We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Antwerp Old Town
Ranked #2 of 71 Hotels in Antwerp
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton
Level Contributor
330 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“An excellent hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

What are you looking for? This hotel has an historic front but inside is not overly worn or dated. It's not exciting, if that's what you want, but behind a grand facade this centrally located hotel is ideal for exploring Antwerp. There are different packages you can opt for. As a Hilton Silver we upgraded to a larger De Luxe room and were glad of the extra air/space as the a/c was not working (par for the course we find in European hotels). So, as we prefer to sleep in a cool room we opened the window at night. The mattress was very good as were the pillows. The bathroom was large and well equipped including large, but not fluffy, towels, but the fan did not work. B/fast was excellent with attentive staff and you could ask for fried eggs or an omlette if these were not on offer on the hot buffet. Slight moan that there was not any marmalade for British visitors. Reception staff were very pleasant and helpful: thankyou Anrej and especially Thomas for recommendations.
We did not dine at the hotel as prices were not competetive. We recommend
De Peerdestal...speciality excellent tender and tasty horse steaks. Restuarant very popular with locals taking people out to dinner.
De Pottekijker... Huge portions...600g meat for your mixed grill and very reasonable Popular with locals..few tourists.
Rooden Hoed... Belgian rabbit stew and lobster specialities. Tourists mainly.
For excellent coffee and delicious cakes try Dr zoete Verleiding. at Vlasmarkt 27, (cross the sq diagonally and go down Hoostraat turning left into Vlasmarkt).
All these recommendations are under 4 mins walk from the hotel and well worth it. Staff will give you extra directions.
We like Anwerp and we like hotel and would return another day if in Belgium.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the courtyard as these are away from the busy square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wyntyll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,993 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    807
    785
    275
    85
    41
See reviews for
317
769
99
522
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

I've just spent three days there. The hotel itself is a bit worn in terms of older decor in the rooms, carpets, etc, however it's impeccably clean and very pleasant. Rooms and bathrooms are large enough to be comfortable for two people with American hotel tastes. The bathroom amenities are Peter Thomas Roth. There is sufficient closet and drawer space. The beds are extremely comfortable. The "executive lounge/breakfast room" on the 5th floor is a nice convenience and the breakfast was good. Room service is quick and arrives hot (although we just ordered coffee). The wireless internet in the rooms works very well.

I found the entire staff to lovely and helpful, but that also seems to be true of everyone in Antwerp. It's a very friendly city.

I only had one meal at the main dining room in the hotel, but it was very good and not overpriced. The menu is a bit more interesting than typical hotel fare and the setting is a light and airy glass enclosed terrace overlooking the square.

The hotel's location is superb. It's walking distance from most of the main attractions and surrounded by excellent restaurants and conveniences.

It's not as romantic as some of the smaller boutique hotels, but for anyone who's looking for services more than romance the Hilton is an excellent choice. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: The corridors are extremely long and winding so if that will be a problem let the hotel know that yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgicaPond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

The hotel is dated, but it's super clean. The staff were friendly enough, the breakfast did the job, beds comfy, bathroom neat. The location was FANTASTIC!

My only gripe is that they charge €15 per day for internet. I thought this was outrageous.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank panfarfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

Have stayed twice at this hotel.
It is up to Hilton's standards
Perfectly located (city centre and close to shopping area) and connected.
Rooms are big, beds pretty large and comfortable, and all is very clean.
Breakfast buffet is excellent. You eat looking out to the city's main square.
Would stay again.

Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Madrid-Spain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Was on a business trip and stayed here for four days during April 2014. Impressed throughout by the service from the front desk staff. I had lost my luggage at the airport and these guys did all they could to keep me informed, track progress and delivered my suitcase to my room when it eventually appeared. Breakfast staff were good and bar staff excellent, being friendly and competent with excellent customer awareness. Add to this the hotel's central location and I would recommend this hotel to people like me who are on business as well as visitors on holiday.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Graham M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

The staff was very friendly and helpful at the Hilton in Antwerp . Food was good and rooms were clean, good size and very comfortable. Price is reasonable and they have rooms for 3 people ..which is hard to find in Europe ! Close to train station, airports , Pubs ,and shopping .

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Maura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Hilton Antwerp is right in the centre of the city - in walking distance to most of the attractions. The Hotel has a very nice atmosphere and excellent service. Very nice and clean rooms. Highly recommendable

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Christian Hothe... S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp
1.0 mi away
Lindner Hotel & City Lounge Antwerpen
0.7 mi away
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
#3 of 71 in Antwerp
4.0 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Julien
Hotel Julien
#8 of 71 in Antwerp
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
0.8 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Antwerpen
0.3 mi away
SLH De Witte Lelie Antwerp
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Antwerp Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Antwerp Old Town

Property: Hilton Antwerp Old Town
Address: Groenplaats 32, Antwerp 2000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Antwerp
#2 Luxury Hotel in Antwerp
#2 Family Hotel in Antwerp
#4 Romantic Hotel in Antwerp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Antwerp Old Town 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded the 2012 Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence, the Hilton Antwerp Old Town is an elegant hotel housed in an historic building of architectural importance, in the most central, prime location of any hotel in Antwerp, right on the Groenplaats Square. This luxurious hotel is within walking distance of the finest shopping the city has to offer, the best museums are a brief walk away including the fantastic new MAS, nightlife and fine dining all within 5 minutes walk of the hotel. Hotel facilities include the largest guest rooms in Antwerp with marbled bathrooms (with separate stall showers), Flat Screen TV's, minibar, coffee/tea making facilities, wifi throughout (at a fee), and for those needing that added bit of luxury, the Hilton Antwerp Old Town has the only true Executive Floor concept in Antwerp, with a classically elegant lounge and an exclusive outdoor terrace. For families, the hotel offers family rooms and family suites for up to 4 Guests. The new restaurant of the hotel "Brasserie Flo Antwerp", opened since July 2014, brings you the delights of a world-class brasserie on the Groenplaats. It is opened all day long from breakfast to dinner. This new Brasserie, combining stylish decor with inspired food and skillful, dedicated service, offers authentic French-Belgian cuisine using nothing but the freshest and finest products. The seafood counter brings the variety of this fabulous food from an abundant plateau fruits de mer to lobster dishes. Pass by the Bar and be surprised tasting some local beers or home-made cocktails. For meetings and galas, the Hilton Antwerp Old Town houses the elegant Belle Epoque Ballroom, the largest hotel ballroom in Belgium along with 11 other flexible and functional meeting rooms. Additionally, the hotel offers a 24 hour rooms service and renovated Lobby Lounge to take a coffee or savor the signature Royal Sinjoor High-Tea. There is a public Parking Garage on Groenplaats with direct lift access to the hotel lobby (via -1st floor of the parking). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Antwerp Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Antwerp
Antwerp Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing