We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Astoria Hotel Antwerp
Ranked #18 of 72 Hotels in Antwerp
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
Reviewed 5 November 2008

My cousin and I stayed at this hotel in Oct 2008 for two nights. The hotel was located about four blocks from the Antwerp Train Station on a side street. If you head back toward the train station you are near lots of restaurants and good places to eat. The hotel was very nice with normal American size rooms and bathrooms, which is uncommon in Europe. You do not have to worry about bumping into everything or anyone at this hotel.

Our stay included breakfast which was decent for Europe. There was actual food and not just muffins and bread. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Antwerp. In addition, we found the staff very friendly and helpful! I will stay at this hotel again on my next trip to Antwerpen.

  • Liked — The size of the Rooms
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pieface2028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francedz, Hotel Manager at Astoria Hotel Antwerp, responded to this review, 7 November 2008
Dear guest,
Reading your review is definitely the best to start a good weekend! Thank you very much!
Kind regards,
France De Zutter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    257
    102
    17
    3
See reviews for
62
257
37
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chas5
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2008

great hotel,very central, very friendly, good food, excellent value.
will definately return!
Charles Green

  • Liked — Friendly, clean, bed is like 5 star hotel
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Chas5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francedz, Hotel Manager at Astoria Hotel Antwerp, responded to this review, 20 October 2008
Dear Mr. Green,

You know, thousands of things can go wrong while organizing to make all guests happy but when we get this much appreciation, we remember suddenly why we chose for this job! Thank you very much and see you next year.

Kind regards (also to your lovely wife),

France De Zutter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zevenaar
1 review
Reviewed 3 October 2008

Last week I stayed 4 nights in Astoria hotel because my husband who had an accident in Antwerp was in hospital for several days.

Astoria has 3 stars but it felt like 5 stars! All staff knew about my difficult situation and they were extremely friendly and helpful; always listening to me, offering me something to drink and helping me with all I needed. Especialy the manager she was there for me 24/7!!!The room was nice and clean and the service was much more than what I could ever expect, I felt like a VIP!

As soon as my husband will be able to travel again to Antwerp for a weekend we don’t need to search for a good hotel, we found it already!

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
Thank M032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francedz, Hotel Manager at Astoria Hotel Antwerp, responded to this review, 21 October 2008
We are very happy with your review. It was a pleasure to welcome you in Astoria Hotel and our duty to give service. We really hope your husband is recovering well and we hope we can welcome you both again soon for an unforgettable weekend!

Best regards,

France De Zutter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester england
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2008

After I had booked the hotel I read some reviews on it and was getting very worried.

It had mixed reviews some bad and some good.

Well I can now give you all the real answer!!!

It s very good for the price.

Clean room
Clean bathroom
Clean sheets

No toothbrush provided , but they do provide a hairdryer, hair and body shampoo.

Breakfast was Buffet style. There was a choice of bread, croissant, cold meat, boiled eggs or scrambled eggs.

Cereal, yoghurt, apples and oranges.

Drinkwise there was a choice of teas, coffee, orange juice and grapefriut juice and bottled water.

  • Liked — close to coach station and train station
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jscwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francedz, Hotel Manager at Astoria Hotel Antwerp, responded to this review, 26 August 2008
We would like to thank you for this positive note. We love getting comments from guests so we can improve every day.
There are negative comments mainly from the time before we renovated the hotel and unfortunately these reviews are still visible.
Thanks again for your review and hopefully we can welcome you again soon.

Kind regards,

France De Zutter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2008

Spent one night here. Arrived in morning and was able to leave car in underground carpark. It only hold about 10 cars, so it's a good idea to get there early as the hotel seems to be popular with Dutch guests with cars. Parking cost is €17. We couldn't check into our room until 14:00, which was fine as there is plenty to see in Antwerp. It's about a 10 minute walk to the main shopping street (Meir). Antwerp is flat and easy to wander around. Good quiet room at rear of building. Bathroom was fine with powerful shower. Aircon wasn't that great. Even with the highest fan and cooling settings the room never got that cool. If turns off automatically if you open the window. Good buffet breakfast, with kosher option, if you want it. Would stay here again.

  • Liked — Location and price
  • Disliked — inefficient airconditioning
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorset Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francedz, Hotel Manager at Astoria Hotel Antwerp, responded to this review, 26 August 2008
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
We had some Airco problems but these are solved now. Now that the system is functioning well, the weather isn't that good... Well, we will be prepared for the next sunny season!
Thank you again for the comment and hope to see you soon again for a stay with super airco!

Kind regards,

France De Zutter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
everywhere
Level Contributor
43 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2008

This hotel is located in the diamond district, very close to the central station, which is great if that is how you are arriving. It is not exactly close to all the tourist attractions, although the city itself is very walkable.

The room was in need of renovation - the furnishings were dated and the bathroom was functional. There are no toiletries, only a soap/shampoo dispenser. Twice in a 4 night stay, I received only a hand towel. The room is a decent size for Europe and there is a small fridge. There is supposed to be an in-room safe but it operates with a key and the one in my room had clearly been forced open a number of times - I wouldn't leave anything in it. The wifi available is 15 euros per day - hardly a bargain.

The breakfast buffet is larger than many, but many of the items are left too long - the breads are stale and the same pieces of fruit (some rather sad apples and oranges) were the same throughout my stay.

The desk staff was indifferent and not terribly helpful. For the price and location, I suspect there might be better hotels.

  • Liked — location - near train station
  • Disliked — services
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonedigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francedz, Hotel Manager at Astoria Hotel Antwerp, responded to this review, 26 August 2008
Dear guest,
We are surprised to read that your stay was not exactly what you expected. We can't find a reservation on the name of Bonedigger so probably you booked the room under another name.
Please, if I may ask, can you contact me on my e-mail with your details so I can contact you to solve this matter?
Thank you very much for your comments and hope to talk to you soon so we can learn from our mistakes and improve.

Best regards,

France De Zutter
gm@astoria-antwerp.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2008

Got a good deal here after shopping around (Single Room for 60 Euros). Rooms are large and kept clean with decent bathroom. Located close to the station and about 10 minutes walk from city centre. Some noise from the street but nothing to complain about. Cold buffet breakfast was decent enough. No all night reception, access at night is with room card. Staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Liked — Location and Price
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank footix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francedz, Hotel Manager at Astoria Hotel Antwerp, responded to this review, 26 August 2008
Dear guest,
We are happy to read this positive note and hope to welcome you again in the near future.
We have a night receptionist all night but as they have administrative work to do in the back office he is not always visible. This is a good point, we consider moving the back office more to the front to have a better contact with our guests.
Thank you very much for letting us know so we can do something about it.

Best regards,

France De Zutter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
0.1 mi away
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
#7 of 72 in Antwerp
797 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Antwerpen
0.3 mi away
Lindner Hotel & City Lounge Antwerpen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Antwerp Old Town
0.1 mi away
Antwerp City Hotel
Antwerp City Hotel
#22 of 72 in Antwerp
351 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astoria Hotel Antwerp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria Hotel Antwerp

Property: Astoria Hotel Antwerp
Address: Korte Herentalsestraat 5 - 13, Antwerp 2018, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 72 Hotels in Antwerp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Astoria Hotel Antwerp 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Astoria Hotel Antwerp is ideally located in the the city centre across the road from the beautiful Stadspark. The historical city packed full of restaurants, bars and the famous diamond sector are located a short stroll away. Antwerp's central station and the most popular shopping area are less than five minutes away. This well regarded hotel is known for its soothing ambiance and impeccable service. With 66 well appointed bedrooms, the hotel offers an affordable base for staying in Antwerp, whether on a business trip, or a weekend break. We are pleased to announce that our hotel is now completely smoke free, smoking is prohibited in all areas of the hotel, including guest rooms. Guests must go outside the building to smoke. Breakfast is available each morning The lobby is equipped with a 'Grab and Go' snacks and drinks machine. We offer FREE internet access in all guest rooms through the flat screen TV Great choice of international channels including CNN free of charge We have secure underground parking for a fee (subject to availability). Guests of the Astoria Hotel can avail of all the facilities at our sister hotel, the Leopold Hotel Antwerp, which is located just 2 minutes walk from our door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Astoria Hotel Antwerp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antwerp Astoria Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing