We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Much room for improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Antwerp Old Town
Ranked #2 of 72 Hotels in Antwerp
Certificate of Excellence
Germany
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Much room for improvement”
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

I spent one night at the hotel. This was the first time I was there again after a break of 9 years, having been there before on several occasions on business trips.
Unfortunately I must say the hotel has deteriorated. It started out when checking in - an unfriendly and uninterested clerk.
The room (# 343) appeared clean but was definitely in need of refurbishment. Woodwork was chipped, there was a large crack in the tile flooring in the bathroom and the washing basin was in disrepair. No soap in the bathroom. Mouldy black spots in the shower.
Soundproofing is very poor - you can hear doors being closed outside the room. In the morning I was woken by my neighbour using the toilet.
Wifi is outlandish, paying 15 euros per day in the room.
Buffet breakfast is mediocre, the food in chaffing dishes luke warm.
Generally I got the impression the hotel management doesn't expect that guests come back again and is not really interested in the well-being of the customers.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank cajeju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,020 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    820
    796
    278
    85
    41
See reviews for
322
779
100
531
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp
1 review
Reviewed 26 March 2014

For the price we paid, there are much better places. You can't choose the temperature in the room. Shey say shower but there was no shower. Very small room (it was an executive). A lot of noice, not possible to sleep ect ect

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Filip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Apart from the location of this hotel, there is very little to commend it. The room decoration needed renovation, the bathroom plumbing was antiquated, the towels once white. Beds were comfortable but not properly made up after the first night. Rooms were not hoovered after the first day of stay. Breakfast was a decent buffet, but the hot dishes were cold as the heating system was obviously inadequate. Nothing worse than cold scrambled egg! Tables were left uncleared and cluttered for prolonged periods when staff were clearly at hand and able to tidy up. There were many large groups booked in which made the reception area very busy at times. This hotel is OK for an overnight stay, nothing longer.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Firstly the good points:-
Great location overlooking an attractive square, well placed for places of interest.
Brilliant, helpful and friendly breakfast staff. They were a real pleasure, I cannot praise their attitude highly enough.
Very nice room, well proportioned with everything we needed for our stay..
Friendly and efficient room service staff.
A very good and varied breakfast to set you up for a day's sightseeing.

So why only four stars???

The "not so good" :-
On arrival we checked in and were asked for a credit card . We do not have one, either paying by debit card or cash. So, unlike most other hotels we have stayed in ( who simply ask for a passport) we were asked for 200 Euros deposit against "extras". Our stay had been paid for in advance, including breakfast - more later... Our wallet somewhat lighter we headed for our room...
We had booked a triple room. We arrived at 5pm, our room only had two beds. Following a trek back to Reception (some rooms are a long way from the lifts). We were simply told a bed would arrive. It did, but was a somewhat short folding bed that my son reported as "rather hard".

Still, we enjoyed our stay and on the last day said farewell to the wonderful breakfast staff and went to check out.
The good news, we could use our room until midday if required.
The bad news - most of our deposit was being retained. We knew we owed about 29 Euros city tax.. Of our 200 Euros we were offered 51... Then various attempts / excuses were made to justify the Hotel keeping another 120.. Eventually when I pointed out exactly how much I owed and they finally found the Hotel Voucher for our stay we got 171 back as planned.....

So, a lovely hotel with great breakfast staff in a superb location.. If you are staying as part of a package or deal DO make sure you know exactly how much you may owe them. I do not blame the staff (although the apology was somewhat halfhearted), However despite their having access to a computer it only seemed to be useful for printing things - the Hotel could do with an IT system that allocated rooms correctly and invoiced customers accurately...

Room Tip: Rooms facing into a central area might be a bit quieter. Ours was good facing the street but the ear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adrianwebber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
61 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

A very nice central situated hotel.Close to a lot of the sights and convenient for the shopping area. The restaurant menu choice is large and breakfast also has a good selection . .This would have warrented a 5 star except for the service in the restaurant for dinner, was very slow between courses .One evening after plates had been removed from the table we were not offered a sweet as he went off clearing tables and setting for breakfast. We had to call some one else after a long wait to order same.We would reccomend this hotel for a break in Antwerp.

Room Tip: Third floor rooms were quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExcellentCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

I just loved the fact that it was a old hotel but still managed to be so homely and forthcoming. Great location, great service with really nice rooms. It has a really nice breakfast buffet, allowing one to really enjoy the city with a full stomach. This is the place to be in Antwerpen.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank florina d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

If it's your first time in Antwerp, the Hilton is the perfect place to stay. It's right in the middle of the action. The hotel is gorgeous on the outside and modern on the inside. The food is great too. If you take the back exit, there's a cable car city tour right there you can take to see Antwerp.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patira_kambhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp
1.0 mi away
Lindner Hotel & City Lounge Antwerpen
0.7 mi away
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
#5 of 72 in Antwerp
4.0 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Julien
Hotel Julien
#8 of 72 in Antwerp
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
0.8 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Antwerpen
0.3 mi away
SLH De Witte Lelie Antwerp
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Antwerp Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Antwerp Old Town

Property: Hilton Antwerp Old Town
Address: Groenplaats 32, Antwerp 2000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Antwerp
#2 Business Hotel in Antwerp
#2 Family Hotel in Antwerp
#4 Romantic Hotel in Antwerp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Antwerp Old Town 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded the 2012 Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence, the Hilton Antwerp Old Town is an elegant hotel housed in an historic building of architectural importance, in the most central, prime location of any hotel in Antwerp, right on the Groenplaats Square. This luxurious hotel is within walking distance of the finest shopping the city has to offer, the best museums are a brief walk away including the fantastic new MAS, nightlife and fine dining all within 5 minutes walk of the hotel. Hotel facilities include the largest guest rooms in Antwerp with marbled bathrooms (with separate stall showers), Flat Screen TV's, minibar, coffee/tea making facilities, wifi throughout (at a fee), and for those needing that added bit of luxury, the Hilton Antwerp Old Town has the only true Executive Floor concept in Antwerp, with a classically elegant lounge and an exclusive outdoor terrace. For families, the hotel offers family rooms and family suites for up to 4 Guests. The new restaurant of the hotel "Brasserie Flo Antwerp", opened since July 2014, brings you the delights of a world-class brasserie on the Groenplaats. It is opened all day long from breakfast to dinner. This new Brasserie, combining stylish decor with inspired food and skillful, dedicated service, offers authentic French-Belgian cuisine using nothing but the freshest and finest products. The seafood counter brings the variety of this fabulous food from an abundant plateau fruits de mer to lobster dishes. Pass by the Bar and be surprised tasting some local beers or home-made cocktails. For meetings and galas, the Hilton Antwerp Old Town houses the elegant Belle Epoque Ballroom, the largest hotel ballroom in Belgium along with 11 other flexible and functional meeting rooms. Additionally, the hotel offers a 24 hour rooms service and renovated Lobby Lounge to take a coffee or savor the signature Royal Sinjoor High-Tea. There is a public Parking Garage on Groenplaats with direct lift access to the hotel lobby (via -1st floor of the parking). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton Antwerp Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Antwerp
Antwerp Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing