We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not remotely what was advertised.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Astoria Hotel Antwerp
Ranked #19 of 72 Hotels in Antwerp
Reviewed 27 March 2014

The idea was, on the occasion of my 40th Birthday, to be able to sit, hopefully outside on the advertised terrace/balcony, relax, enjoy the advertised complimentary bottle of Prosecco, and look at the park, as spring took its hold, possibly in an ironic acknowledgment that, my own youth is now well and truly buried in the sands of time. And then head out to a heavy metal concert to begin my midlife crisis with a (head)bang.

Well, as I said, that WAS the idea. Unfortunately that was not the case. Firstly I should mention that, in general, I do not stay in "posh" hotels. I have worked in/for posh hotels, The Grand in Brighton being one, but I do not stay in them. I see no point, as, in general, I expect not to be in said hotel for anything other than sleeping and freshening up, but, this was my wife's treat. Go somewhere perceived as "a bit snazzy", just for the one night, and, the pictures certainly looked like it would be that.

I indulged her.

I can feel you thinking "Such hardship endured for your wife's pleasure", and some might say that, it's entirely possible that maybe, it was her who was perhaps looking forward to the hotel, more than the prospect of 3 hours of sweaty hairy men watching more sweaty hairy men with guitars shout a lot. I cannot deny that this passed my mind too, however, I digress.

To me, €130 constitutes expensive for one night. I will happily stay in a Britannia Hotel in the UK for 33% of that price. In point of fact, last year on my 39th Birthday, we stayed in Las Vegas, for far less, and had no issue whatsoever. The Astoria was certainly no better than a UK Britannia.

There were 2 balconies. Accessible by stepping through a window. With no chairs on because, well, the view constituted fire exits and the back of other hotels. There was no park in sight, which was somewhat obvious on the approach to the hotel, as it was situated in a side street among other side streets.

There was no park view. See above.

There was no complimentary bottle of wine to go with the whole romance of what should've been happening, presumably because no-one in their right mind could have expected anything remotely romantic to be taking place within this environment.

The decor of the room was dull. Dank even. Besmirched with the air of defeat which had probably oozed from other travellers having arrived here with high hopes only to have them dashed, this contrast perhaps, seeping into the walls, so that instead all that remains is desolate despair reflecting the reality which is The Astoria Hotel room to which we were assigned.

Somewhat disenamoured, my wife headed to the reception, while I quietly cogitated about how I could've used the €70 by which the hotel was overpriced by. The lady on reception, contacted someone of more seniority who proceeded to say, almost without hesitation, that we could move to The Leopold Hotel, for the same price, which is owned by the same company. It was almost as if... and of course this is only speculation... people had complained about the exact same issue before.

So, we were whisked away to the Leopold, where we were offered a normal room for the same price, or, a room that looked startlingly like the room we thought we were booking originally, but, for that, we would have to of course, pay an extra €50. €50 more, to get the room we'd originally paid for, after all the grief which had gone before, was never going to happen, so instead, we took the same priced room, and cut our losses.

There was still no wine. There was still no balcony/terrace to sit and enjoy the.. oh wait... now I see again why there was no wine.

However, the Leopold room at least looked like a room that welcomed people. While I know that should be a congenital part of a hotel room, at this point it was a "thankful for small mercies" moment.

The only positive I can give you for the Astoria Hotel is that the lady who moved us to the Leopold did so with accustomed ease, but the cynic in me wants to think that this is perhaps due to the repetition of such events becoming second nature, rather than good customer service. However, that might be an injustice to her.

Room Tip: Having only seen the one room, I would suggest picking one away from where we were situated which wa...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AliWiseman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FranceDZ, General Manager at Astoria Hotel Antwerp, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing this elaborate review, as, without exception, we take all reviews very seriously.
We, at Astoria Hotel Antwerp, have 'value for money' as our core value and will go over and beyond to achieve this on a daily basis. As all guests are unique, expectations will differ. In fact, all our efforts go into making every stay with us a memorable one.
However, when these expectations are based on alleged complimentary services which are incorrect., Astoria Hotel Antwerp is consequently unable to meet the requirements for such demands. Understandably, when one expects a " complimentary bottle of Prosecco (or wine) and a Park-view" in our reputable, well established three star hotel, one will be utterly disappointed. We kindly request a second look on the website on which you made the booking, which does not state any of the aforementioned 'bottle of Prosecco or Park-view'.
When compared to other three star properties in the same area, Astoria Hotel is proud to point out our highly competitive rates in regards to our location, quality of service & facilities.
We deeply regret not taking the time to discuss in detail your findings and expectations on the spot before upgrading you to a four star boutique hotel. This would have been a perfect opportunity to assess the situation based on your findings and work towards a memorable stay.

Please don't hesitate to contact us on gm.antwerp@leopoldhotels.com for further details.

Kind regards,

France De Zutter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (516)
There are newer reviews for Astoria Hotel Antwerp
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 516 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed there for one night but checked in quite late, without any address for dinner. The staff was very nice and indicated us an excellent Italian restaurant, not far from the hotel, which is by the way close to the Centraal Station.

Stayed:
Thank slipkangourou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FranceDZ, General Manager at Astoria Hotel Antwerp, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. We always do our best to guarantee to all of our guests a pleasant stay. I hope whenever you decide to come to Antwerp again you will consider Astoria hotel for accommodations.

Warm regards,

France De Zutter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

The city itself was a big disappointment that weekend, unfriendly restaurants, no pleasant bars open. Couldn't even pay by card at one establishment where we had a drink, making us miss out on the first few moments of the fireworks!
But atleast the hotel was decent. The area around the hotel is pretty run down, the old jewish quarters, but close to center and railway station.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Willyke93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FranceDZ, General Manager at Astoria Hotel Antwerp, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your stay at Astoria Hotel. We are sorry to read that Antwerp did not met your expectations for New Year, but we really hope we can welcome you again in our hotel.

Warm regards,

France De Zutter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

A well-located hotel with decent sized rooms. The staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast selection was impressive. It's nothing exceptional, but certainly does the job for a short business trip to the city.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keadma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FranceDZ, General Manager at Astoria Hotel Antwerp, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking your time to write this review about Astoria Hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially for mentioning the friendliness and helpfulness of our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

France De Zutter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We spent 3 nights at the Astoria as part of a long weekend break to Antwerp.

The reception staff are courteous and friendly and the breakfast buffet is quite good, with a good selection of food and drinks.

The hotel is not in the nicest part of Antwerp, on a side street, but it is convenient for the train station and for visiting the main parts of Antwerp on foot.

The room was dated with marks on the walls and was very warm. We also had to get up early on our last day as there was work going on in the room next door which was really noisy so we couldn't sleep.

An OK hotel for anyone on a budget.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jannie77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FranceDZ, General Manager at Astoria Hotel Antwerp, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing Astoria Hotel for your recent stay in Antwerp and for sharing your impressions. We are sorry to hear that you were disturbed by the noise from the room next door. We are currently installing a new fire alarm system in our hotel and new smoke detectors in all our rooms. The works will be finished soon and we hope to have the opportunity to service you again in the future.

Kind regards,

France De Zutter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Some of the reviews of this hotel have me a little confused, perhaps i'm an easy going soul and don't expect too much?! Or maybe we don't go hunting around trying to find things to nitpick?!
I am in the recommend camp. My husband and i stayed here in December for the Christmas markets. Having stayed in Antwerp before we know that parking is expensive so we were happy to pay for the convenience of parking underground next to the hotel.
I had booked directly with the hotel and managed to find that they did a winter weekend offer, three nights for the price of two, so very happy.
On arrival we were shown our room which was the usual type of hotel room, nothing bad to say about it. The bed was extra large, very comfy, clean, and perfectly warm. Free Wi-Fi worked perfectly for us. The bathroom was also fine. The receptionist told us that the sister hotel just around the corner had a bar and restaurant, she also gave us tickets for a complimentary drink each (as Leffe was over three euros a glass i thought this was a lovely thing.)
As for the location, it's good. OK it may be in a more run down area of Antwerp, but aren't you on holiday to experience another city? We wandered for miles and never felt unhappy or unsure in the area, and don't know why you would. A quick right turn out of the hotel, then a left and you are at the train station where you can either walk into town, or catch the underground very cheaply. On leaving the receptionist handed me a hotel logo bag as a than kyou for booking directly with them, which again was a lovely gesture and just meant i could fill it up with more lovely Belgian beer and chocolates. A good hotel for a reasonable price, and Antwerp is lovely.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank June H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FranceDZ, General Manager at Astoria Hotel Antwerp, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your impressions. We're delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and the small thank you for booking your room thru our website gift. We appreciate you recommending us and we hope you'll visit Astoria hotel again.

Warm regards,

France De Zutter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

The great thing about the hotel is definitely the location. Located close to the city center, all highlights are do-able walking. Besides this, the hotel was just ok. The rooms were clean, but not exceptionally; the staff was friendly, but not great (when we asked the receptionist to make us a reservation at our restaurant, she told me that 'she did not have time' - which is rather strange, in my opinion); the breakfast was ok, but not plentiful. I would stay here again due to the location, and the price-quality ratio, but don't expect any wonders here.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StuffV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FranceDZ, General Manager at Astoria Hotel Antwerp, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your stay at Astoria Hotel. Your comments are very important for us as we always strive for improvement to offer our clients the best service. I will personally investigate your complaint about our staff and ensure that this will not happen again in the future. We apologize for the inconvenience and regret that you did not completely enjoyed your stay. We truly hope you will give us a second chance next time when you visit Antwerp.

Best regards,

France De Zutter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Antwerpen
0.1 mi away
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
#6 of 72 in Antwerp
819 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Antwerpen Centrum
Ibis Antwerpen Centrum
#18 of 72 in Antwerp
1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lindner Hotel & City Lounge Antwerpen
0.1 mi away
Antwerp City Hotel
Antwerp City Hotel
#20 of 72 in Antwerp
372 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Antwerp Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astoria Hotel Antwerp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria Hotel Antwerp

Address: Korte Herentalsestraat 5 - 13, Antwerp 2018, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 72 Hotels in Antwerp
Price Range: £59 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Astoria Hotel Antwerp 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Astoria Hotel Antwerp is ideally located in the the city centre across the road from the beautiful Stadspark. The historical city packed full of restaurants, bars and the famous diamond sector are located a short stroll away. Antwerp's central station and the most popular shopping area are less than five minutes away. This well regarded hotel is known for its soothing ambiance and impeccable service. With 66 well appointed bedrooms, the hotel offers an affordable base for staying in Antwerp, whether on a business trip, or a weekend break. We are pleased to announce that our hotel is now completely smoke free, smoking is prohibited in all areas of the hotel, including guest rooms. Guests must go outside the building to smoke. Breakfast is available each morning The lobby is equipped with a 'Grab and Go' snacks and drinks machine. We offer FREE internet access in all guest rooms through the flat screen TV Great choice of international channels including CNN free of charge We have secure underground parking for a fee (subject to availability). Guests of the Astoria Hotel can avail of all the facilities at our sister hotel, the Leopold Hotel Antwerp, which is located just 2 minutes walk from our door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Astoria Hotel Antwerp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antwerp Astoria Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing