is all you may expect from a city centre boutique hotel. It's smart and sophisticated yet fun and just that little bit quirky ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Leopold Hotel Antwerp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antwerp Leopold Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing