We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
Ranked #6 of 72 Hotels in Antwerp
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Like a lot of people, I suspect, we chose this hotel because it is close to Antwerpen Centraal (the most obvious way of getting to the city is via train) and also inexpensive. In that sense, we couldn't fault it. It does provide excellent value for money (the breakfast is very good indeed) and it is a pleasant seven minute meander to the station through the fascinating diamond district. It is also close to the zoo, which we recommend (unless you don't like zoos!).

Just before we left for Antwerp we were talking to some friends who had visited the city recently and, spookily enough, had stayed in the Leopold (which they also liked). They reckoned that it was an easy stroll to the Groenplaats and Grote Markt (where some of the major attractions are), so we didn't bother to get a travel pass.

I just want to introduce a note of caution to anyone with mobility difficulties. It is probably a 20 minute walk (depending on how fast you walk) to those places. The hotel did appear to be on a bus route, which may have gone to the city centre, but we didn't check as we were happy to walk it. I am sure the hotel staff (who were friendly without being obsequious) could advise on taxis, buses or other ways to get to the attractions without walking, but you may want to take the distance into consideration and maybe book a hotel closer to the action if you don't want to, or can't, walk far.

I guess it is a case of 'you pays your money you takes your choice' - you can either be close to the station or the old heart of the city, but not both (and you would probably pay more to be closer in).

For techies: the Wi-Fi is free, but if you want to attach anything above a couple of MB (which I wanted to do for work purposes) then it is best to pay, as the free option is really just for browsing. Also, the reception on the TV wasn't great, though that didn't bother us.

One very positive note is that our room was, mercifully, quiet. For that I am eternally grateful.

Room Tip: We had a room by the service lift near the end of a corridor. It was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Merglys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FranceDZ, General Manager at Leopold Hotel Antwerp, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your detailed review regarding your experience in Leopold Hotel. We are really happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in out hotel.

Best regards,

France De Zutter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    412
    129
    19
    13
See reviews for
90
347
52
167
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

The hotel is clean and pleasant next to a very pretty park and a short walk to the city centre.

We had a couple of small issues; We had booked a double room and were originally given a twin, but they moved us easily into a double.

I contacted the hotel in advance to check we could park our large van there; which they said would be fine. But when we got there it was a very small car park and we could barely get it in! We did though just about so it was ok.

There were adverts for the restaurant dotted around the hotel only to find it wasn't open that evening. However we were directed by a helpful barman to some nearby restaurants which was good.

Overall a nice hotel with friendly staff, I would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vanessawhatever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FranceDZ, General Manager at Leopold Hotel Antwerp, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your stay in Antwerp and for your nice recommendations! Please accept our apologies for the little inconveniences you had during your stay. We hope to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,

France De Zutter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stayed at the hotel for one night as we didn't want to drive home after a dinner in the South district. The hotel is well located in a quiet area of the centre. The walk from the South district takes approx 20 minutes.
We booked it last minute (the day before) and had a very good rate. They offer a rewards program that allows for late checkout and we received an upgrade to a room with a view on the park. When you book directly on the site of the hotel, you also receive a free welcome drink (wine or beer).
The girl at the reception was very friendly and helpful. The room on the fifth floor was large, clean and modern with a very large bed. You can choose between soft and hard pillows and you have everything you need to make your own cup of coffee when you wake up. The only minor point was the noise of the airco. We had to turn it off to sleep (and hadn't thought about turning it on while we were out of the room).
We really enjoyed breakfast (it stays open until 11.30 on Sunday) and it had a lot of choices of bread, jam, eggs, fruit, coffee, ...
We will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FranceDZ, General Manager at Leopold Hotel Antwerp, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We appreciate your comments regarding our rooms, location and breakfast options. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused by the airco and we would be more than happy to welcoming you again.

Kind regards,
France De Zutter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Best, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We had a 2 night stay at the Leopold Hotel. We were very satisfied with the location of this hotel. It's only 5 minutes away from the Central Station, and it faces the city park. It is also very closely located to the shopping area. The historical centre is located on approximately 10 minutes walking distance.The reception staff was friendly and efficient. The room itself is spacious and clean. The bed was very comfortable, and there is a i-pod docking station available too. The breakfast was very good with a wide variety of food.
The only very minor drawback that I can think of is that the bathroom is bit outdated with plastic cups, but that won't stop us from going back a second time. I can definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FranceDZ, General Manager at Leopold Hotel Antwerp, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your impressions. We're always delighted when a guest lets us know how much they enjoyed their stay.We appreciate you recommending us and we hope you'll visit Leopold Hotel again.

Warm and sunny regards,
France De Zutter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Had a 3 night stay and did what it says on the tin. Very close to the Central Station, it rained one day, and leaving the station, you could go 75% of the way underneath cover of the station to cut across to the hotel.

Checkin was stress free, the male receptionist was a man of few words, had to ask about breakfast etc. the hotel is located not far from many sites, shopping areas, bars and restaurants.

Breakfast was good, rooms clean and well maintained. It's great value in a decent location, not a long walk from anywhere.
Located in a quiet area and less than 5 mins from De Keyserlei.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FranceDZ, General Manager at Leopold Hotel Antwerp, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice and detailed review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,

France De Zutter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

This was a surprisingly pleasant hotel, situated right in the diamond district very near the shops, railway and bus terminus. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the (very small) downstairs bar was beautifully decorated and a nice little respite after a day of sightseeing.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FranceDZ, General Manager at Leopold Hotel Antwerp, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for providing us feedback regarding your recent stay at Leopold Hotel. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and it would be a pleasure to welcome you again in the near future.

Best regards,
France De Zutter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Nice hotel. Modern look with stylish, clean rooms. Friendly staff and easy access to town. It takes about 15 minutes to walk to the main touristy spots but acts as a good base to get to all the various places. I had a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Arthur P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FranceDZ, General Manager at Leopold Hotel Antwerp, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for the kind words. We are looking forward to see you again because obviously we love happy returning guests. What you have experienced in our hotel is exactly what we aim for.

Kind regards,

France De Zutter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
0.7 mi away
Hilton Antwerp Old Town
0.3 mi away
Lindner Hotel & City Lounge Antwerpen
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Antwerpen
0.4 mi away
Queen A Antwerp
Queen A Antwerp
#4 of 72 in Antwerp
96 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Rubens - Grote Markt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leopold Hotel Antwerp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leopold Hotel Antwerp

Property: Leopold Hotel Antwerp
Address: Quinten Matsijslei 25, Antwerp 2018, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Antwerp
#5 Romantic Hotel in Antwerp
#5 Family Hotel in Antwerp
#6 Business Hotel in Antwerp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Leopold Hotel Antwerp 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leopold Hotel Antwerp(former Carlton Hotel) has undergone a complete refurbishment and metamorphosis in 2009. Our 127 fully renovated guest rooms offer high quality Hypnos beds with a minimum size of 180 cm. The spacious rooms are decorated in hip, yet warm colour schemes, including I-Pod docking station and free Wifi. Leopold Hotel Antwerp is a contemporary 4 star hotel offering friendly and flexible service, all day food & drinks in a loungy atmosphere. The Leopold is all you may expect from a city centre boutique hotel. It's smart and sophisticated yet fun and just that little bit quirky ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Leopold Hotel Antwerp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antwerp Leopold Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing