We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No Complaints”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Antwerp Old Town
Ranked #2 of 71 Hotels in Antwerp
Certificate of Excellence
Tuusula, Finland
Level Contributor
157 reviews
157 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“No Complaints”
Reviewed 6 May 2009

This is not a 5 star super-luxury hotel but nevertheless a very decent place to utilize as a base for exploring the Antwerp sights. My review is based on 2 night stay in May’09.

Location:
Right in the middle of Antwerp Groenplaats square with lots of bars and restaurants within a stone’s throw. So you certainly don’t die of hunger or thirst in this place… Also plenty of shopping activities nearby, for example hotel lobby is directly connected to a mall.

Room:
Had a reasonable sized Executive Room in the 5th floor, not the biggest I’ve seen but more than enough for me as a single traveler. There was 32 inch LCD TV and the normal equipment such as safety box in the room. Bathroom had separate bath and shower sections. There was some noise from the corridor but very quiet otherwise.

Room had a complimentary 1l water bottle and some kind of gourmet vegetable plate. Oh and some Belgium chocolate, of course :-)

Etc:
Tap in the bathroom broke down completely! It was quickly fixed though

Didn’t try restaurant or gym so cannot comment them.

As HHonors Diamond member I was updated to executive floor and thus had access to the fairly large Executive Lounge. Sparkling wine was available apparently pretty much throughout the day. Breakfast in the lounge was OK, no great selection but anyway including also a small hot food selection (which is not always the case in this kind of lounge). I didn’t attend the evening hors d'oeuvres due to many interesting bars & restaurants in the city.

It was somewhat visible that hotel has not received a renovation lately, for example elevators were a bit outdated & slow. Not a major issue though since there wasn’t any peeling paint or stains in the walls etc as such

Would I return there?
Yeah, sure. Nice location for exploring Antwerp and not that expensive

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dadsasdasd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertKrygsman, General Manager at Hilton Antwerp Old Town, responded to this review, 17 October 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience with the fellow travellers of Tripadvisor.

I was very pleased to read your very positive comments and am hopeful that when your travels bring you back to our great city, you will once again plan to stay with us at the Hilton Antwerp.

Once again, thank you very much and we wish you continued safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,984 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    801
    784
    273
    85
    41
See reviews for
315
763
99
521
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
107 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2009

Nice room on executive floor. Perfect lounge and even better breakfast!

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michel99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertKrygsman, General Manager at Hilton Antwerp Old Town, responded to this review, 17 October 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience with the fellow travellers of Tripadvisor.

I was very pleased to read your very positive comments and am hopeful that when your travels bring you back to our great city, you will once again plan to stay with us at the Hilton Antwerp.

Once again, thank you very much and we wish you continued safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen County, New Jersey
Level Contributor
182 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2009

This was our fourth stay over the last five years. There's certainly no sense of being "in Antwerp", but the "American" size and comfort of the rooms can't be beat. They are extremely quiet, even if you get a "front" window. This is a perfect location for touring Antwerp; Groenplaats has great subway and tram access, although it's not as close to the train station or the main outdoor bus plaza. (I've walked there, but not with a heavy bag.) The sunny breakfast room is very pleasant, with a view of the Reubens statue in Goenplaats. Grote Markt square, City Hall, the Tourist Office, and the Cathedral are just steps away. The Reubens House and the Meyer Vanden Berg museum are walking distance, the Royal Museum of Fine Arts is a mile away, but right on the #8 Tram from Groenplaats (tram direction to your Right, away from the Hilton.)

Your decision to stay here might consider the opportunity to price the room in advance on the Hilton website. By paying in advance, we got a basic (but huge, w/ King-size bed, separate tub and shower) room for 149 Euros/$193 per night, including all taxes and service charges. That's not "cheap", but for the level of comfort and location, it might be as good a value to you as to us.

We've never had the problems reported by the frequent-stayer who wrote a thoughtful but very unhappy review below. My wife (on business without me) once found the hotel overbooked, but they eventually got her a room somewhere.

If you drink a lot, are not interested in large meals, and are willing to spring for it, the Executive Floor here can be a good value. We didn't pay for it this time, and enjoyed the many fine restaurants in Antwerp. But the private 5th-floor lounge has vast amounts of hors d'oeuvres, free wine, beer and cordials, and a much quicker (if less lavish) breakfast than downstairs, if you have business meetings to get off to. The point is, you can skip some meals that way!

Speaking of food, the Hilton is located directly between the two best made-to-order waffle shops in this part of Belgium: Desire de Lille-Schoenmarkt 12, and Leon, Melkmarkt 29. For the really thrifty, the Hilton lobby is connected to a three-story shopping mall that has a huge supermarket in the basement. But of course, the mini-bars are too full to really use them as refrigerators in your room! I'll estimate that there are 50 restaurants within 100 yards of the Hilton.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank obsoperator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertKrygsman, General Manager at Hilton Antwerp Old Town, responded to this review, 17 October 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience with the fellow travellers of Tripadvisor.

I was very pleased to read your very positive comments and am hopeful that when your travels bring you back to our great city, you will once again plan to stay with us at the Hilton Antwerp.

Once again, thank you very much and we wish you continued safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lutz, Florida
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2009

The hotel has taken over the old Grand Bazar deparment store location on the Groenplatz, near the Cathedral, Meer, shops and restaurants. Our rooms were clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful. The Breakfast Buffet was outstanding! we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrCitrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertKrygsman, General Manager at Hilton Antwerp Old Town, responded to this review, 17 October 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience with the fellow travellers of Tripadvisor.

I was very pleased to read your very positive comments and am hopeful that when your travels bring you back to our great city, you will once again plan to stay with us at the Hilton Antwerp.

Once again, thank you very much and we wish you continued safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2009

My husband and I just spent a night at the Hilton in Antwerp. It is a typical Hilton and we found everything to be clean and comfortable. The service was efficient and friendly and they offer a great breakfast. As one review noted there was noise early in the morning (Saturday) but otherwise it was very quiet. As everyone mentions, the location is super for exploring Antwerp.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — No complaints
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank BusinessTraveler43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertKrygsman, General Manager at Hilton Antwerp Old Town, responded to this review, 17 October 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience with the fellow travellers of Tripadvisor.

I was very pleased to read your very positive comments and am hopeful that when your travels bring you back to our great city, you will once again plan to stay with us at the Hilton Antwerp.

Once again, thank you very much and we wish you continued safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Düsseldorf
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2008

Booking in advance, I could get a single room for around 160€ per night; not cheap of course, but I think it deserves the money.
The position is right in the historic center of the town, in a magnificent old building. Just outside, during Christmas time, there's the nice Christmas market.
Single rooms are very big, with a king size bed. Magnificent breakfast with nice view of the square.
I really enjoyed my stay there.

  • Liked — Almost everything
  • Disliked — Internet access wasn't free of charge
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Filippo75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertKrygsman, General Manager at Hilton Antwerp Old Town, responded to this review, 17 October 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience with the fellow travellers of Tripadvisor.

I was very pleased to read your very positive comments and am hopeful that when your travels bring you back to our great city, you will once again plan to stay with us at the Hilton Antwerp.

Once again, thank you very much and we wish you continued safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2008

I'm an HHonors Diamond member who has spend +/- 5000$ in this hotel this year.

Checked in last weekend for +/- my 15th night this year, asked for a quiet room and gave a 50 euro fee, not even getting a thank you. Got a room with communicating doors, I could hear all the conversations in the room next to mine. Decided to change rooms and upgrade to a suite. The airco couldn't handle the temperature outside, the room was cold in the evening, night and morning, even when I turned the airco on max.

So I decided to leave after one night instead of two. First thing I heard was I would have to pay a 50% early departure fee (or more than 200 euro). They backed off after I obviously got angry. As an HHonors Diamond member they even charge full breakfast + room service fee when you have breakfast in your room. At the Waldorf Astoria and many other much more upscale Hilton properties they only charge the room service fee. Afterwards the general manager offered me an upgrade voucher, which I refused.

Obvious that after my last experience the hotel clearly isn't interested in leisure guests, no matter how much you spend. This is the first time a Hilton property has let me down in such way.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Either they are starting to feel the economic meltdown, or they have a total disregard for their clients
  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank DavidBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertKrygsman, General Manager at Hilton Antwerp Old Town, responded to this review, 17 October 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience with the fellow travellers of Tripadvisor.

Once again, thank you very much and we wish you continued safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
1.0 mi away
Lindner Hotel & City Lounge Antwerpen
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp
0.7 mi away
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
#3 of 71 in Antwerp
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Julien
Hotel Julien
#7 of 71 in Antwerp
369 reviews
0.8 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Antwerpen
0.3 mi away
SLH De Witte Lelie Antwerp
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Antwerp Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Antwerp Old Town

Property: Hilton Antwerp Old Town
Address: Groenplaats 32, Antwerp 2000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Antwerp
#2 Family Hotel in Antwerp
#2 Luxury Hotel in Antwerp
#4 Romantic Hotel in Antwerp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Antwerp Old Town 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded the 2012 Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence, the Hilton Antwerp Old Town is an elegant hotel housed in an historic building of architectural importance, in the most central, prime location of any hotel in Antwerp, right on the Groenplaats Square. This luxurious hotel is within walking distance of the finest shopping the city has to offer, the best museums are a brief walk away including the fantastic new MAS, nightlife and fine dining all within 5 minutes walk of the hotel. Hotel facilities include the largest guest rooms in Antwerp with marbled bathrooms (with separate stall showers), Flat Screen TV's, minibar, coffee/tea making facilities, wifi throughout (at a fee), and for those needing that added bit of luxury, the Hilton Antwerp Old Town has the only true Executive Floor concept in Antwerp, with a classically elegant lounge and an exclusive outdoor terrace. For families, the hotel offers family rooms and family suites for up to 4 Guests. The new restaurant of the hotel "Brasserie Flo Antwerp", opened since July 2014, brings you the delights of a world-class brasserie on the Groenplaats. It is opened all day long from breakfast to dinner. This new Brasserie, combining stylish decor with inspired food and skillful, dedicated service, offers authentic French-Belgian cuisine using nothing but the freshest and finest products. The seafood counter brings the variety of this fabulous food from an abundant plateau fruits de mer to lobster dishes. Pass by the Bar and be surprised tasting some local beers or home-made cocktails. For meetings and galas, the Hilton Antwerp Old Town houses the elegant Belle Epoque Ballroom, the largest hotel ballroom in Belgium along with 11 other flexible and functional meeting rooms. Additionally, the hotel offers a 24 hour rooms service and renovated Lobby Lounge to take a coffee or savor the signature Royal Sinjoor High-Tea. There is a public Parking Garage on Groenplaats with direct lift access to the hotel lobby (via -1st floor of the parking). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Antwerp Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Antwerp
Antwerp Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing