We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ecellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Leopold Hotel Antwerp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
Ranked #3 of 71 Hotels in Antwerp
Certificate of Excellence
Ostend, Belgium
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Ecellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2012 via mobile

Very warm welcome. Professional. Helpfull. Well located hotel. Quiet room. Nice park view. Excellent And full buffet breakfast. Nice, quick bar lounge menu. Good Quality.
Close to railways station. Easy walking distance to city And shopping Center.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marcv8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JorisCammaer, General Manager at Leopold Hotel Antwerp, responded to this review, 13 November 2012
Dear Guest,

A big thank you!

Great to read that you gave us the maximum score of 5/5..., our aim for every guest staying at the Leopold Hotel Antwerp.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,

Joris Cammaer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    394
    114
    17
    12
See reviews for
84
330
52
154
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

Very friendly staff, helped us move into a different room without problem. Good location, close to Keyserlai. Nice design rooms, generally comfortable. Ask for rooms on 5th or 6th floor though.

The first room we had, tough non-smoking, reeked of smoke, so we asked to change the room. Unfortunately double bed room was not available so we stayed in a twin bed room on the 3rd, wasn't very comfortable. The fridge or the ac/heating wasn't working. The curtains for showers were too short, the floor got wet. Small things that you wouldn't expect in a 4 star hotel. The next day a double bed room became available and we moved. After that everything was great. Working fridge, ac/heating, even long shower curtains.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on 5th or 6th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cimcimee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JorisCammaer, General Manager at Leopold Hotel Antwerp, responded to this review, 7 November 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice comments, mainly regarding our staff.
I will most certainly pass the message on to them!

I am happy to read that the team was able to help you with the room move and that you enjoyed your stay.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at the Leopold Hotel Antwerp.

Kind Regards,

Joris Cammaer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2012

This hotel is great value for money, especially in an expensive country like Belgium. We stayed here a couple nights over December. The hotel was not far from the main train station (about a 10 minute walk), thus making it easier to travel into Brugges and Brussels for the day. The hotel itself was great, friendly service, good breakfast, wifi in the rooms, big and spacious rooms with more than you need. Antwerp is a beautiful city with good shops and cosy restaurants. Be sure to have a camera and eat lots of Fritte with belgium mayo!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JorisCammaer, General Manager at Leopold Hotel Antwerp, responded to this review, 29 October 2012
Dear,

Thank you for your lovely comments!

Happy to read that you have had a great time in Belgium and at the Leopold Hotel Antwerp.

We are all looking forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards,

Joris Cammaer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
1,371 reviews
249 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 652 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2012

Stayed two days in two rooms in the Leopold hotel in the Autumn break.

The Good

The hotel has own parking very nearby in the Lange Kievitstraat, and when we arrived at about 1.30pm ample parking space was available. The whole hotel has clearly recently been completed renovated and everything is shiny and new. The atmosphere overall is quite pleasant. The location is nice straight on the Antwerpen city park on the edge of the Jewish/diamond district, however about 750 meters walking from the historic city centre. As was promised on the hotel website, the beds were very comfortable. The room has a good working safe, coffee machine, nice amenities, complimentary bottle of water, hotel slippers etc. The wireless internet worked reasonably well also during peak hours and allowed multiple users per room. Breakfast was quite good at 12 Euros a pop, with very fresh bread and good coffee and all the egg stuff and french cheeses, fresh fruit and yoghurts, only the instant orange juice was a bit below par. Nice working desk area and seat with two chairs and a table as well. Room decor very tasteful and pleasant. There were free welcome drinks which included very nice draft Belgium beer.

The bad

Rooms with a park view are 10 Euros per night extra, however they are on the sunny side and hence warm, and the street between the hotel and the park (Quinten Matsijslei named after the famous painter, some of his work can be admired in the Cathedral) is very busy with traffic until the late hours. We saw ourselves forced to keep the window open since the main airconditioning cooling unit had already been switched off for the winter season, but it was quite warm this week, above 20 degrees centigrade in Antwerp. So a quite warm and noisy room. Reception told us they could have arranged for ventilators, not sure if that would have brought much relief, I think the aircon should have been available as advertised. Our room also had a problem with a shower curtain which was too short (or hung too high if you want) and hence let quite a bit of water leak onto the bathroom floor ... this was however not a problem in the other room.

Check-in was quite slow although courteous and pleasant, and the whole bill had to be paid up front. Checkout was fast with

Clientele of the hotel appeared to be dominantly American with a couple of other nationalities.

Overall a good place to stay with some remarks.

Room Tip: Avoid paying extra for the rooms on the park side, especially on the lower floors. They are warm and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hermes_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JorisCammaer, General Manager at Leopold Hotel Antwerp, responded to this review, 29 October 2012
Dear Guest,

A big thank you for the beautifully detailed review, impressive to notice that the Leopold Hotel Antwerp is your number 100 review! Congratulations!

We have read thoroughly trough your remarks and found multiple items we can learn from, both on the positive as on the less positive findings.

Once again thank you and we hope to be welcoming you back soon in Antwerp.

Kind Regards,

Joris Cammaer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
enniscorthy
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2012

On leaving Airport we were in hotel within the hour and greeted by friendly receptions in hotel overlooking hotel. The staff could not be more helpfull to us with all the questions answered as far as any tourist attractions was concerned. To us irish, having someone with very good english is a big advantage. Rooms in hotel very comfortable with I tiny complaint which was the room was to warm maybe becausr weather was so good. Also very accessible to the attractions in this unknown tourist city which we would like to return at some stage and again would stay at Leopold

Room Tip: make sure air condition is working
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JorisCammaer, General Manager at Leopold Hotel Antwerp, responded to this review, 25 October 2012
Dear Irish friends,

Thank you very much for your kind words. On behalf of the team I can say that we are delighted to read that you had a great stay at the Leopold Hotel Antwerp.

Happy to read that you were able to get all the information you needed to explore the city.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon in Antwerp!

Kind Regards,

Joris Cammaer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belmont, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2012

We stayed for one night in this hotel during our trip to Belgium in September. The hotel has a good location, friendly and helpful staff, very good breakfast in the morning and comfortable room and bed.
The only issue with this hotel is car parking.
We came to the hotel around 5PM and were relying on private parking they have nearby. It was full and they send us to a city parking. It took us some time to find it (we did not find it from the first attempt) and we did not feel it was very pleasant to walk from there at night. Nothing happen to us but for some reason that was the fealing we had. It took us nearly hour and half to park the car and come back.
I will stay in the hotel again, just hopefully be more lucky with parking

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Osetleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JorisCammaer, General Manager at Leopold Hotel Antwerp, responded to this review, 18 October 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice compliments about our team and the general level of services at the Leopold Hotel Antwerp.

I am happy to inform you that we are currently investigating how we can improve our parking services. We are looking at all the options possible to upgrade the parking offer.

We are all looking forward to your next stay in Antwerp.

Kind regards,

Joris Cammaer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

We spent a day in this hotel during our Belgium overview trip in September 2012. We were able to walk there from the central train station - just under 10 minutes walk - and also walked from the hotel to all historical sights and museums. The hotel is located on a quiet street by the park. The reception - we had dealt with two different people during check in and check out - is warm, friendly and makes you feel right at home. Our room was in a great shape and had a park view. Comfortable bed, spotless bathroom, good colors and design of the room - my husband is a tough rater of the accommodations, but he was very satisfied with this place. We like to walk everywhere, and were able to do so because this hotel is so conveniently located. The next time we are in Antwerp, we will look no further than this hotel and will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GalinaCalgary_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JorisCammaer, General Manager at Leopold Hotel Antwerp, responded to this review, 15 October 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice comments about the Leopold Hotel Antwerp.

Reading this positive review from experienced travelers, like you and your husband, is a real boost and a real encouragement for us to continue our efforts.

We are all looking forward to your next stay in Antwerp.

Kind Regards,

Joris Cammaer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
0.8 mi away
Hilton Antwerp Old Town
0.3 mi away
Lindner Hotel & City Lounge Antwerpen
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Antwerpen
0.7 mi away
Hotel Julien
Hotel Julien
#9 of 71 in Antwerp
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.1 mi away
Astoria Hotel Antwerp
Astoria Hotel Antwerp
#18 of 71 in Antwerp
4.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leopold Hotel Antwerp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leopold Hotel Antwerp

Property: Leopold Hotel Antwerp
Address: Quinten Matsijslei 25, Antwerp 2018, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Antwerp
#5 Romantic Hotel in Antwerp
#5 Family Hotel in Antwerp
#6 Business Hotel in Antwerp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Leopold Hotel Antwerp 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leopold Hotel Antwerp(former Carlton Hotel) has undergone a complete refurbishment and metamorphosis in 2009. Our 127 fully renovated guest rooms offer high quality Hypnos beds with a minimum size of 180 cm. The spacious rooms are decorated in hip, yet warm colour schemes, including I-Pod docking station and free Wifi. Leopold Hotel Antwerp is a contemporary 4 star hotel offering friendly and flexible service, all day food & drinks in a loungy atmosphere. The Leopold is all you may expect from a city centre boutique hotel. It's smart and sophisticated yet fun and just that little bit quirky ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Leopold Hotel Antwerp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antwerp Leopold Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing