We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a pleasure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Antwerp Old Town
Ranked #2 of 73 Hotels in Antwerp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 December 2013

I have stayed at the Hilton Hotel in Antwerp on many occassions and this Hotel is always a pleasure to stay at. The hotel is ideally placed in the centre of the city and is nested in walking distance of most attractions and restaurants. I stayed this time on the excutive floor which offers its own breakfast lounge and comfortable rooms some of which have very nice views.
Check in/check out is quick and the staff are always pleasent.
The hotel bar and restaurant offers great service and nice atmosphere where both guests and locals meet for afternoon drinks.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
serge_de_wandelaer, General Manager at Hilton Antwerp Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2013

Hi Stephen L,
It was a pleasure to read that you were very satisfied with your stay and thank you for posting your feedback as guest reconition is a great motivator to the team. We look forward to welcome you soon back again to our property.
Serge De Wandelaer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,270)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

899 - 905 of 2,270 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2013

My wife and I (both HHonors Diamond) stayed here for three nights - check-in 14 October, check-out 17 October.

This was our first ever visit to Antwerp; what a delightful city - the quality of high end shops wouldn't be out of place in London. However the main purpose of our visit was to buy some diamonds and sample some of the fine restaurants (on both counts the visit could be considered a success).

Contributing to this success was the very pleasant Hilton Antwerp - within walking distance of everything. However the most memorable (and, looking back on it, most amusing) part of our hotel stay occurred right after our arrival.

Upon check-in we were allocated a room on the 5th floor (the Executive Lounge floor). Entering the elevator at ground floor level we pressed '5' and the elevator started to move. After a few seconds the elevator came to a stop and we heard a loud noise - our immediate reaction was "oh no, we're stuck in the elevator mid-floor". As one normally does we stared at the sliding doors we had entered the elevator by waiting for the doors to open, to no avail. At the very last second we turned around and realised that the doors to the elevator open on the opposite side to those used to access the elevator at ground floor level. Too late - we went all the way back down to ground floor level! My wife and I felt like a complete pair of idiots.

Hopefully this tale will help others from being made to look similarly foolish.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A_Brit_Overseas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
serge_de_wandelaer, General Manager at Hilton Antwerp Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2013

Hi A_Brit_Overseas,
Thank you for posting your experience and we were pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay very much. Great guest recognition drives our team's motivation further is the pursuit of exceeding guest expectation. Indeed the elevator scenario is an interesting one but rest assured that you were not the first and will not be the last.
We look forward to welcome you again at our property and wish you festive greetings.
Serge De Wandelaer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Great location in the middle of the city. Easy walk to shops, restaurants, sights. Walked to one museum. Was very satisfied with breakfast which was included with room pkg - lots of options (not just continental). Surprised at some previous comments that there wasn't enough selection. Meeting room was comfortable and refreshments were very good. Only complaint was in-room internet which seemed sporadic, making it difficult to check work email at night. Internet was also included in my pkg. This is one of my company's preferred hotels, so will likely stay again and would not mind at all!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Christine I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
serge_de_wandelaer, General Manager at Hilton Antwerp Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2013

Hi Christine I,
We were pleased to read your feedback regarding your pleasent stay at our property and that you enjoyed all our services very much. Your tap on the shoulder will be a great motivator to the team and boost our drive towards exceeding guest expectations. Thank you for posting your experience and we look forward to welcome you again to our property and the beautiful city of Antwerp. Seasonal greetings for the festive period ahead.
Serge De Wandelaer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

This was a lovely hotel to stay in, very grand and in an excellent location. The rooms were very nice and clean. I had a great sleep. I was visiting on business but was lucky enough to be able to walk around for half the day on arrival. Antwerp was very nice, just be care full what back streets you walk down. Was like being in Amsterdam!! ;)

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank craigspencer1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
serge_de_wandelaer, General Manager at Hilton Antwerp Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2013

Dear Craigspencer 1980,
Thank you for posting your experience and needless to say that our team's greatest recognition is to get the kind of experience you as a well experienced traveller had of both the hotel facilities, it's services and the city itself.
We look forward to see back soon.
Serge De Wandelaer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

popped in on the way back to Germany and loved this place. Access straight from the public car park and the room was spacious and well equipped. Didn't touch the minibar though!! Staff were very friendly and professional. Breakfast was outstanding!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
serge_de_wandelaer, General Manager at Hilton Antwerp Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2013

Dear Jon G,
We are delighted to read your response and thanks for posting it. This kind of recognition drives our motivation further to exceedguest expectations further. We were pleased to read that both our services and facilities pleased you a lot and look forward to welcome you back at our hotel.
Serge De Wandelaer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

My husband & I had a wonderful stay at the Hilton Antwerp! To start, the location could not be any better! In the center of old town, short walking distance from the shops, restaurants, and underground. The staff were very friendly & helpful in all areas of the hotel. We had a room on the executive floor and were given a wonderfully, large suite. The decor is a bit tired, but the room was clean. The executive lounge at this Hilton is great! Lots of cozy places to get settled in and they do a great job w/ canapés and drinks. Breakfast was good in the executive lounge also & only steps from our room! We really appreciated getting a note under our door informing us that there was going to be an event at the hotel the next night and they would be happy to relocate us to a room farther away as to be sure we were not disturbed. After speaking to the staff in detail we decided to stay put and we were not disturbed at all! Thank you Hilton Antwerp for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bakerswoodfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
serge_de_wandelaer, General Manager at Hilton Antwerp Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2013

Dear bakerswoodfox,
We appreciate you posting your experience and were pleased to read you had a great stay. Your recognition of our services and facilities provides a great motivation for the team. Thank you very much and we look forward to welcome you soon again in our facilities.
Serge De Wandelaer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Firstly this hotel is in a good location, right in the centre of Antwerp so great for sight seeing and all of the local restaurants. Secondly the staff are very helpful and knowledgeable and did everything with a smile. Unfortunately the rooms are tired and the bathrooms seemed slightly grubby. Towels are not soft (been washed too much) and there is no turndown service, so if you have a shower in the morning and before you go out to dinner, save your existing towel. Breakfast only OK - no cooked option (no egg station) and the choice was quite limited for such a large hotel. Overall OK, but certainly nothing special.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 0006AOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
serge_de_wandelaer, General Manager at Hilton Antwerp Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2013

Dear 0006AOC,
Thank you very much for posting your feedback as we strive to continiuosly improve and these observation can assist us in focussing accordingly.
The hotel rooms are indeed in a more classical style but still in a good condition and can share with you that during the coming year more investment is planned to further upgrade our facilities.
Indeed the facilities do not allow cooking within the restaurant but have both boiled and scrambled eggs, possidge, sausages, mushroom and tomatoes on the buffet and always accomodate different egg preparations if requested. Nevertheless your point will be taken on board to further improve.
It pleased me in particular that staff experience was very pleasant and may I suggest to book an executive floor room next time visiting us as there we do provide turn down service.
Looking forward to welcome you soon at the Hilton Antwerp.
Serge De Wandelaer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp
1 mi away
Lindner Hotel & City Lounge Antwerpen
0.8 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Antwerpen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Indigo Antwerp - City Centre
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rubens - Grote Markt
2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Antwerpen
Crowne Plaza Antwerpen
#13 of 73 in Antwerp
1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Antwerp Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Antwerp Old Town

Address: Groenplaats 32, Antwerp 2000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Antwerp
#2 Luxury Hotel in Antwerp
#2 Business Hotel in Antwerp
#4 Romantic Hotel in Antwerp
Price Range: £108 - £272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Antwerp Old Town 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded the 2012 Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence, the Hilton Antwerp Old Town is an elegant hotel housed in an historic building of architectural importance, in the most central, prime location of any hotel in Antwerp, right on the Groenplaats Square. This luxurious hotel is within walking distance of the finest shopping the city has to offer, the best museums are a brief walk away including the fantastic new MAS, nightlife and fine dining all within 5 minutes walk of the hotel. Hotel facilities include the largest guest rooms in Antwerp with marbled bathrooms (with separate stall showers), Flat Screen TV's, minibar, coffee/tea making facilities, wifi throughout (at a fee), and for those needing that added bit of luxury, the Hilton Antwerp Old Town has the only true Executive Floor concept in Antwerp, with a classically elegant lounge and an exclusive outdoor terrace. For families, the hotel offers family rooms and family suites for up to 4 Guests. The new restaurant of the hotel "Brasserie Flo Antwerp", opened since July 2014, brings you the delights of a world-class brasserie on the Groenplaats. It is opened all day long from breakfast to dinner. This new Brasserie, combining stylish decor with inspired food and skillful, dedicated service, offers authentic French-Belgian cuisine using nothing but the freshest and finest products. The seafood counter brings the variety of this fabulous food from an abundant plateau fruits de mer to lobster dishes. Pass by the Bar and be surprised tasting some local beers or home-made cocktails. For meetings and galas, the Hilton Antwerp Old Town houses the elegant Belle Epoque Ballroom, the largest hotel ballroom in Belgium along with 11 other flexible and functional meeting rooms. Additionally, the hotel offers a 24 hour rooms service and renovated Lobby Lounge to take a coffee or savor the signature Royal Sinjoor High-Tea. There is a public Parking Garage on Groenplaats with direct lift access to the hotel lobby (via -1st floor of the parking). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hilton EMEA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Antwerp Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Antwerp
Antwerp Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing