We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Astoria Hotel Antwerp
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$160
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$279
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$244
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$127
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$187
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$168
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$354
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$331
HotelQuickly
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (545)
Filter reviews
545 results
Traveller rating
133
275
117
17
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
133
275
117
17
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdiamond districtcentral stationfew minutes walkfree wificity centrerubens houserooms are comfortableexcellent breakfasthotel is situatedcomfortable staybig roomdouble bedbudget hotelreceptionistkosherbelgiumeuro
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
115 - 120 of 545 reviews
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I stayed here because the hotel I was in was sold out when I decided to stay an extra night on the 7th of Dec. We were upgraded to the deluxe room with a balcony and breakfast but the room was spacious but old. The bathroom curtains were thin and old which lead to water leaking all over the bathroom when someone took a shower, the toilet was dirty and old with someones hair on it and on the floor.
The towels were cheap quality. The bed was big but the sheets were dirty; I saw hair on the pillow when I wanted to go to bed! it was just a disgusting experience. I called the reception for tooth brush and tooth paste but was asked to come down to the lobby and buy some! Not worth the 116 euros I spent on this stay! This will be the last time I choose this hotel and I definitely would not recommend it to any of you.

Room Tip: Don't stay here at all!
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Orchidazzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FranceDZ, General Manager at Astoria Hotel Antwerp, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Dear guest,

We sincerely appreciate the time you spent to write about your stay. Be assured that I have discussed your comment with our staff and that the necessary actions have been taken to avoid this situation in the future. Please accept our apologies for all the inconvenience and we hope to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,

France De Zutter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We stayed for a single night on 27 Nov 2013
The good stuff:
-Very close to Antwerpen Centraal Station (5 mins of walking), in the diamond district.
-Spacious and clean room and toilet
-Good breakfast (fruit, scrambled and hardboiled eggs, sausages, coldcuts, and many spreads including pates and Speculoos for those who wanna know what the fuss is about)
-value for money
-staff could speak passable English

Not so good:
-A bit of a walk to the Antwerp old town (20-30mins)

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Defz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FranceDZ, General Manager at Astoria Hotel Antwerp, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying with us and for your positive feedback. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you were satisfied with the service. We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Kind regards,

France De Zutter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We visited Astoria from 15 – 18 November 2013. The hotel is located in an one-way traffic street in walking distance from the train station (about 7 min. on foot) and the city centre (about 10 min.). It has its own parking at 19 euro’s per night. But there is also the possibility to go to a Park & Ride (e.g. Metropolis) or to park in the Jan van Rijswijcklaan where you can park for free and take the tram (line 6) to the train station. Entering the hotel you will come into a small lobby with on the left the large breakfast room and on your left a rather cosy sitting corner with 2 computers (not for free!). Wifi is free in all rooms, but on the day of arrival it was impossible to get connected, despite the receptionist was very helpful to reconnect. There is no bar and you cannot have lunch or diner, although you can have some drinks and snacks at the reception. Ceck-in/check out went very smoothly. Overall the staff is very helpful. There are 2 elevators to bring you to your floor.
We had ours on the 2nd. We asked for a quiet room and we got one (209). It is a rather large, simple, well decorated room with a large double bed with 2 excellent mattresses (boxspring) and two side tables. There is a large working table with an LCD TV with many channels in different languages, coffee/tea facilities and a mirror, and the possibility to connect your laptop. There is also a large linen cupboard with a safe in it. There is neither a fridge nor a mini bar. There is an air-conditioner, but not in use at that time. The window is soundproofed. The bathroom is rather small but has a toilet, a wash stand and a bath tub with a good working shower with an anti-slip floor and a safety grip at the wall. There is only liquid soap and towels are changed every day, at least partially. Room and bathroom arevery clean.
The warm and cold breakfast buffet is excellent. There are several kinds of bread, meat and cheese products, fresh fruit, fresh yoghurt, etc. Coffee is really good. Our breakfast was included in the price of the room, otherwise 15 euro would be rather pricey. We booked through Otel at 80 euro a night.
All in all the hotel is very recommendable.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwmpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FranceDZ, General Manager at Astoria Hotel Antwerp, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your impressions. We're always delighted when a guest lets us know how much they enjoyed their stay.We appreciate you recommending us and we hope you'll visit Astoria hotel again.

Warm regards,

France De Zutter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

This hotel is situated in the diamond district.We had a room with a balcony so we could watch the people rush to work to one of the biggest diamond centres in the world. And yes, a balcony is a great asset to a hotelroom. The hotel is also adjacent to one of the biggest jewish districts in Europe. And to complete the social structure surrounding this hotel, 400 meters walking the other way you could find people from the rest of the world. For someone like me, who wants to experience the city, no place is better to start.
The hotel has big rooms and about half of them have balconies. The breakfast is great with croissants, scrambled eggs and fruits: the works. It serves no dinner, but lots of restaurants in the neighborhood.
So if you like walking around in some of the most impressive districts in Antwerp, join in!.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with balcony. They have a private parking, ask for that too.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Willy_Dune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FranceDZ, General Manager at Astoria Hotel Antwerp, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Astoria hotel for your recent visit to Antwerp. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,

France De Zutter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my time at the Astoria Hotel. The outside is underwhelming but that is to be expected for the price you pay. The room was clean and had a decent work station area. It is close to the diamond district so I am not sure why others have felt it was dangerous. There is a police post about a block away. The breakfast was extensive and I wish every place I stayed had such a large eating area and menu selection. Walking distance from the train and in the middle of Antwerp. Will stay again when in Antwerp.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GastroGemHunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FranceDZ, General Manager at Astoria Hotel Antwerp, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. It is a pleasure to read your comments regarding our rooms, location and breakfast options. Astoria Hotel team will be more than happy to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,

France De Zutter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews