We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The place to stay in Antwerp” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Antwerp Old Town

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hilton Antwerp Old Town
Ranked #2 of 71 Hotels in Antwerp
Certificate of Excellence
Almere, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The place to stay in Antwerp”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Location is key for this Hilton right in the city centre. Parking bellow. The main entrance is behind Groenplaats, calm atmosphere.
The Executive rooms, are decent rooms, in room safe, minibar and large bathroom most with separate shower, gives a relaxed feeling.
The breakfast buffet is always nice.
The Executive lounge is always a pleasure to visit, there is also the Breakfast served.
Location is great with a real Hilton feeling and atmosphere a cosy hotel where I return.

Room Tip: Executive Floor is a big bennefit!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Botenga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,943 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    782
    767
    271
    82
    41
See reviews for
305
750
95
511
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Overijse, Belgium
Level Contributor
98 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Stayed 3 nights for extended Aug. 15 weekend ( Aug. 14 in , out sunday Aug. 17) ; our first stay since the new GM is in place and there have been positive changes in our eyes:

+ great location centrally in "old Antwerp" with safe, paid parking and direct entry into lobby
+ very friendly check in by Mr. T.M. , efficient and very friendly duty manager with "can do" attitude who made sure we got one of our favourite rooms on exec. level so we got a very nice upgrade as HH diamond !
+ we got a follow up contact from duty manager to make sure all was well and if we were happy! We told him there was a problem with the coffee machine in the exec. lounge- o horror for us a we are used to a strong , fresh brew on frequent moments in the day- and he made sure it was repaired before breakfast next morning ...but still IMHO the F&B manager should have a chat with their coffee roaster or change brands of beans to get better brew especially as they have such an expensive WMF machine which needs TLC fromthe lounge staff !
This EL - the only remaining Hilton E.L. in Belgium - should certainly be able to deliver a good cup of belgian roast before sending guests off into the cold rainy streets enjoying the beautifull old quarter around the cathedral!
+ late check out for sunday was already approved at check in on thursday !
+ great breakfast , more tables and seats in the EL than on the previous visits.Some sofa's were removed to make place for breakfast tables making sure less guests have to leave exec.lounge as we saw on previous visits and need to get in line to get breakfast downstairs !
+ pre -arrival mail by guest service supervisor letting us know all stores in Antwerp would be closed on Aug 15 but there was a "Rembrandt" themed market in the old Antwerp that friday .It was a bit rained out but fun to visit .
+ Good advice - and table reservations in almost fully booked places- from staff on where to go for 2 great dinners in a row within walking distance.
+ House keeping was very good , lots better than on previous visits, and our room was very clean whenver we returned in the afternoon so big ++ there !!
Had turndown service on 2 nights but nothing on saturday... Free bottle of drinking water and refilled selection of tea plus coffee and water boiler were present every day with clean cups ...
+ Staff of EL was friendly and efficient .

= Very positive stay in a very clean room on exec. floor , positive attitude of staff and nice to spend a longer time than usual while getting to enjoy the hotel and surroundings so we certainly will be coming back on our next stay in Antwerp !

Room Tip: get a room on the exec. floor with access to the EL . Beware : lounge is closing earlier in weekend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan-Remi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

We have visited this hotel many times over the years, and decided to take advantage of an excellent summer offer. Based on past experience, we booked an executive room so that we could use the lounge. On arrival at 15.30, our room was not ready, and we were told that we needed to wait. We had booked a twin room (I was travelling with my son), but there was only a king room available, so we had to have an extra bed. The room itself was very spacious and comfortable, but the bathrooms are a little in need of some upgrading - they are just old now. Also, the water pressure in the showers is really quite poor. However, the room was clean, and the chamber maids were really good.
However, the executive lounge is not worth the trouble now. There is very little, poor food and drink, and the breakfast is not up to standard. A few years ago this was an excellent lounge, but it is now at the bottom of the pile. It gives one the impression that the management regrets the fact that there is a lounge at all, and a minimal budget is allocated to it. It is difficult to believe that the premium paid for an executive room is spent on the facilities, drinks and snacks. The coffee is appalling - a ridiculous machine that makes alarming noises and produces virtually undrinkable coffee. This is not really acceptable these days. Apart from the lovely roof terrace, the lounge is very, very poor. Don't bother.
I also struggle with the fact that wifi is not included in a standard room price.....Hilton Group, you are behind the times.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janey59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

We stayed two nights. The location is amazing. The staff is friendly and helpful. We had a junior suite, excellent size, we were able to secure a package deal that would include breakfast. Sad that the Wi-Fi was not included.Will certainly go back.

Room Tip: When you book ask questions about charges such as breakfast, Wi-Fi, parking, so you may get a pack...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dedekje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

The hotel is well located but tired and old fashioned. The bathroom had grubby grouting and dirty siliconing in the shower. Paper in the hallways was peeling.The roof terrace, which looked attrictive on the website, was neglected and had dirty crockery and ashtrays left there. An expensive choice of hotel and breakfast is not included and also very expensive.

Room Tip: Not overlooking the central courtyard - bleak.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Veronica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
196 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Hilton Antwerp on saturday, August 9, for one night. I was extremely disappointed with the hotel. The rooms are all horrible and in desperate need of repair in order to get to the standards of a Hilton hotel. I changed rooms three times, and ll were an extreme disappointment. The first one had such a horrible odor in it, I couldn't stay loner than. Few seconds in the room, me went right to front desk to complain. The second room had no odor, but like the first, had worm carpet, worn scratched furniture, and a bathroom that was full of growing mold all throughout the groat. Again, I went to front desk, and asked for a room change. There were no rooms available. So I asked that they move our things when. Room became available and that we would be back around 5pm to change the keys. The third room was just as horrible as the first two. And this room smelled slightly smokey for a non smoking room. Again a extremely disappointed. At this point I am exhausted from complaining and nothing being done about it properly. Management did not send any not of apology. Nor was there any element of customer service at the front desk. Front desk could only acknowledge that the lobby and restaurant was renovated, and that the rooms were due to go next soon. No combine Gary nothing was even offered. No breakfast, no executive lounge, nothing! I never felt such horrible customer service in my life, ad I never experience such a horror show. When I checked out, the front desk asked how was my stay. I said just awful, could not have been any worse. Did the man offer anything, no. I even asked for a voucher to come back for when the renovations were complete,or a redeposit of the points used for the stay. He said the manager Jordi would get back to me. It's now Tuesday, and no correspondence from Hilton about this matter.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank RJ D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Location is great, bar is good and the rooms are good. But when you pay the price stated when booking you don't expect to be charged for absolutely everything. Wifi was not free as I feel it should be. In fact it was very expensive, as was the mini-bar, the cleaning service and the breakfast. On the plus side the service was excellent and the staff were very helpful in storing our road bikes over night. If I stay in Antwerp again I will try a different hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
1.0 mi away
Lindner Hotel & City Lounge Antwerpen
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp
0.8 mi away
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
#4 of 71 in Antwerp
4.0 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Julien
#9 of 71 in Antwerp
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.9 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Antwerpen
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rubens - Grote Markt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Antwerp Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Antwerp Old Town

Property: Hilton Antwerp Old Town
Address: Groenplaats 32, Antwerp 2000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Antwerp
#2 Luxury Hotel in Antwerp
#2 Family Hotel in Antwerp
#4 Romantic Hotel in Antwerp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Antwerp Old Town 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded the 2012 Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence, the Hilton Antwerp Old Town is an elegant hotel housed in an historic building of architectural importance, in the most central, prime location of any hotel in Antwerp, right on the Groenplaats Square. This luxurious hotel is within walking distance of the finest shopping the city has to offer, the best museums are a brief walk away including the fantastic new MAS, nightlife and fine dining all within 5 minutes walk of the hotel. Hotel facilities include the largest guest rooms in Antwerp with marbled bathrooms (with separate stall showers), Flat Screen TV's, minibar, coffee/tea making facilities, wifi throughout (at a fee), and for those needing that added bit of luxury, the Hilton Antwerp Old Town has the only true Executive Floor concept in Antwerp, with a classically elegant lounge and an exclusive outdoor terrace. For families, the hotel offers family rooms and family suites for up to 4 Guests. The new restaurant of the hotel "Brasserie Flo Antwerp", opened since July 2014, brings you the delights of a world-class brasserie on the Groenplaats. It is opened all day long from breakfast to dinner. This new Brasserie, combining stylish decor with inspired food and skillful, dedicated service, offers authentic French-Belgian cuisine using nothing but the freshest and finest products. The seafood counter brings the variety of this fabulous food from an abundant plateau fruits de mer to lobster dishes. Pass by the Bar and be surprised tasting some local beers or home-made cocktails. For meetings and galas, the Hilton Antwerp Old Town houses the elegant Belle Epoque Ballroom, the largest hotel ballroom in Belgium along with 11 other flexible and functional meeting rooms. Additionally, the hotel offers a 24 hour rooms service and renovated Lobby Lounge to take a coffee or savor the signature Royal Sinjoor High-Tea. There is a public Parking Garage on Groenplaats with direct lift access to the hotel lobby (via -1st floor of the parking). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hilton Antwerp Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Antwerp
Antwerp Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing