We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Breakfast!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Astoria Hotel Antwerp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Astoria Hotel Antwerp
Ranked #18 of 71 Hotels in Antwerp
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

The room was big, clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly, but most important, the breakfast was great! Close to the train station and diamond center, but all of the stores were closed on Sunday. Good value.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Excitingforus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FranceDZ, General Manager at Astoria Hotel Antwerp, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience in the Astoria Hotel Antwerp.
We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our full english breakfast and our location was to your liking as well! I hope whenever you decide to come to Belgium again you will consider our hotel for accommodations.

Kind regards,

France De Zutter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    247
    100
    17
    2
See reviews for
57
251
36
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

this hotel is a little gem in antwerp good price well located friendly check in quick and efficient nice clean room great little breakfast all in all a very pleasant stay one can even order kosher which is a plus thanks

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikegee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FranceDZ, General Manager at Astoria Hotel Antwerp, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience at our hotel. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and we sincerely hope to welcome you again at Astoria Hotel.

Warm regards,

France De Zutter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
42 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

The hotel Astoria is a true 3 star, minus. The staff was excellent and very helpful, they were 5 star. The breakfast was a good selection and the location was good for train station, shopping etc. it was at least a 20 minute walk to the cathedral though, I would stay on the other side of town for those attractions.
The air condition was not adequate to cool the room and the window is chained to only open a crack. There are signs in the elevator mentioning a mosquito problem? I did hear them at night, very odd.
The parking was under the hotel through the garage door to the right of their front door. However, very few spots so there must be another lot offsite for more cars.
Anyway, the price was right, the location good for train station area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colorado626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FranceDZ, General Manager at Astoria Hotel Antwerp, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We continously adapt and improve our services by listening and responding to the feedbacks we receive from our clients. Therefore, we thank you and we would be pleased to welcome you back in the future.

Best regards,

France De Zutter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

Stayed here for just 2 nights as a stopover to await our vessel. The hotel is a few minutes walk the main shopping streets in the center of Antwerp. Reception staffs were very professional and courteous.
Rooms were large, clean and comfortable with large shower and bath.
Breakfast was very good with a wide variety to choose from.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AungRedDevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FranceDZ, General Manager at Astoria Hotel Antwerp, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for giving us your feedback on our hotel. It is nice to read you had a pleasant stay. Beside our great location and the friendliness of our staff, the comments of our guests are of big value and importance for our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you again should your travel bring you back to Antwerp in the future.

Kind regards,

France De Zutter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

Although located in a secondary, side street, the hotel is comfortable and the room sizes are very generous. No parking at the hotel, but there is an adequate multi-storey car park just round the corner.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Antony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FranceDZ, General Manager at Astoria Hotel Antwerp, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear guest,

First of all thank you for the time that you have taken to fill in this review. We are very happy that you had an enjoyable stay in Astoria Hotel and we hope to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,

France De Zutter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ra'anana, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

The standard rooms are more than a normal standard room. The location of the hotel is perfect 1 minutes away from my clients, 10 minutes (walking) to the center of Antwerp and 10 minutes (walking) to the central train station. Rooms are more than The people are very helpful and the breakfast has a large selection of food.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DanielBlog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FranceDZ, General Manager at Astoria Hotel Antwerp, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to inform us about your stay in our hotel. It is nice to read you had a pleasant stay. Our staff will surely keep up the good work. We hope whenever you decide to come to Belgium again you will consider our hotel for accommodations.

Kind regards,

France De Zutter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

The idea was, on the occasion of my 40th Birthday, to be able to sit, hopefully outside on the advertised terrace/balcony, relax, enjoy the advertised complimentary bottle of Prosecco, and look at the park, as spring took its hold, possibly in an ironic acknowledgment that, my own youth is now well and truly buried in the sands of time. And then head out to a heavy metal concert to begin my midlife crisis with a (head)bang.

Well, as I said, that WAS the idea. Unfortunately that was not the case. Firstly I should mention that, in general, I do not stay in "posh" hotels. I have worked in/for posh hotels, The Grand in Brighton being one, but I do not stay in them. I see no point, as, in general, I expect not to be in said hotel for anything other than sleeping and freshening up, but, this was my wife's treat. Go somewhere perceived as "a bit snazzy", just for the one night, and, the pictures certainly looked like it would be that.

I indulged her.

I can feel you thinking "Such hardship endured for your wife's pleasure", and some might say that, it's entirely possible that maybe, it was her who was perhaps looking forward to the hotel, more than the prospect of 3 hours of sweaty hairy men watching more sweaty hairy men with guitars shout a lot. I cannot deny that this passed my mind too, however, I digress.

To me, €130 constitutes expensive for one night. I will happily stay in a Britannia Hotel in the UK for 33% of that price. In point of fact, last year on my 39th Birthday, we stayed in Las Vegas, for far less, and had no issue whatsoever. The Astoria was certainly no better than a UK Britannia.

There were 2 balconies. Accessible by stepping through a window. With no chairs on because, well, the view constituted fire exits and the back of other hotels. There was no park in sight, which was somewhat obvious on the approach to the hotel, as it was situated in a side street among other side streets.

There was no park view. See above.

There was no complimentary bottle of wine to go with the whole romance of what should've been happening, presumably because no-one in their right mind could have expected anything remotely romantic to be taking place within this environment.

The decor of the room was dull. Dank even. Besmirched with the air of defeat which had probably oozed from other travellers having arrived here with high hopes only to have them dashed, this contrast perhaps, seeping into the walls, so that instead all that remains is desolate despair reflecting the reality which is The Astoria Hotel room to which we were assigned.

Somewhat disenamoured, my wife headed to the reception, while I quietly cogitated about how I could've used the €70 by which the hotel was overpriced by. The lady on reception, contacted someone of more seniority who proceeded to say, almost without hesitation, that we could move to The Leopold Hotel, for the same price, which is owned by the same company. It was almost as if... and of course this is only speculation... people had complained about the exact same issue before.

So, we were whisked away to the Leopold, where we were offered a normal room for the same price, or, a room that looked startlingly like the room we thought we were booking originally, but, for that, we would have to of course, pay an extra €50. €50 more, to get the room we'd originally paid for, after all the grief which had gone before, was never going to happen, so instead, we took the same priced room, and cut our losses.

There was still no wine. There was still no balcony/terrace to sit and enjoy the.. oh wait... now I see again why there was no wine.

However, the Leopold room at least looked like a room that welcomed people. While I know that should be a congenital part of a hotel room, at this point it was a "thankful for small mercies" moment.

The only positive I can give you for the Astoria Hotel is that the lady who moved us to the Leopold did so with accustomed ease, but the cynic in me wants to think that this is perhaps due to the repetition of such events becoming second nature, rather than good customer service. However, that might be an injustice to her.

Room Tip: Having only seen the one room, I would suggest picking one away from where we were situated which wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AliWiseman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FranceDZ, General Manager at Astoria Hotel Antwerp, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing this elaborate review, as, without exception, we take all reviews very seriously.
We, at Astoria Hotel Antwerp, have 'value for money' as our core value and will go over and beyond to achieve this on a daily basis. As all guests are unique, expectations will differ. In fact, all our efforts go into making every stay with us a memorable one.
However, when these expectations are based on alleged complimentary services which are incorrect., Astoria Hotel Antwerp is consequently unable to meet the requirements for such demands. Understandably, when one expects a " complimentary bottle of Prosecco (or wine) and a Park-view" in our reputable, well established three star hotel, one will be utterly disappointed. We kindly request a second look on the website on which you made the booking, which does not state any of the aforementioned 'bottle of Prosecco or Park-view'.
When compared to other three star properties in the same area, Astoria Hotel is proud to point out our highly competitive rates in regards to our location, quality of service & facilities.
We deeply regret not taking the time to discuss in detail your findings and expectations on the spot before upgrading you to a four star boutique hotel. This would have been a perfect opportunity to assess the situation based on your findings and work towards a memorable stay.

Please don't hesitate to contact us on gm.antwerp@leopoldhotels.com for further details.

Kind regards,

France De Zutter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
0.1 mi away
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
#4 of 71 in Antwerp
4.0 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lindner Hotel & City Lounge Antwerpen
0.7 mi away
Hilton Antwerp Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Antwerpen
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp
0.3 mi away
Ibis Antwerpen Centrum
Ibis Antwerpen Centrum
#15 of 71 in Antwerp
3.5 of 5 bubbles 981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astoria Hotel Antwerp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria Hotel Antwerp

Property: Astoria Hotel Antwerp
Address: Korte Herentalsestraat 5 - 13, Antwerp 2018, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 71 Hotels in Antwerp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Astoria Hotel Antwerp 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Astoria Hotel Antwerp is ideally located in the the city centre across the road from the beautiful Stadspark. The historical city packed full of restaurants, bars and the famous diamond sector are located a short stroll away. Antwerp's central station and the most popular shopping area are less than five minutes away. This well regarded hotel is known for its soothing ambiance and impeccable service. With 66 well appointed bedrooms, the hotel offers an affordable base for staying in Antwerp, whether on a business trip, or a weekend break. We are pleased to announce that our hotel is now completely smoke free, smoking is prohibited in all areas of the hotel, including guest rooms. Guests must go outside the building to smoke. Breakfast is available each morning The lobby is equipped with a 'Grab and Go' snacks and drinks machine. We offer FREE internet access in all guest rooms through the flat screen TV Great choice of international channels including CNN free of charge We have secure underground parking for a fee (subject to availability). Guests of the Astoria Hotel can avail of all the facilities at our sister hotel, the Leopold Hotel Antwerp, which is located just 2 minutes walk from our door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Astoria Hotel Antwerp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antwerp Astoria Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing