We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room, great food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Antwerp Old Town
Ranked #3 of 73 Hotels in Antwerp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Location of hotel was excellent (directly on Groenplaats).
Large comfortable & quiet room on the 4th floor.
The staff I encountered spoke excellent English, were polite & helpful (advised me where I could watch Arsenal v Man Utd. game not on TV in hotel).
After not finding a restaurant to my liking, decided to give Hilton's a go... Was given fleshly hand sliced brown & white bread with butter whilst choosing & waiting for my meal. Selected spaghetti bolognaise (local twist) & a Leffe Grande Cru beer followed by a Mango trifle for dessert.
Bowl was deceiving big, spaghetti cooked perfectly with a spiced meaty bolognaise sauce atop.
Beer was cold & accompanied by the correct glass (important in Belgium), but left to pour my own drink..?
Dessert (mango trifle) was in a large wine glass with nice garnish. All in all, a nice meal.

Was offered (and accepted) late checkout of 2pm. Went shopping around the city until 1:30, when I went to go back to room found that keycard didn't work (needed for lift as well as room)..? Apparently when organising late checkout, hotel didn't extend the access to card, so needed to talk to front desk to get back in (small annoyance).

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Psych4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
serge_de_wandelaer, General Manager at Hilton Antwerp Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2013

Dear Psych4,
Thank you for posting your comments and we were delighted to read that you enjoyed our facilities and ervices. Your comment has been noted and we will make sure all team members at the front desk will be informed as to further excel with our services. We look forward to greet you again in the future and which you safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

972 - 978 of 2,210 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2013

I have stayed here on a number of occasions and am planning a return trip tomorrow. I hope it lives up to my expectations. The location is excellent and the Executive rooms with use of the executive lounge is very nice also.....

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maura-Irish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
serge_de_wandelaer, General Manager at Hilton Antwerp Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2013

Dear Irish 1965,
We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay as well as our services and appreciate your feedback very much. We thank you for your patronage and look forward to greet you soon again at the Hilton Antwerp. Safe travels and till soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Great location, large double room and bathroom with separate bath/shower. As a HH Diamond member, I was upgraded to the executive floor. Very nice but a little old-fationed executive lounge. The only downside was the average quality of the wine offering in the lounge. Fantastic view from the roof terrace. A must for every trip to Antwerp!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Olivier D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
serge_de_wandelaer, General Manager at Hilton Antwerp Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2013

Dear OlivierD,
Thank you very much for staying with us of late and we were pleased to read that you both enjoyed our property aswell as our services. Your feedback has been noted and we are in the process of planning a refurbishment in the lobby level public areas, restaurant and bar with a maintenance plan throughout the bedrooms. We look forward to welcome to our even better facilities soon, safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

The Hilton Antwerp Hotel is in a fabulous location in Antwerp. The hotel is beginning to show its age but the rooms are spacious and typical Hilton design. The staff at the front desk were friendly as were the bar staff.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenn_in_Belgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
serge_de_wandelaer, General Manager at Hilton Antwerp Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2013

Hi Jenn_de_Belgium,
Thank you for posting your experience and we were pleased to hear that overall you enjoyed the hotel, the staff and its services. We may share with you too that we are working on a refurbishment plan for our main lobby area, the restaurant and bar as well as ground floor public areas. We look forward to great you again and safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

This large conveniently situated hotel is very welcoming. The staff we encountered spoke excellent English and were always polite, helpful and pleasant. Our hotel room was large and very comfortable with good amenities. Breakfast in the terrace restaurant was very enjoyable with lots of choice and it was nice to be able to have a relaxing meal and watch the square outside coming to life. The hotel was well placed to enjoy all the wonderful sights of Antwerp being very close to the interesting old quarter with its lovely old buildings, bars and restaurants, and only about 20 minutes walk from the station at the top of the main shopping street. I would certainly consider staying here again in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hope48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
serge_de_wandelaer, General Manager at Hilton Antwerp Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2013

Hi Hope48,
Thank you for posting your comments and we were delighted to read that you enjoyed very much the hotel's facilities, it's services and our team members as well as the surroundings. Rest assured that your feedback will be shared with all echelons of the team and will provide them great satisfaction that will boost them to even perform better. We look forward to host you soon again and wish you safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Last year, on a river cruise through Belgium and Holland, we we landed on the only really hot day last August in Antwerp. After walking through the city and admiring the sights we landed on the Groenplaats and decided to have coffee at a restaurant with a beautiful terrace. This belonged to the Hilton Hotel. I decided if I ever returned to Antwerp..here I should like to stay. On 6th April we travelled by high-speed train to Antwerp (just alighting at the beautiful railway-station here is an experience)met friends fora birthday celebration and stayed overnight at the Hilton. We were not disappointed. The terrace of their lovely restaurant is 'glassed in' during the winter months. It was wonderful to enjoy the excellent breakfast buffet and just watch passers-by on the elegant square in front of us, after spending a restful and comfortable night at this hotel. In addition this hotel is most central and it is very easy to reach beautiful shops and the major sights on foot.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Polly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
serge_de_wandelaer, General Manager at Hilton Antwerp Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2013

Dear Polly S,
We were delighted to read your posting and thank you very much for providing this feedback about our facilities, the services, surroundings and the infrastructure of our City. We will convey your message to all concerned and we look forward to see you again soon at the Antwerp Hilton. We wish you safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

We stayed recently for a 50th birthday treat and had the most amazing service. It was good to get an email a few days before our stay, giving details and directions to the hotel (friendly and helpful) and I suspect we were upgraded as the room was exceptional, huge, quiet, and with everything you could need. The 50th birthday joy didn't end there - when we came back from our evening they had delivered a bottle of sparking wine and little treats from the kitchen! Maybe a small thing for the Hilton Antwerp in the scheme of things, but it was lovely to feel that somebody in a usually faceless hotel chain was paying attention and thinking of us! Special thanks to Jill on reception too.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank W6travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
serge_de_wandelaer, General Manager at Hilton Antwerp Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2013

Dear W6travellers,
Once again congratulations for the 50th birthday. What a pleasure it was to read that we managed to contribute to this great happening and you enjoyed very much the facilities and the personal services by our team members. Rest assured that we will share all your comments with our team members and in particular to Jill. Thank you again for posting your feedback and we look forward to be able again in the near future to welcome you at the Hilton Antwerp.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp
1.0 mi away
Lindner Hotel & City Lounge Antwerpen
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rubens - Grote Markt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Antwerpen
0.8 mi away
Queen A Antwerp
Queen A Antwerp
#2 of 73 in Antwerp
148 reviews
0.7 mi away
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
#7 of 73 in Antwerp
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Antwerp Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Antwerp Old Town

Address: Groenplaats 32, Antwerp 2000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Antwerp
#2 Luxury Hotel in Antwerp
#2 Family Hotel in Antwerp
#4 Romantic Hotel in Antwerp
Price Range: £119 - £278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Antwerp Old Town 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded the 2012 Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence, the Hilton Antwerp Old Town is an elegant hotel housed in an historic building of architectural importance, in the most central, prime location of any hotel in Antwerp, right on the Groenplaats Square. This luxurious hotel is within walking distance of the finest shopping the city has to offer, the best museums are a brief walk away including the fantastic new MAS, nightlife and fine dining all within 5 minutes walk of the hotel. Hotel facilities include the largest guest rooms in Antwerp with marbled bathrooms (with separate stall showers), Flat Screen TV's, minibar, coffee/tea making facilities, wifi throughout (at a fee), and for those needing that added bit of luxury, the Hilton Antwerp Old Town has the only true Executive Floor concept in Antwerp, with a classically elegant lounge and an exclusive outdoor terrace. For families, the hotel offers family rooms and family suites for up to 4 Guests. The new restaurant of the hotel "Brasserie Flo Antwerp", opened since July 2014, brings you the delights of a world-class brasserie on the Groenplaats. It is opened all day long from breakfast to dinner. This new Brasserie, combining stylish decor with inspired food and skillful, dedicated service, offers authentic French-Belgian cuisine using nothing but the freshest and finest products. The seafood counter brings the variety of this fabulous food from an abundant plateau fruits de mer to lobster dishes. Pass by the Bar and be surprised tasting some local beers or home-made cocktails. For meetings and galas, the Hilton Antwerp Old Town houses the elegant Belle Epoque Ballroom, the largest hotel ballroom in Belgium along with 11 other flexible and functional meeting rooms. Additionally, the hotel offers a 24 hour rooms service and renovated Lobby Lounge to take a coffee or savor the signature Royal Sinjoor High-Tea. There is a public Parking Garage on Groenplaats with direct lift access to the hotel lobby (via -1st floor of the parking). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Antwerp Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Antwerp
Antwerp Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing