We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good location.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Antwerp Old Town
Ranked #2 of 72 Hotels in Antwerp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 October 2012

Great location. Behind the rather lovely facade, and upstairs from the elegant foyer, lies a bog-standard Hilton, with the inner facing rooms (nice and quiet, and, thank goodness, you can actually open a window!) looking out on a rather charmless gravel covered area, which could do with a few plants. Room was fine, bed very comfortable and nice sheets. They charge for Wi-Fi at 15 euros a day, (yes, there are a couple of other options) but many hotels have finally realised that this is an outmoded practice - having Wi-Fi is essential, one day it will be offered free everywhere, and it's time hotels realised this and got on with it. Frankly, I'd rather pay for the TV, especially here where BBC reception is pretty poor (although this presumably is not their fault). All-in-all a good place to stay in Antwerp, and recommended. It's just not really 'special' that's all, and I wanted to post this review before I forgot all about it.

Room Tip: Inner courtyard room if you want peace and quiet
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jobetim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertKrygsman, General Manager at Hilton Antwerp Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2012

Dear jobetim,

I just wanted to say thank you for taking the time to review our hotel here on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure to read about your stay. I would like to mention that we have just invested heavily in our hotel to improve the qulaity of our WiFi, and in fact, have reduced the price for all guests. Further, our Hilton Honors Gold and Diamond guests have complimentary WiFi throughout their stay.

We greatly appreciate when our satisfied guests share their experiences here with fellow travellers.

Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,167)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Antwerp Old Town
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,028 - 1,034 of 2,167 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2012

I really like the location. Walking distance to shop, eat and wandering around Antwerp city centre. The room (suite) was spacious and well equiped. Maybe because it was the suite room. Service was excelent during my stay. As it was my first time visiting Antwerp, this hotel's location really satisfy me.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertKrygsman, General Manager at Hilton Antwerp Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2012

Dear Ed S,

I just wanted to say a big thank you for taking the time to review our hotel here on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us, the suite, and of course our unbeatable location.

We greatly appreciate when our satisfied guests share their experiences here with fellow travellers.

Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Good location hotel in the ciity center. Parking available below which is helpful. Staff friendly and general service good. Got upgraded to suite, which was massive and unfortunately as was only staying one night for business was not possible to fully enjoy. Eat in the resturant for convience and was nice. Breakfast was taken in the business lounge and was pretty normal, nothing special. That sums up the hotel, nice, clean and good service but a business hotel and nothing special!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waggers999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertKrygsman, General Manager at Hilton Antwerp Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2012

Dear Waggers999,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your positive review of our hotel here on Trip Advisor. We greatly appreciate our guests sharing their experiences with other travellers.

We all hope to be able to welcome you back to our hotel in the not too distant future.

Many thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

You can't get a better location than the Hilton right on the square. Easy walk to the old city, water, and to all of the restauants whether for tourists or locals. The facility was in very good shape and the service very nice.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
Thank JTM125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertKrygsman, General Manager at Hilton Antwerp Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2012

Dear JTM125,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your very positive review of our hotel here on Trip Advisor. We greatly appreciate our guests sharing their experiences with other travellers.

We all hope to be able to welcome you back to our hotel in the not too distant future.

Many thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

We were very happy with the hotel, which we stayed in for seven nights, using day trips by train to explore Belgium and southern Netherlands. The room was very large for Europe and we chose a courtyard-facing room for less outside noise. The staff was very helpful and the location is right by the metro station to travel to the railroad station.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertKrygsman, General Manager at Hilton Antwerp Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2012

Dear Peter L,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your very positive review of our hotel here on Trip Advisor. We greatly appreciate our guests sharing their experiences with other travellers.

We all hope to be able to welcome you back to our hotel in the not too distant future.

Many thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Yes, it is very good hotel but also with prices usually so high that it does not represent value for money.
Hotel interiors and rooms are somewhat older but clean and in working order.
Hotel has excellent location right in the city centre but still manage to keep you away from the hustle and bustle of the tourist crowd.
Breakfast - very good standard for such a hotel. Parking - if you are by car, go to the hotel web site and check the advice how and where to park.
The entrance to the parking is not in the street where the hotel is but you have to enter it from the main square. However you can enter the hotel directly from the (public) parking.
Executive lounge - also very good, the only downside was that while they had a couple of umbrellas directly in the Exe lounge, all of these 3-4 umbrellas were damaged and really unusable - bad joke.
Why am I talking about umbrellas? I have visited Antwerp maybe 20 times and I am afraid that I do not remember a day when I did not get a rain shower!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jardaok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertKrygsman, General Manager at Hilton Antwerp Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2012

Dear Jardaok,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your very positive review of our hotel here on Trip Advisor. We greatly appreciate our guests sharing their experiences.

In future, please ask for an umbrella at the main reception desk prior to exiting the hotel as we always have plenty of fully functioning umbrellas there. Often, the ones held at the Executive Lounge have been returned by guests before they go to their rooms after a day out, and will be brought downstairs later, those no longer working will be thrown away.

Many thanks again, and as a regular visitor to Antwerp, we do hope to be able to welcome you back to our hotel again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Its been a while since staying at a Hilton but my view of Hilton hotels was reaffirmed, they seem to excel in functional blandness. You cant really fault the hotel apart from the charging for wifi even on the executive floor! The staff are very pleasant with the exception of the girl on the front desk who addressed us by staring at her computer and could not break a smile at any point. We took an exec floor room and the lounge was definitely a good option in a hotel that offered little appeal in the other common areas. The location in the dead centre of Antwerpen is a definite plus.

Room Tip: Rooms with views seem limited, the executive floor is worth considering.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IncaWalnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertKrygsman, General Manager at Hilton Antwerp Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2012

Dear IncaWalnut,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review here on Trip Advisor. We greatly appreciate your sharing your experience of our hotel with fellow travellers, and we all look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again in the near future.

Thanks again,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
1.0 mi away
Lindner Hotel & City Lounge Antwerpen
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp
0.8 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Antwerpen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
#6 of 72 in Antwerp
820 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rubens - Grote Markt
0.8 mi away
Queen A Antwerp
Queen A Antwerp
#4 of 72 in Antwerp
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Antwerp Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Antwerp Old Town

Address: Groenplaats 32, Antwerp 2000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Antwerp
#2 Luxury Hotel in Antwerp
#2 Business Hotel in Antwerp
#4 Romantic Hotel in Antwerp
Price Range: £123 - £289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Antwerp Old Town 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded the 2012 Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence, the Hilton Antwerp Old Town is an elegant hotel housed in an historic building of architectural importance, in the most central, prime location of any hotel in Antwerp, right on the Groenplaats Square. This luxurious hotel is within walking distance of the finest shopping the city has to offer, the best museums are a brief walk away including the fantastic new MAS, nightlife and fine dining all within 5 minutes walk of the hotel. Hotel facilities include the largest guest rooms in Antwerp with marbled bathrooms (with separate stall showers), Flat Screen TV's, minibar, coffee/tea making facilities, wifi throughout (at a fee), and for those needing that added bit of luxury, the Hilton Antwerp Old Town has the only true Executive Floor concept in Antwerp, with a classically elegant lounge and an exclusive outdoor terrace. For families, the hotel offers family rooms and family suites for up to 4 Guests. The new restaurant of the hotel "Brasserie Flo Antwerp", opened since July 2014, brings you the delights of a world-class brasserie on the Groenplaats. It is opened all day long from breakfast to dinner. This new Brasserie, combining stylish decor with inspired food and skillful, dedicated service, offers authentic French-Belgian cuisine using nothing but the freshest and finest products. The seafood counter brings the variety of this fabulous food from an abundant plateau fruits de mer to lobster dishes. Pass by the Bar and be surprised tasting some local beers or home-made cocktails. For meetings and galas, the Hilton Antwerp Old Town houses the elegant Belle Epoque Ballroom, the largest hotel ballroom in Belgium along with 11 other flexible and functional meeting rooms. Additionally, the hotel offers a 24 hour rooms service and renovated Lobby Lounge to take a coffee or savor the signature Royal Sinjoor High-Tea. There is a public Parking Garage on Groenplaats with direct lift access to the hotel lobby (via -1st floor of the parking). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Antwerp Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Antwerp
Antwerp Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing