We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very well done indeed. Lovely all round!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Antwerp Old Town
Ranked #2 of 71 Hotels in Antwerp
Certificate of Excellence
London, England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very well done indeed. Lovely all round!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2011

We stayed here with two other couples and had a wonderful time.
The hotel has a convenient underground car park, with an entrance straight into the hotel lobby. The Tomtom took us straight to the Groenplaats entrance without a hitch. Look it up on Google Streetview first, so you get an idea of what to look out for.
It was raining really heavily on one of the days, but it was possible to get from the hotel to the diamond district (via the metro to Central Station) from the car park, without even getting wet! Luckily, at the other end the sun had come out again. Just in time to buy a lovely wedding ring from 'Geussens' jewellers, run by a very nice Belgium couple. Much better quality and a lot more trustworthy than the shops around the station. Sorry guys, but the amount of money you were knocking off every time we stepped towards the door was making me suspicious of what the real value was.

Anyway, back to the hotel.
We had room 468 which (for a business room) was pretty much the norm for a deluxe double. Very spacious and nicely decorated. A pleasant surprise to have tea & coffee facilities as well. Everything that we needed was in the room, including complimentary mineral water. The bed was a 'king', but was about a foot wider than our own kingsize at home and was so comfortable, it was far too easy to oversleep!

We didn't really explore much of the hotel, apart from the bar and restaurant, of which both were very pleasant and staff made us feel right at home.

The staff at breakfast each day were very polite (Dutch guy, Rory) and the selection of food was to die for. I could have had everything on offer, but I'd have also gained several pounds if I had!

All in all, the hotel is in a lovely location, probably the best place to be and if I was to return, I would definitely stay here again.

My only slight niggle was that I did ask (well in advance) for a room overlooking the main square, but was given one looking into an office instead. Then again, we weren't in the room enough to worry about it at the end of the day, so can't really complain.

Looking around the area and reading other valued Trip Advisor reviewers comments, I wouldn't stay anywhere else. Loved it!


  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank On-two-wheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Hilton-Antwerp, General Manager at Hilton Antwerp Old Town, responded to this review, 21 December 2011
Dear On-Two-Wheels,

Just a quick note to say a big thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Hilton Antwerp with fellow travellers here on Trip Advisor. We were all very happy to read your positive comments, and are very grateful to you for them. I have shared these with the entire team. We really appreciate the details you have shared, especially as you shared this experience with two other couples, who I hope likewise had an enjoyable time. It is heartening to know, that my team provided you with the kind of service that made you feel at home. Afterall, that is our goal!

We all do hope that when your travels bring you back to Antwerp, we will have the pleasure to welcoming you back again.

Thank you, and we wish you safe and enjoyable future travels! Happy Holidays !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,993 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    807
    785
    275
    85
    41
See reviews for
317
769
99
522
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2011

I just spent 4 nights at the Antwerp Hilton, its location is second to none, everything is within walking distance and public transportation is easy to access.
The rooms per European standards are large, very clean, and comfortable. I did feel that housekeeping could have done a better job with daily upkeep of the room. One example; I ran out of tissues one night, the following day the box was still empty, to ensure that it would be filled the next day, I removed the empty box from its decorative container and left upside down on the counter, this worked, after 2 days, tissue renewal.
The breakfast staff did everything possible to avoid eye contact with guests in an effort to avoid having to serve coffee or just check on their patrons. The very average breakfast buffet which offered scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon etc. (no omelet service or special requests) which cost 25 Euro daily did require that the rather large wait staff did have to bring coffee or tea to the tables; you would literally have to yell to a staff member to get their attention. A colleague of mine requested a glass of water, the waiter who was not busy at all pointed across the room to where a water pitcher sat and informed my colleague who was paying 25 Euro for this below par meal that he could go over there and get it for himself.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelsAllotChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Hilton-Antwerp, General Manager at Hilton Antwerp Old Town, responded to this review, 14 December 2011
Dear TravelsAllotChicago,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience in our hotel with fellow travellers here on trip Advisor. Whilst you indicate our location is top notch and that our rooms are large, comfortable and very clean, you still scored cleanliness as a 3 which seems contradictory. Further, there is no excuse for the employee at breakfast to not have served you or your colleague water, but to call all the staff mediocre due to one employee encounter seems unfair. As so many of the reviews here have highlighted the friendliness of our team, I was quite surprised by your comment. For sure your comment has been shared with the Head of Department in charge to ensure corrective action is taken.

On the issue of our breakfast buffet, the price is very much in line with comparable locations, and numerous special orders can be made as indicated by the card on each and every table. Eggs made to order, omelettes, special dietary requirements, speciality coffees, all can be ordered and are included in the cost of our all-you-can-eat buffet. The buffet has in addition to the tradional breakfast items you mentioned a number of local specialities, a wide range of fresh breads, cereals, porridge, cold cuts, fresh fish, smoked fish including salmon, freshly cut fruit, various fruit salads, fresh juices, various bottled waters, etc. Far from what I would call below par, but perception is what counts, and we strive to ensure every guest sees the value for price paid, so again, your comments will be shared with our Executive Chef to see what more can be done!

Thank you again for sharing your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
72 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

A really valuable 2-nights' stay by redeeming our HHonors account.

A grand, historic building in Antwerp city centre: very very good location, within walking distance to anywhere we chose to go, Central Station included.

Huge room, comfortable bed, nothing special and nothing new in terms of decoration/refurbishment, but fully functional.

Well run, helpful staff (thank you Nathalie from the front desk!), pleasantly busy hotel, without being noisy.

Free access to an adjoining private gym.

Don't bother paying for the breakfast buffet: 25 Euros per person is really expensive and the neighbourhood offers all kinds of nice breakfast options.

My last comment is fully negative: everybody, please, be aware that in 2011 - almost 2012 - a Hilton located in the heart of an important European city, doesn't offer free WI-FI to hotel guests. Not only is the connection not complimentary, but it's unbelievably expensive...why?!?

Room Tip: 3rd floor was fine for us
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VFitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Hilton-Antwerp, General Manager at Hilton Antwerp Old Town, responded to this review, 14 December 2011
Dear VFItaly,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Hilton Antwerp with fellow travellers here on Trip Advisor. It was great to read how much you enjoyed your stay, and that our unbeatable location and great staff helped to make your stay in Antwerp a pleasant one. I would liek to address, however, two points you made. Our breakfast buffet is by far the most extensive all-you-can-eat breakfast buffet in Antwerp, and very good value when compared to any comparable location. Internet access is charged in the vast majority of hotels worldwide, and our three different price ranges offer great value for money, and enable the guest to decide which level is needed for their own personal requirements. Taking into account the comments from many of our guests, Hilton has made Internet access complimentary for our Hilton Honors Gold and Diamond level guests.

Thank you again for sharing your comments, and we do hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

My wife and I decided to sleep over in Antwerp after a dinner party. Tripadvisor led us very quickly and conveniently to the Hilton. I called for a one night reservation and got a free room upgrade to executive. On arrival the clerk was very friendly, the hotel lounge is beautiful. Our room (nr 412) was very spacious with a living and a bedroom with a flatscreen tv in both. The bathroom had a shower and a bath. When we went to bed we could hear the tv from our neighbours playing very loudly. When I called the staff they responded quickly, it turned out the people next had left without turning their tv off. The walls off the rooms are very thin, not what we expected from a hotel like this. The bed too was a bit on the small side (I'm 1.9m). Since we didn't plan to stay the night over in a hotel, we didn't bring any toothbrushes nor fluid for our contacts, but the very friendly staff provided us both.

The breakfast in the morning was ok, again very friendly waiters.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kalehennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Hilton-Antwerp, General Manager at Hilton Antwerp Old Town, responded to this review, 14 December 2011
Dear kalehennie,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with fellow travellers here on Trip Advisor. I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially with the complimentary upgrade to a Junior Suite. I have shared your positive comments regarding our team with them as it is always greatly appreciated. I can assure you, especially as we are a rather historic building, the thickness of the walls is more than adequate. Unfortunately, the guests adjacent to you had their TV on far too loud, and this disturbed you. I am glad to read that our team reacted immediately to your comment regarding this noise, and resolved the problem.
I am a bit surprised by your comment regarding the size of the king size bed as it is a typical American King Size which is in fact larger than the norm in Europe. But as you say, you are quite tall.

Thank you again, and we do hope to be able to welcome you back to the Hilton Antwerp again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
152 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2011

Location brings you within minutes walk of numerous restaurants and shopping. Convenient parking in the public garage next to the hotel.3
Good quality room on the executive floor which has a very good lounge for drinks and breakfast or meetings. Bathroom v.good end excellent beds.

Room Tip: rooms facing on the inside are quiet while rooms facing street have nicer view but also some traffi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dutch1505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Hilton-Antwerp, General Manager at Hilton Antwerp Old Town, responded to this review, 5 December 2011
Dear Dutch1505,

Just a note to say thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments and experience of your recent stay with us at the Hilton Antwerp on Trip Advisor. It was great to read how much you enjoyed your stay. Your room tips are also very well appreciated, and will no doubt be by fellow users of Trip Advisor as well. My team and I look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to our great city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

This Hilton is in the best location in Antwerp, right on the Groenplaats, walking distance from the shops, from the station and even from the renovated port. It is very big, but warm and comfortable. The food was outstanding, the breakfast lavish, the (conference) meals delicious. The bedroom and bathroom were spacious, and there was a kettle and coffee. The rooms can be a long hike from the lift, but it is a very big building. Wished the TV had BBC 24 hour news, but apart from that, an excellent choice for a holiday or conference in Antwerp.

Room Tip: Get one near the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyReadingOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Hilton-Antwerp, General Manager at Hilton Antwerp Old Town, responded to this review, 29 November 2011
Dear LadyReadingOxford ,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience in our hotel with fellow travellers through Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure to read your comments, and we are all very pleased that we have been able to ensure you had a fabulous stay during your recent conference. We are very proud of our hotel, our unbeatable location, and the quality of our rooms and public spaces, and therefore very happy when a traveller such as your self shares such outstanding comments. We do normally have BBC 1, 2, and 24 Hours, but due to a supplier licensing issue the signal was lost. This will be re-instated as soon as possible.

Again, our sincere thanks for your very kind words, and we all hope to welcome you back to the Hilton Antwerp in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2011

This is a great hotel in a great location. We took the underground tram from the train station - 2 stops - and there was the hotel. Right on the Groenplaats. The hotel is centrally located next to the Kathedraal, All of the major sights are within a few blocks. The major shopping streets are nearby and there are many, many restaurants and cafes nearby. This location is the heart of Antwerp. The hotel is very nice - we had a huge room on the Executive Floor with Breakfast and a light evening meal. Service was great starting with Chantal at Reception who gave us a map and a briefing on where everything was located around the hotel.

My only complaint was having to breach the crowd of smokers blocking the hotel entrance every night. We also had a little difficulty getting a taxi for an early Sunday morning departure to the train station -- arrange for the taxi the night before.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flydogz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Hilton-Antwerp, General Manager at Hilton Antwerp Old Town, responded to this review, 28 November 2011
Dear Flydogz,

Just a quick note to say a big thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Hilton Antwerp with fellow travellers here on Trip Advisor. We were all very happy to read your positive comments, and are very grateful to you for them. I have shared these with the team, in particular with Chantal, and we again thank you for taking the time to share these. We all do hope that when your travels bring you back to Antwerp, we will have the pleasure to welcoming you back again.

Thank you, and we wish you safe and enjoyable future travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp
1.0 mi away
Lindner Hotel & City Lounge Antwerpen
0.7 mi away
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
#3 of 71 in Antwerp
4.0 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Julien
Hotel Julien
#8 of 71 in Antwerp
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
0.8 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Antwerpen
0.3 mi away
SLH De Witte Lelie Antwerp
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Antwerp Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Antwerp Old Town

Property: Hilton Antwerp Old Town
Address: Groenplaats 32, Antwerp 2000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Antwerp
#2 Business Hotel in Antwerp
#2 Family Hotel in Antwerp
#4 Romantic Hotel in Antwerp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Antwerp Old Town 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded the 2012 Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence, the Hilton Antwerp Old Town is an elegant hotel housed in an historic building of architectural importance, in the most central, prime location of any hotel in Antwerp, right on the Groenplaats Square. This luxurious hotel is within walking distance of the finest shopping the city has to offer, the best museums are a brief walk away including the fantastic new MAS, nightlife and fine dining all within 5 minutes walk of the hotel. Hotel facilities include the largest guest rooms in Antwerp with marbled bathrooms (with separate stall showers), Flat Screen TV's, minibar, coffee/tea making facilities, wifi throughout (at a fee), and for those needing that added bit of luxury, the Hilton Antwerp Old Town has the only true Executive Floor concept in Antwerp, with a classically elegant lounge and an exclusive outdoor terrace. For families, the hotel offers family rooms and family suites for up to 4 Guests. The new restaurant of the hotel "Brasserie Flo Antwerp", opened since July 2014, brings you the delights of a world-class brasserie on the Groenplaats. It is opened all day long from breakfast to dinner. This new Brasserie, combining stylish decor with inspired food and skillful, dedicated service, offers authentic French-Belgian cuisine using nothing but the freshest and finest products. The seafood counter brings the variety of this fabulous food from an abundant plateau fruits de mer to lobster dishes. Pass by the Bar and be surprised tasting some local beers or home-made cocktails. For meetings and galas, the Hilton Antwerp Old Town houses the elegant Belle Epoque Ballroom, the largest hotel ballroom in Belgium along with 11 other flexible and functional meeting rooms. Additionally, the hotel offers a 24 hour rooms service and renovated Lobby Lounge to take a coffee or savor the signature Royal Sinjoor High-Tea. There is a public Parking Garage on Groenplaats with direct lift access to the hotel lobby (via -1st floor of the parking). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Antwerp Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Antwerp
Antwerp Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing