We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“batting an eyelid or sneezing adds to your bill.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Antwerp Old Town
Ranked #2 of 72 Hotels in Antwerp
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“batting an eyelid or sneezing adds to your bill.”
Reviewed 30 July 2009

The Hilton in Antwerp is a typical Hilton. A nice charming facade towards the square fools you into thinking that this might be a nice place, but it is as soulless as only American chain-hotels can be. We stayed 2 nights for the price of one on a 'summer deal' and that was still too expensive for this hotel.

The room was a completely standard hotel-room, even though the window was bolted so it could only open 15cm. On top of the minibar sat a half litre bottle of standard water and a tiny can of pringles. Upon consulting the minibar brochure we saw that they charge SEVEN!!!!! Euros for half a litre of water. Water mind you, Not morning dew collected by virgins on a full moon or 12yr whiskey, but bog standard water.

Breakfast the first morning was complete chaos. A young girl was standing taking room numbers on entry, but didn't seem to grasp that something was wrong when 10 couples were wandering around amidst dirty tables. Had to go and tell her to get someone to clean a table where we could sit. The breakfast buffet was completely standard, nothing missing, but nothing interesting either.

Charging €15 pr. night for an 512/128 internet connection, €25 for 1/256 (I think) and €35 (yes, THIRTY-FIVE EURO) pr. night for 2/1 mbit is simply horrendous and completely unacceptable in 2009.

They did provide a free shower cap. What will they think of next? Charging for a pillow, but providing free feed for your mammoths?

On the day of checkout they decided to have some work done on the elevators, so they would be shut down. At what time of day did they shut down the elevators I hear you ask - during the middle of the day when the hotel is empty? No between 0950 and 1030 which is probably when MOST of the guests on summer-vacation would like to either check out or go out into they city after breakfast.....

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robotron3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertKrygsman, General Manager at Hilton Antwerp Old Town, responded to this review, 17 October 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience with the fellow travellers of Tripadvisor.

Once again, thank you very much and we wish you continued safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,058 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    839
    813
    280
    85
    41
See reviews for
332
795
100
540
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2009

I stayed at this downtown hotel over the weekend with two family members, sharing a deluxe (business) room with my spouse and an adjoining standard room for the third adult. This arrangement is really nice due to the common door between the rooms. This facility has large rooms (the deluxe had a large standard bathroom AND a half bath!). The beds were adequate but not really up to Hilton quality in terms of linens and mattress comfort (come on, Hilton, your mid range Hampton Inns have great beds!). In addition, the towels were thin for a hotel in this price range (not a big gripe, but more a 2 star hotel level). Note that the value for this review is high because we were able to take advantage of a pre-paid "two nights for the cost of one plus free breakfast" offer that was available for the weekend. Otherwise, the value would be average at best since Hilton does not appear to allow more than two people per room here. I also commend the hotel for security in that you cannot access the room floors except by key card elevator. The location is wonderful for walking around Antwerp to see the sights (the fantastic cathedral is a practically next door -don't miss it). The hotel block is also home to a large indoor shopping mall, which has a decent supermarket in the basement - good for getting good Belgian chocolates at retail, not tourist, prices. The breakfast is very nice and tasty, with friendly table service to supplement the buffet (my usual complaint about European hotel breakfasts applies here - I wish they would include more fiber-rich cereals in addition to the sugary and refined varieties) . The desk staff did a nice job and were accommodating. Although an expensive business hotel for the most part, it is also fine for tourists and a decent value if you can get a special deal on the rates.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlaGolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertKrygsman, General Manager at Hilton Antwerp Old Town, responded to this review, 17 October 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience with the fellow travellers of Tripadvisor.

I was very pleased to read your very positive comments and am hopeful that when your travels bring you back to our great city, you will once again plan to stay with us at the Hilton Antwerp.

Once again, thank you very much and we wish you continued safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2009

I've been to this hotel before, and each time i've loved it.
I don't think there is a better location in the city. I stayed during a heatwave, and the air conditioning was really needed and very welcome.
My room (room no 421 on 4th floor) was spacious, and i had no complaints.
If you can book well in advance and you're not likely to change / cancel your reservation once booked, you can get some decent reduced rates at this hotel.
No tea/coffee making facilities in the room, i missed my early morning cup of tea ! apart from that i could hardly fault my stay at The Hilton.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALLWRIGHTY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertKrygsman, General Manager at Hilton Antwerp Old Town, responded to this review, 17 October 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience with the fellow travellers of Tripadvisor.

I was very pleased to read your very positive comments and am hopeful that when your travels bring you back to our great city, you will once again plan to stay with us at the Hilton Antwerp.

Once again, thank you very much and we wish you continued safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2009

I picked this hotel because of its location. I stayed for 1 night, but did not get the best impression.

1. I arrived at 1PM (check in is at 2PM). I asked for a higher floor, to have some view. The hotel is only 5 stories hight, the 3rd floor sounded OK. After getting to the room and looking out the window I was surprised to see some kind of a glass pyramid on top of the roof, right in front of me. It turns out, the hotel is built around a glass coupole of the adjacent department store. The room on the inside are looking at the glass coupole and other rooms. I called the reception and was offered an executive type room for a higher price or another same type room at 2PM. I went back to the reception, left my luggage and went out. I could have saved the time, had I received full disclosure about the room before going up.

2. At check in time, the hotel puts on hold the nighly room fee PLUS a hold on 150-250 Euros. Unfortunately, this fact came to my attention later in the day. It is not disclosed either in writing or verbally. I was told this was for "incidentals". Considering, that I had a reservation for only 1 night at 199 Euros, this amount seems excessive. Contrary to the Hilton staff knowledge, once the fund are put on hold , the hold does not "fall off" in a couple of days, but it stays for 30 days, unless the credit card company receives a specific request from the merchant to remove the hold. When I asked what "incidentals" were I was told it could be room service, restaurant charges, etc. Why not charge when you actually use any of them? It turned out, I did not have any of these charges.

3. Surprisingly, there was no bathrobe in the hotel bathroom. I called to inquire about it thinking it was a mistake. I have never stayed in a hotel where a robe was not offered in a "deluxe" room. I was told this is a recent cost saving measure. At the reception I was told it was offered in the executive rooms but not in the deluxe room. It is provided upon request. Unfortunately, if you are accustomed to have one, you are not thinking to request it until it is too late...

4. I requested a taxi to take me to the train station. The young woman kept calling me by a totally wrong last name. She also wrote the order into the book at the reception. I was just too annoyed to point this out to her.

5. When I returned to Paris, it turned out my friends left a message in the hotel at 9:30PM the previous night. Since I do not own a cell phone, this was the only way to reach me. They were concerned, when I did not get back to them. I never received the message. When I called the hotel from Paris the same day I checked out, I was told there was no record of any calls for me.

Overall, the hotel is old and tired looking. The lobby and reception are dark, not very appealing. The hotel is in need of some work. It has a very good location, this however does not make up for all the negatives. Next time, I will find another hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank morelucknexttime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertKrygsman, General Manager at Hilton Antwerp Old Town, responded to this review, 17 October 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience with the fellow travellers of Tripadvisor.

Once again, thank you very much and we wish you continued safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tuusula, Finland
Level Contributor
156 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2009

This is not a 5 star super-luxury hotel but nevertheless a very decent place to utilize as a base for exploring the Antwerp sights. My review is based on 2 night stay in May’09.

Location:
Right in the middle of Antwerp Groenplaats square with lots of bars and restaurants within a stone’s throw. So you certainly don’t die of hunger or thirst in this place… Also plenty of shopping activities nearby, for example hotel lobby is directly connected to a mall.

Room:
Had a reasonable sized Executive Room in the 5th floor, not the biggest I’ve seen but more than enough for me as a single traveler. There was 32 inch LCD TV and the normal equipment such as safety box in the room. Bathroom had separate bath and shower sections. There was some noise from the corridor but very quiet otherwise.

Room had a complimentary 1l water bottle and some kind of gourmet vegetable plate. Oh and some Belgium chocolate, of course :-)

Etc:
Tap in the bathroom broke down completely! It was quickly fixed though

Didn’t try restaurant or gym so cannot comment them.

As HHonors Diamond member I was updated to executive floor and thus had access to the fairly large Executive Lounge. Sparkling wine was available apparently pretty much throughout the day. Breakfast in the lounge was OK, no great selection but anyway including also a small hot food selection (which is not always the case in this kind of lounge). I didn’t attend the evening hors d'oeuvres due to many interesting bars & restaurants in the city.

It was somewhat visible that hotel has not received a renovation lately, for example elevators were a bit outdated & slow. Not a major issue though since there wasn’t any peeling paint or stains in the walls etc as such

Would I return there?
Yeah, sure. Nice location for exploring Antwerp and not that expensive

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dadsasdasd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertKrygsman, General Manager at Hilton Antwerp Old Town, responded to this review, 17 October 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience with the fellow travellers of Tripadvisor.

I was very pleased to read your very positive comments and am hopeful that when your travels bring you back to our great city, you will once again plan to stay with us at the Hilton Antwerp.

Once again, thank you very much and we wish you continued safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
105 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2009

Nice room on executive floor. Perfect lounge and even better breakfast!

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michel99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertKrygsman, General Manager at Hilton Antwerp Old Town, responded to this review, 17 October 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience with the fellow travellers of Tripadvisor.

I was very pleased to read your very positive comments and am hopeful that when your travels bring you back to our great city, you will once again plan to stay with us at the Hilton Antwerp.

Once again, thank you very much and we wish you continued safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen County, New Jersey
Level Contributor
186 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2009

This was our fourth stay over the last five years. There's certainly no sense of being "in Antwerp", but the "American" size and comfort of the rooms can't be beat. They are extremely quiet, even if you get a "front" window. This is a perfect location for touring Antwerp; Groenplaats has great subway and tram access, although it's not as close to the train station or the main outdoor bus plaza. (I've walked there, but not with a heavy bag.) The sunny breakfast room is very pleasant, with a view of the Reubens statue in Goenplaats. Grote Markt square, City Hall, the Tourist Office, and the Cathedral are just steps away. The Reubens House and the Meyer Vanden Berg museum are walking distance, the Royal Museum of Fine Arts is a mile away, but right on the #8 Tram from Groenplaats (tram direction to your Right, away from the Hilton.)

Your decision to stay here might consider the opportunity to price the room in advance on the Hilton website. By paying in advance, we got a basic (but huge, w/ King-size bed, separate tub and shower) room for 149 Euros/$193 per night, including all taxes and service charges. That's not "cheap", but for the level of comfort and location, it might be as good a value to you as to us.

We've never had the problems reported by the frequent-stayer who wrote a thoughtful but very unhappy review below. My wife (on business without me) once found the hotel overbooked, but they eventually got her a room somewhere.

If you drink a lot, are not interested in large meals, and are willing to spring for it, the Executive Floor here can be a good value. We didn't pay for it this time, and enjoyed the many fine restaurants in Antwerp. But the private 5th-floor lounge has vast amounts of hors d'oeuvres, free wine, beer and cordials, and a much quicker (if less lavish) breakfast than downstairs, if you have business meetings to get off to. The point is, you can skip some meals that way!

Speaking of food, the Hilton is located directly between the two best made-to-order waffle shops in this part of Belgium: Desire de Lille-Schoenmarkt 12, and Leon, Melkmarkt 29. For the really thrifty, the Hilton lobby is connected to a three-story shopping mall that has a huge supermarket in the basement. But of course, the mini-bars are too full to really use them as refrigerators in your room! I'll estimate that there are 50 restaurants within 100 yards of the Hilton.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank obsoperator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertKrygsman, General Manager at Hilton Antwerp Old Town, responded to this review, 17 October 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience with the fellow travellers of Tripadvisor.

I was very pleased to read your very positive comments and am hopeful that when your travels bring you back to our great city, you will once again plan to stay with us at the Hilton Antwerp.

Once again, thank you very much and we wish you continued safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
1.0 mi away
Lindner Hotel & City Lounge Antwerpen
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp
0.7 mi away
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
#6 of 72 in Antwerp
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Antwerpen
0.1 mi away
Hotel Julien
Hotel Julien
#8 of 72 in Antwerp
377 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel De Witte Lelie Antwerp
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Antwerp Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Antwerp Old Town

Property: Hilton Antwerp Old Town
Address: Groenplaats 32, Antwerp 2000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Antwerp
#2 Luxury Hotel in Antwerp
#2 Business Hotel in Antwerp
#4 Romantic Hotel in Antwerp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Antwerp Old Town 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded the 2012 Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence, the Hilton Antwerp Old Town is an elegant hotel housed in an historic building of architectural importance, in the most central, prime location of any hotel in Antwerp, right on the Groenplaats Square. This luxurious hotel is within walking distance of the finest shopping the city has to offer, the best museums are a brief walk away including the fantastic new MAS, nightlife and fine dining all within 5 minutes walk of the hotel. Hotel facilities include the largest guest rooms in Antwerp with marbled bathrooms (with separate stall showers), Flat Screen TV's, minibar, coffee/tea making facilities, wifi throughout (at a fee), and for those needing that added bit of luxury, the Hilton Antwerp Old Town has the only true Executive Floor concept in Antwerp, with a classically elegant lounge and an exclusive outdoor terrace. For families, the hotel offers family rooms and family suites for up to 4 Guests. The new restaurant of the hotel "Brasserie Flo Antwerp", opened since July 2014, brings you the delights of a world-class brasserie on the Groenplaats. It is opened all day long from breakfast to dinner. This new Brasserie, combining stylish decor with inspired food and skillful, dedicated service, offers authentic French-Belgian cuisine using nothing but the freshest and finest products. The seafood counter brings the variety of this fabulous food from an abundant plateau fruits de mer to lobster dishes. Pass by the Bar and be surprised tasting some local beers or home-made cocktails. For meetings and galas, the Hilton Antwerp Old Town houses the elegant Belle Epoque Ballroom, the largest hotel ballroom in Belgium along with 11 other flexible and functional meeting rooms. Additionally, the hotel offers a 24 hour rooms service and renovated Lobby Lounge to take a coffee or savor the signature Royal Sinjoor High-Tea. There is a public Parking Garage on Groenplaats with direct lift access to the hotel lobby (via -1st floor of the parking). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Antwerp Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Antwerp
Antwerp Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing