We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good located hotel for business trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp
Ranked #8 of 71 Hotels in Antwerp
GreenLeadersSilver level
Otwock
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very good located hotel for business trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Very good hotel with nice view on Antwerp railway station, quiet and comfortable. Nice breakfast, fitness area open 24/7 but pool with sauna only till 10.00PM. Sauna without cold water pool - only two showers open for pool - no possibility to close shower by curtain. During night (above 10PM) is better to stay in hotel or return by taxi - railway station area is not quite safety by night - normal in almost every city. Very good service.

Room Tip: Please take room on back side not next to elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Qros77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Astrid, General Manager at Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
Dear Qross77,

I wanted to thank you for your very kind words regarding your recent stay at the Radisson Blu Astrid. I’m please to read that you recognized our service-level, I will off course share these comments with my team. Nice for commenting on the view from our rooms and indeed the area is one of the busiest places in town and due to the proximity of the train station a certain caution has to be taken when walking around late at night, as in every major city. Unfortunately we are not able to open the pool and sauna later than 10.00 PM due to security-reasons. I hope to welcome you back soon at the hotel.

With kind regards,

Didier Boehlen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,445 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    421
    689
    245
    58
    32
See reviews for
187
566
55
423
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

Perfect hotel for a trip to Antwerp. The rooms are great, but not exactly what you pay for if you compare to other hotels. We had the Deluxe suite and although it was spacious and nice, we had a bad view over the town. The facilities and the breakfast were perfect tough!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freek2812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Astrid, General Manager at Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
Dear Fraak2812,

Thank you for your review. Since we are located right across the Central Station, the area is indeed vivid, but this is no different than in other main train stations around the globe. Indeed the hotel bar closes at midnight during weekdays and 1 AM on weekends, but we are flexible to extend these opening hours if guests are still present in the bar. Unfortunately we are not able to offer our parking complimentary since we invest and maintain the garage on a regularly base so we can insure that we are one of the cleanest and safest ways of parking your car overnight. The price we request is the same price as the other parking’s in the neighborhood that are of less quality. I hope that we will be able to welcome you back to our hotel in the future and not stay at a 2 star-hotel in the outskirts of the city as you are considering in your review.

With kind regards,
Didier Boehlen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

Overall a average centrally-placed hotel with fairly large comfortable rooms. However there is a hint that some maintenance is required - stained carpets, chipped furniture, marked toilet bowl - to name just three. The station area where it is situated is dominated by groups of varying ethnic origins late into the evening, so care is required with your wallet or handbag. The hotel bar closes at midnight, which seems a tad too early. Our biggest gripe was being charged Eu19 to park for 18 hours. There is no mention on the website about the level of the parking charge and the staff were very vague on this subject during check-in. They also slapped us for Eu2 each as a City Tax. Surely they know their own location when taking the booking? Would not stay here again - would probably use an Etap or Ibis on the outskirts and use the car parking charge for taxi fares into the city.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brownie19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Astrid, General Manager at Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp, responded to this review, 9 August 2012
Dear Brownie19,

Thank you for your review. Since we are located right across the Central Station, the area is indeed vivid, but this is no different than in other main train stations around the globe. Indeed the hotel bar closes at midnight during weekdays and 1 AM on weekends, but we are flexible to extend these opening hours if guests are still present in the bar. Unfortunately we are not able to offer our parking complimentary since we invest and maintain the garage on a regularly base so we can insure that we are one of the cleanest and safest ways of parking your car overnight. The price we request is the same price as the other parking’s in the neighborhood that are of less quality. I hope that we will be able to welcome you back to our hotel in the future and not stay at a 2 star-hotel in the outskirts of the city as you are considering in your review.

With kind regards,

Didier Boehlen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smithtown, New York
Level Contributor
78 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

Agree with a previous reviewer, who called this hotel "tricky" to rate. On one hand this is a very solid business hotel. Very good service, clean and comfortable accommodations, friendly and courteous staff. Really no major faults.
The location however, is not my favorite part of Antwerp. Lots of sketchy people walking around, very congested, busy, and not convenient if driving in/out of the city on a daily basis (as I have to do for work). There are some decent restaurants within a short walk, and the south end of the big shopping plaza is also nearby. I suppose that it is convenient if you are coming into Antwerp or leaving via train. But does not feel nearly as safe or welcoming as the Groenplats area.
Bottom line is that this hotel is not my first choice for staying in Antwerp, but you could do much worse.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L0ngIsland_familyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Astrid, General Manager at Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Dear L0ngisland_familyguy,

Thank you for your review, and noticing our excellent service. It’s not only nice for me, as well for the team, to read our guests really appreciate our work! Since we are located right across the Central Station, the area is indeed vivid, but this is no different than in other main train stations around the globe. A real base of operations for all kind of activities, shopping, restaurants,…Not to mention the great transportation network just in front of the hotel. I hope we can welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,

Didier Boehlen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

I have to travel to Antwerp for business fairly regularly, and my hotel of choice is this one. While there are definitely nicer hotels there, like the Hilton, the convenience of the location wins out for me. It's ideal for coming in from Brussels by Train as it's just across from the train station...which means about 5 minutes between stepping off the train and checking into my room. The restaurant serves a very nice breakfast buffet (which I never actually get time to enjoy, but the staff are very accommodating and I usually grab a coffee and a few pastries to go) and really makes an effort with dinners - although it's much what you would expect from a hotel.
The area is close to the major shopping streets of the city and to some touristy restaurants in a range of budgets.
The staff are pretty friendly and polite and more than happy to assist with dining arrangements, transportation and site seeing tips.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Astrid, General Manager at Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Dear Laura Q,

I’m very pleased to read that we became your hotel of choice. I will definitely share your positive comments with our staff, since it’s very important to them and off course to me, that our guests experience the ‘Yes I Can’ spirit. Did you know that from now on you can take the Brussels Airport Express, which takes u about 34 minutes from the airport to the station. I hope when your travels bring you back to Antwerp, you will once again stay with us at the Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel.

With kind regards,

Didier Boehlen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nacka, Sweden
Level Contributor
164 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

This is tricky. A Good standard hotel with great breakfast smack in the middle of town just by Chinatown. This means good food, massage treatments and interesting shops. Unfortunately its also just by the main train station which means lot of suspect people in the area (read crackheads). If you're young this is probably fine. If you're older this is probably not your best choice in Antwerpen.

Internet connection is free, fast and ok to set up. The garage (if you come by car) is scarily narrow and crowded and still €19 per day.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arneby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp, responded to this review, 3 July 2012
Dear Arneby,

The Radisson Blu Astrid is located right across the Central Station of Antwerp, which can attract all kind of people, but this is no different than in other main trainstations around the globe. Thank you for noticing our great breakfast-buffet; it the best in town! I look forward to welcoming you back soon!

With kind regards,

Didier Boehlen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

Stayed one night on a business trip. Expensive but maybe cheaper deals are available For over £250 a night i really dont expect to be charged additionally for the carpark - it should be free at that price!!. Room was nice with good view of the square but smelt of smoke

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riffman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Astrid, General Manager at Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Dear Riffman1,

Thank you for your comment but the price of £250 was during very high demand in Antwerp and probably one of our last rooms available. Unfortunately we are not able to offer our parking complimentary since we invest and maintain the garage on a regularly base so we can insure that we are one of the cleanest and safest ways of parking your car overnight. The price we request is the same price as the other parking’s in the neighborhood that are of less quality. If you are to visit our destination in the near future, I would highly recommend making use of the train, since we are located right across the central station in Antwerp. I look forward to welcome you back soon!

Kind Regards,
Didier Boehlen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
0.8 mi away
Hilton Antwerp Old Town
0.0 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Antwerpen
0.4 mi away
Lindner Hotel & City Lounge Antwerpen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
#3 of 71 in Antwerp
4.0 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Julien
Hotel Julien
#7 of 71 in Antwerp
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
0.0 mi away
Queen A Antwerp
Queen A Antwerp
#9 of 71 in Antwerp
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp

Property: Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp
Address: Koningin Astridplein 7, Antwerp 2018, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Antwerp
#3 Family Hotel in Antwerp
#6 Romantic Hotel in Antwerp
#6 Luxury Hotel in Antwerp
#7 Business Hotel in Antwerp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp 4*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, located right across Antwerp's Central Station (direct Thalys trains Paris - Amsterdam), offers 247 rooms and 18 meeting rooms. Broadband WiFi (100 Mb) free of charge in the hotel. Underground parking available. A Direct train will take you from Brussels Airport to Antwerp Central Station in 34 minutes. The city offers a mixture of magnificent architecture,fashionable shops, pubs and clubs, dazzling monuments and restaurants with superb Belgian and multicultural food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rezidor, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp Hotel Antwerp
Park Plaza Antwerp

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing