We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in best location in Antwerpen”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Antwerp Old Town
Ranked #2 of 72 Hotels in Antwerp
Certificate of Excellence
Madrid, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Great hotel in best location in Antwerpen”
Reviewed 7 November 2010

I chose this hotel for my parent's visit to Antwerp where I am living. The choice could not not be better for their first trip to the city and they had a great stay and all of us a good dinner in their restaurant. We paid 149 euros night including breakfast, so it was good value for the money

LOCATION: in Groenplatz, very near from the cathedral and historical center. There is garage where you can park your car, tram stops, ... it is probably the best place if you want to do some seightseing in Antwerp.

HOTEL/ROOMS: classical, elegant and modern rooms, with plenty of space, flat screen TV, minibar, big bathroom. The hotel is a beautiful building and although it is only 4 stars, its level is close to 5. The lobby is also quite big and the breakfast room/restaurant lies to Groenplatz with nice views to the Cathedral and Rubens statue.

FOOD: breakfast is very complete, with big selection of warm and cold food, fresh squeezed juices, ... We had dinner once and the food was very good, with fresh and tasty fish, good desserts, ... good service, ... only complain was the wine selection. We choose one Spanish wine (Valdubon Riviera Duero), but changed it to a French as it was very young one from 2007 (already too late to drink), not really the quality you expect for 35 euros the bottle, so the responsible of wine selection should complain the provider as we told him. I am sure for that price that company can deliver much better wines and not one that costs 3-4 euros in the supermarket. Anyway, this restaurant is quite good with reasonable prices and great location, so even if you do not stay at the hotel is worth to have dinner there.

Overall, we were very satisfied and we would choose this hotel again for next stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller_spain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertKrygsman, General Manager at Hilton Antwerp Old Town, responded to this review, 17 October 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience with the fellow travellers of Tripadvisor.

I was very pleased to read your very positive comments and am hopeful that when your travels bring you back to our great city, you will once again plan to stay with us at the Hilton Antwerp.

Once again, thank you very much and we wish you continued safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,090 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    857
    824
    281
    86
    42
See reviews for
339
806
101
549
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
County Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2010

I recently stayed just one night in the Hilton Antwerp. I had travelled to Antwerp from Brussels with a friend for a concert and we treated ourselves to a night in Antwerp. I really loved this hotel and was sorry it was just a one-night stay! From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very special by the gentleman who checked us in. He was very helpful with advice on how to get to the Sports Paleis for the concert.. The room was very spacious and the bathroom had a bath and separate shower cubicle which I really love. The beds were very comfortable and the soundproofing was excellent. Breakfast was plentiful with a lot of choice. I will definitely treat myself to another stay in the Hilton Antwerp and definitely for more than just one night. My only gripe is price but I do always believe that you get what you pay for and I do believe it was worth it.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaremcDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertKrygsman, General Manager at Hilton Antwerp Old Town, responded to this review, 17 October 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience with the fellow travellers of Tripadvisor.

I was very pleased to read your very positive comments and am hopeful that when your travels bring you back to our great city, you will once again plan to stay with us at the Hilton Antwerp.

Once again, thank you very much and we wish you continued safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2010

The Hilton Antwerp is a beautifully fronted hotel on the Groen Platz, central to shopping, museums, churches and local markets. Everything you could ever want is close to the hotel (which was just as well as it poured with rain so we didn't have to walk too far to anything). The staff were very helpful and friendly - from the front desk (Annegian) right through to the house-keepers. Nothing was too difficult. The executive room was very comfortable and quiet. It was spacious with a writing desk and relaxed seating for four people. The executive lounge was likewise very relaxing and homely. There are always refreshments on hand in the lounge but don't make the mistake of eating too much as the new winter menu in the hotel restaurant in the Orangerie is wonderful; overlooking the plaza and serving refined meals that celebrate local game. The food and beverage manager was extremely helpful at explaining the meal choices and looking after us. During our time in Antwerp we also dined at Hofstraat 24 and had lunch at Pasta Winkel - both of which were fabulous. And we were fortunate enough to catch an exhibition by the milliner Stephen Jones at MoMu, the fashion museum. Our evenings were wrapped up in the hotel bar which offered a comprehensive cocktail and whiskey list.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stuff4jus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertKrygsman, General Manager at Hilton Antwerp Old Town, responded to this review, 17 October 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience with the fellow travellers of Tripadvisor.

I was very pleased to read your very positive comments and am hopeful that when your travels bring you back to our great city, you will once again plan to stay with us at the Hilton Antwerp.

Once again, thank you very much and we wish you continued safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2010

The location could not be better, the Hilton is next to the catheral in the middle of the old town. The garage is next/under the hotel. My GPS located us direct next to Hilton and the garage ... thanks to an advise from another TripAdviser review to enter "Eiermarkt" in the GPS! The shopping area is also not far away,only minutes to walk. We had a nice great room in the 5th floor. Very clean. The service was first class, very helpful and very friendly.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank resorttrip1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertKrygsman, General Manager at Hilton Antwerp Old Town, responded to this review, 17 October 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience with the fellow travellers of Tripadvisor.

I was very pleased to read your very positive comments and am hopeful that when your travels bring you back to our great city, you will once again plan to stay with us at the Hilton Antwerp.

Once again, thank you very much and we wish you continued safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen County, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2010

My wife and I stayed here in August, 2010 and September, 2010. These were our fourth and fifth stays here, usually a year apart. I've reviewed the hotel on TripAdvisor before. She's there on business and I'm a tourist on these visits.

This large property (if only 5 floors) was welcomed by Antwerp about twenty years ago as a gut renovation of a beloved old department store. It's a major destination for business meetings and Sunday brunch. Their ballroom was being used for rehearsals (not open to the public) of the Miss Belgium contest during our most recent stay. They have a superb business center adjacent to some of the meeting rooms. Wireless internet is typically at Hilton rates.

The rooms are large and comfortable, and I've never heard a sound from the street. Groenplaats (a major public square in front) has a lot of civic events, and is a convenient transit hub. In fact, the Hilton is a less-than ten Euro cab ride from the Antwerp Central ("Centraal") Railroad Station. Right in front of that train station, the #10 and #11 surface trams, marked "Melkmarkt" (that is, trams going to the left, just in front of the Radisson hotel you face when exiting the station), stop two short blocks from the Hilton. I've found them to have total walking distances less than the many underground trams from the station to Groenplaats. And it's a very fast ride, ten minutes maximum. There's a garage right under Groenplaats, and another public garage, "Meir" just a block away. Traffic can be heavy during rush hours, both downtown and on the highways.

Room rates vary tremendously here. They do tend to have busy leisure weekend bookings, unlike other cities where the hotels have trouble filling rooms on weekends. It has been my experience that early bookings are usually cheaper than last-minute. There can be lines at the front desk during peak check-in times. Every taxi or restaurant reservation I've ordered was taken care of precisely as requested. The staff is skilled and pleasant. Your room may not get made up until the afternoon, but that doesn't bother me.

We stayed in a large, attractive "Business Room" in August, and an "Executive Floor" room in September, which was an HHonors upgrade. Although it's still an attractive bonus, the Executive Lounge does not have as lavish a snack menu as past years, nor is food available for as many hours as it used to be. There's still and sparkling wine and aperitifs every evening, as well as bottled beers. Several after-dinner cordials are available later, but the lounge closes (I think...) at 10PM. The Executive Floor has a lovely view from the outdoor terrace, which faces the sunset (as well as the tower and carillon of the Cathedral.) There are nice lounge chairs there, but it's often cool or windy in Antwerp.

It's my own opinion, but when a previous reviewer describes the bathrooms as "outdated", he means that there are no jacuzzis and the separate shower stalls (not all rooms have both a tub and a shower) are smaller glass and tile, not jumbo and marble! Also, the articulated makeup mirrors don't have lights in them. But the bathrooms and rooms have been well-kept up, showing no wear and tear. This is not a St. Regis, it's primarily a business hotel, but at the high end of that category. For Europe, the rooms and bathrooms are huge. There are a few luxury boutique hotels in Antwerp, but they are not as well-located, nor do they all have adjacent parking garages.

It's quick and convenient to have the smaller hot buffet breakfast in the Executive Lounge when you're eligible for that floor. But the massive buffet in the ground-floor restaurant (with a greenhouse room beside Groenplaats) is more extensive and is as lavish as ever. Many Hilton bookings include breakfast, so consider your many options when evaluating a rate offer. If you're on a tight budget, there are at least six tourist breakfast spots within a block of the front door.

A few sightseeing notes for Antwerp: The superb KMSKA art museum has closed (October, 2010) for several YEARS of renovation. Luckily, the brand-new MAS museum on the waterfront is about to open its modern building. Some often overlooked gems in town are the Rockoxhuis Museum, which is small but important in the history of Peter Paul Rubens, the Rivierenhof park on the edge of town, which rivals the big parks in London and New York, and the Zurenborg architectural district, with literally dozens of magnificent townhouses from 1880 to 1940. The following excellent museums are within a five-minute walk of the Hilton: Mayer Van Den Bergh, Rockoxhuis, Plantin-Moretus, Vleeshuis (Butcher's Hall), Magdenhuis, Ruihuis (Sewer Museum !), Het Steen. The Grote Markt/Town Hall square, the Tourist Information office, the Cathedral, and most of the other major churches are also within five minutes.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank obsoperator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertKrygsman, General Manager at Hilton Antwerp Old Town, responded to this review, 17 October 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience with the fellow travellers of Tripadvisor.

I was very pleased to read your very positive comments and am hopeful that when your travels bring you back to our great city, you will once again plan to stay with us at the Hilton Antwerp.

Once again, thank you very much and we wish you continued safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2010

Surprisingly modern, especially compared to some lagging Hilton properties (such as Luxembourg Hilton), bright, lovely lobby, always love a functional lobby that serves afternoon tea --- clean, spacious rooms. Excellent bedding and large, sophisticated bathroom. Breakfast buffet was abundant and seemed geared to international clientele. Great location, close to Ruebens House, Diamond Museum, shopping, great waterzooi right across the street. Would stay here again, especially at promotional rate of E99. Oh, beware of parking charges and keep eyes peeled for that parking lot.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jumpsturdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertKrygsman, General Manager at Hilton Antwerp Old Town, responded to this review, 17 October 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience with the fellow travellers of Tripadvisor.

I was very pleased to read your very positive comments and am hopeful that when your travels bring you back to our great city, you will once again plan to stay with us at the Hilton Antwerp.

Once again, thank you very much and we wish you continued safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington, dc
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2010

It's hard for me to judge the overall hotel because we stayed on the executive floor, but if you are hilton honors and can stay there, the room we had was the most elegant we had ever stayed in and we have stayed in lots of five star hotels. it was huge and had everything a suite has, but all in one very large room. the lobby was large and very elegant. Staff very friendly and helpful. located on main square and right at metro stop which takes you everywhere visitors are likely to go

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mickey75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertKrygsman, General Manager at Hilton Antwerp Old Town, responded to this review, 17 October 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience with the fellow travellers of Tripadvisor.

I was very pleased to read your very positive comments and am hopeful that when your travels bring you back to our great city, you will once again plan to stay with us at the Hilton Antwerp.

Once again, thank you very much and we wish you continued safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
1.0 mi away
Lindner Hotel & City Lounge Antwerpen
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp
0.7 mi away
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
#6 of 72 in Antwerp
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Julien
Hotel Julien
#8 of 72 in Antwerp
379 reviews
0.8 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Antwerpen
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rubens - Grote Markt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Antwerp Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Antwerp Old Town

Property: Hilton Antwerp Old Town
Address: Groenplaats 32, Antwerp 2000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Antwerp
#2 Business Hotel in Antwerp
#2 Family Hotel in Antwerp
#4 Romantic Hotel in Antwerp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Antwerp Old Town 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded the 2012 Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence, the Hilton Antwerp Old Town is an elegant hotel housed in an historic building of architectural importance, in the most central, prime location of any hotel in Antwerp, right on the Groenplaats Square. This luxurious hotel is within walking distance of the finest shopping the city has to offer, the best museums are a brief walk away including the fantastic new MAS, nightlife and fine dining all within 5 minutes walk of the hotel. Hotel facilities include the largest guest rooms in Antwerp with marbled bathrooms (with separate stall showers), Flat Screen TV's, minibar, coffee/tea making facilities, wifi throughout (at a fee), and for those needing that added bit of luxury, the Hilton Antwerp Old Town has the only true Executive Floor concept in Antwerp, with a classically elegant lounge and an exclusive outdoor terrace. For families, the hotel offers family rooms and family suites for up to 4 Guests. The new restaurant of the hotel "Brasserie Flo Antwerp", opened since July 2014, brings you the delights of a world-class brasserie on the Groenplaats. It is opened all day long from breakfast to dinner. This new Brasserie, combining stylish decor with inspired food and skillful, dedicated service, offers authentic French-Belgian cuisine using nothing but the freshest and finest products. The seafood counter brings the variety of this fabulous food from an abundant plateau fruits de mer to lobster dishes. Pass by the Bar and be surprised tasting some local beers or home-made cocktails. For meetings and galas, the Hilton Antwerp Old Town houses the elegant Belle Epoque Ballroom, the largest hotel ballroom in Belgium along with 11 other flexible and functional meeting rooms. Additionally, the hotel offers a 24 hour rooms service and renovated Lobby Lounge to take a coffee or savor the signature Royal Sinjoor High-Tea. There is a public Parking Garage on Groenplaats with direct lift access to the hotel lobby (via -1st floor of the parking). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Antwerp Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Antwerp
Antwerp Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing