We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaks and Valleys” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Antwerp Old Town

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hilton Antwerp Old Town
Ranked #2 of 71 Hotels in Antwerp
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
296 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Peaks and Valleys”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

I agree with other reviewers that the hotel is well located for getting around Antwerp, so that's a big plus. I also like the fact that one can request an early check-in for a 19E fee if one arrives early and wants to unpack and get started. However, the staff seem to be either very good, knowledgeable, helpful or not at all--no in between. The lounge is a nice amenity for those booking executive rooms and up. The breakfast offering is the standard European continental breakfast without a lot of surprises. We were surprised to find that after breakfast hours and before tea, the fridge is locked so that one can't relax with a cold drink at any time. The evening offerings tend to bar snacks so not many healthy options. The rooms are quite soundproof but some of the corridor lengths can be daunting as the hotel is spread over 2-3 buildings.Each room is also outfitted with the electronic minibar with no space for a guest to store anything brought in. Thank goodness, most hotels in the US have decided to get rid of minibars in favor of mini fridges for the guests convenience. Makes a lot more sense

We had some issues with our bill that I thought were straightened out at check-out, but they came back to haunt me in a subsequent email requesting additional $$$. Ordering a taxi to the train station also proved to be a fiasco causing a few more grey hairs.

Would like to see a little more consistence in staff behavior than what we experienced

Room Tip: Opt for an executive room or above for access to the lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fififlies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,943 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    782
    767
    271
    82
    41
See reviews for
305
750
95
511
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

The hotel is located in the heart of the old Town so you are able to walk to every important building(museums,cathedral..) in about 1-10 mins.You take aproximately 15minutes by foot to walk to the diamont quartier. The hotel stuff is really friendly and keen. If you have any problem , they try to help you as much as they can. The equipment and the bathroom was good. The bathroom is n't the modernest but fair enough. What I really liked in this Hotel was the international falir. You get in touch with people from all around the world. The fitness center is quite good for a hotel. But watch out , everything in the hotel is really expensive(starting by a meal up to landry). Instead of eating in the hotel, go out, where you can find a lots of different nice restaurants.Moreover you get to know there a bit more about the life in Belgium. There weren't any problems with our pet as well with the children. But you don't have really an occupation for kids appart from TV.
If I were you I would just stay in this hotel if you get a nice price(150night). If it's more you can stay in other Hotels in Antwerp for a better "ensemble".

Room Tip: Take a room on the 5th floor. Access to the executive Lounge
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yannis U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt Wolf PA, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

The staff in the exec lounge made you feel that you were extremely important to them. Smiling, helpful & always took time to talk with you. Hotel itself was immaculate, perfect location & everyone couldn't due enough for you. Every staff member greeted you wherever they saw you.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank Claudia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

We have just spent 3 nights at the Hilton Antwerp - the welcome on arrival was great; friendly and efficient. Although the rooms are dated, they are clean, the bed is comfortable and certainly the room we stayed in 325 is quiet.
The breakfast was good - lots of choice and we were not rushed.
We got a good deal at €110 a night including breakfast.
My only gripes are, like some other reviewers, the cost of parking (€50 for 3 nights) and the cost of wifi (€15 a day).
If we are in Antwerp again we would stay here.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the 'courtyard' are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank homeward11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
620 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

This is one of my top 3 Hilton stays ever. A great location, you are walking distance to almost all the great sites in Antwerp. It's a simple 2 stop subway ride from the main train terminal, and you are right there in front of the hotel. The room was very nice and spacious; including a bathroom with both a bath and a shower. The executive lounge was well staffed and prepared - we went every night - and there is a balcony that looks over Groenplaats and the city. Antwerp is an amazing city and you can't stay anywhere better than this.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mja1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Poor reservation accuracy. Every person who attends the call on reservation tells different room rates and we couldnt connect the conversation. Ver bad experience just because of the attitude of the reservation staff

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

stayed here on a business trip in October and was a very pleasant experince. The hotel is Old but has a mystique about it which captures you as you walk in to the lobby.

The rooms are basic enough, the food was excellent in the restaurant and the bar was cozy and relaxing.

The location is central to everything in Antwerp, your just a short stroll from all the restaurants , sights and bars.

A wonderful stay in a wonderful city,

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Decmyster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
1.0 mi away
Lindner Hotel & City Lounge Antwerpen
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp
0.8 mi away
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
#3 of 71 in Antwerp
4.0 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Julien
Hotel Julien
#9 of 71 in Antwerp
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.9 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Antwerpen
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rubens - Grote Markt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Antwerp Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Antwerp Old Town

Property: Hilton Antwerp Old Town
Address: Groenplaats 32, Antwerp 2000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Antwerp
#2 Luxury Hotel in Antwerp
#2 Business Hotel in Antwerp
#4 Romantic Hotel in Antwerp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Antwerp Old Town 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded the 2012 Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence, the Hilton Antwerp Old Town is an elegant hotel housed in an historic building of architectural importance, in the most central, prime location of any hotel in Antwerp, right on the Groenplaats Square. This luxurious hotel is within walking distance of the finest shopping the city has to offer, the best museums are a brief walk away including the fantastic new MAS, nightlife and fine dining all within 5 minutes walk of the hotel. Hotel facilities include the largest guest rooms in Antwerp with marbled bathrooms (with separate stall showers), Flat Screen TV's, minibar, coffee/tea making facilities, wifi throughout (at a fee), and for those needing that added bit of luxury, the Hilton Antwerp Old Town has the only true Executive Floor concept in Antwerp, with a classically elegant lounge and an exclusive outdoor terrace. For families, the hotel offers family rooms and family suites for up to 4 Guests. The new restaurant of the hotel "Brasserie Flo Antwerp", opened since July 2014, brings you the delights of a world-class brasserie on the Groenplaats. It is opened all day long from breakfast to dinner. This new Brasserie, combining stylish decor with inspired food and skillful, dedicated service, offers authentic French-Belgian cuisine using nothing but the freshest and finest products. The seafood counter brings the variety of this fabulous food from an abundant plateau fruits de mer to lobster dishes. Pass by the Bar and be surprised tasting some local beers or home-made cocktails. For meetings and galas, the Hilton Antwerp Old Town houses the elegant Belle Epoque Ballroom, the largest hotel ballroom in Belgium along with 11 other flexible and functional meeting rooms. Additionally, the hotel offers a 24 hour rooms service and renovated Lobby Lounge to take a coffee or savor the signature Royal Sinjoor High-Tea. There is a public Parking Garage on Groenplaats with direct lift access to the hotel lobby (via -1st floor of the parking). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Hilton Antwerp Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Antwerp
Antwerp Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing