We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good value for money!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Astoria Hotel Antwerp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Astoria Hotel Antwerp
Ranked #18 of 71 Hotels in Antwerp
Bergen
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very good value for money!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2009

Stayed here 12-15 april during a belgium-trip, and it was chosen from the ratings here at TripAdvisor. We were not disappointed, the hotel is nice, modern and clean with a very friendly staff. The manager was present at breakfast, asking us if we were pleased with our stay, and of course we were. This shows a very good attitude towards the guests.
The TV has a keyboard and internet connection so we could check e-mails and read news from home, without bringing a laptop.
Hotel has a good location in a safe neighbourhood, close to the police station and about 200m walk to the metro and central station.
Only thing that could be better is that the room had no mini bar, not that I usually get stuff from it but I like to keep some drinking water (and maybe beers) cool there.
Conclusion: If I ever go to Antwerp again, I will definetely stay at the Antwerp Astoria

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank magnum007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FranceDeZutter, Hotel Manager at Astoria Hotel Antwerp, responded to this review, 7 May 2009
Dear guest,
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope that you will find a nice excuse to come back to Antwerp. See you for breakfast then! Kind regards, France De Zutter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    247
    100
    17
    2
See reviews for
57
251
36
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2009

As soon as we walked through the front door we had a satisfaction feeling about this hotel.
The staff are very friendly, making our party of 4 really welcome. While the men were doing the necessary registration paperwork, the ladies were given a brief rundown on places of interest.

This is not a large hotel but of good proportion and well run. The Astoria is clean and fresh, the rooms are large enough with double beds (very comfortable) wardrobes, chairs and coffee table with a good size bathroom with a shower that worked very well and always hot water. Hair dryer and shampoo/shower gel
on dispensers. The rooms have telephone, safe deposit box, mini bar and a good size T.V. with internet so no having to rush down to the reception if you want to check your e-mails.
This hotel is bed and breakfast only and the food is basic with meat eggs cereals cheese etc. the dinning room is clean and bright with plenty of tables.

The only fault we could find was that although there is a bar close to reception it was never open, maybe this would have been a good idea.

The Astoria is situated very central within easy walking distance to the main centre. The railway station is only 5 minutes walk away should you wish to travel further. We got a train to Brussels one day and one to Bruges another day and at about 13 euros it was so easy.

Antwerp is alive with shops and restaurants there is so much choice on offer.

We found the easiest way from the airport to the hotel was by taxi it’s about 15 minutes drive away and cost about 13 euros.

This is a friendly little hotel and we could find nothing at all wrong with it. Should I ever go back to Antwerp I would certainly use the Astoria Hotel and recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doneit49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FranceDeZutter, Hotel Manager at Astoria Hotel Antwerp, responded to this review, 19 April 2009
Dear guest,
We are very happy that you and your friends enjoyed your stay. The bar used to be open years ago but all guests preferred to take a 400 meter walk to the Keyserlei in front of the train station with lots of bars and restaurants. The Grab & Go vending machine and the coffee/tea facilities in the lobby give a nice alternative to guests who prefer to stay "home". We hope to welcome you soon again with your friends and will do all possible to make your stay unforgettable. Kind regards, France De Zutter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, England
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2009

Antwerp (Pop 440,000) is a great city to visit. Something for everyone, historic sites, great shopping, excellent food and drink (Belgium Beer, Waffles, Chocolate, best fries in the world (try wth gravy or mayonnaise), great public transport. We were on an 2 day, overnight trip and the Astoria was actually a very pleasant surprise. Judging by some comments on some sites about this being a "bed and breakfast" we can say a a definite no. It is a very nice, extremely well-priced hotel. It hasn't got an "evening" restaurant but Antwerp has many excellent restaurants at all prices but that is the only thing. It is in a quiet street right in the Diamond district which is a unique experience, near the station and only a 2 minute walk from the main shopping street (Meir) which leads all the way to the main Markt historic core. The restaurant, as such, is a very spacious, well-stocked Breakfast Room which is included in the price. Considering the very reasonable price the hotel is very clean and the rooms were pleasantly spacious. You could pay twice as much and you really wouldn't get much better. Great for cars (always a problem in old cities)as it has an excellent, clean modern underground car park, although, beware, it is limited in spaces and a bit tight to get out of, but as long as you don't turn up too late you should be ok - you have to pay extra but it is extremely secure as it has a shutter door. Room was very quiet, clean, sheets clean. Pillows were bit hard but that's a minor issue. Fantastic stay, and we will come back shortly as the Fashion Museum was closed until March and we didn't get a chance to see the Main Art gallery which looks excellent. Ruben's House is better than expected. Great value.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thickasblood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francedz, Hotel Manager at Astoria Hotel Antwerp, responded to this review, 25 February 2009
Dear guest,
It is still early in the morning. You know the kind of morning in winter time where you need a strong coffee and matches to keep your eyes open. Going quickly through the mails before running around... And yes!!! Your comment opens my eyes without coffee and matches! Thank you very much for the kind words, we are looking forward to see you soon again! We love happy returning guests because they help a lot to the "home away from home feeling" in Astoria!
Have a nice day too!
France.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bray, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2009

I stayed in the Astoria for one night in January of 2009. The hotel has a great location, only 5 mins walk from the central train station and right in the heart of the Diamond district. The room was clean and comfortable and the staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was basic, but fine for what we paid. Above all, the hotel was extremely good value for money.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank wicklowglobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francedz, Hotel Manager at Astoria Hotel Antwerp, responded to this review, 29 January 2009
Dear guest,
Thank you for this positive review. We hope to welcome you soon again at home away from home.
Best regards,
France De Zutter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2008

In this hotel you feel like home!
Very good management by France de Zutter. Lots of compliments for her and her staff.
We tried some hotels in Antwerp the last years, also the Carlton. But when mrs. de Zutter was going to the Astoria and leaving the Carlron-hotel, the Carlton was not a really good hotel anymore.
So we tried the Astoria that was nearby en now we come back every two months.
Breakfast is very good (you can boil youre own egg if you want!), The hotel room very nice and a 5-star bed.
What do you need more to book the Astoria immediatly???

  • Liked — The management, her staff, the hotelroom, the braekfast en shpping
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LovelifeHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francedz, Hotel Manager at Astoria Hotel Antwerp, responded to this review, 8 December 2008
Dear guest,

Many thanks for this sweet words. When you feel home in Astoria, we feel just perfect! I know giving service is our job but when it gets so appreciated, we love doing what we do even more. See you soon again, France.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2008

My wife and I stayed in this nice hotel for two nights. It is situated in the middle of the "diamonddistrict". Also close to the citycentre and the railwaystation. Lots of restaurants are nearby but out of sight. The neighbourhood of the hotel is quiet so you get a good sleep. The rooms are comfortable and all you need is there. We were surprised because when you see the hotel on the outsight you don't expect it contains such nice rooms. The breakfast was included and very nice with lots of varity. The sfaff was very helpful and friendly and the manager Mrs De Zutter told us about nice places to visit. Very kind of here and as we visit also an other hotel in Antwerp we know this is not common for the management. Next time we know where to go in Antwerp. We will recommend it to all our friends. You really get value for money.

  • Liked — spacy rooms, nice breakfast and lots of shopping nearby, value for money
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FranksTiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2008

I stayed there with a friend in November.
We walked a bit from the central station to here but not too long.
Take the bigger roads to get there if you are arriving at night. It can be kind of sketchy in that area.
But once you are out on the big road where there are many restaurants, you will be ok.
There is really good chocolate store/cafe near by as well.
Supposed to be one of the best chocolate in Antwerp.

The hotel room was very comftable, breakfast had varieties as well. So many pastes to go with the bread.

Cons of this hotel was internet...
I had my computer with me but it costs 18 euro for 24 hours to do internet. no free WI FI.
If you go to the main road, there are some restaurant or cafes with free internet so if you are dying with no internet, you should probably take your computer to those cafes.
I didnt end up using internet though.

  • Liked — rooms
  • Disliked — no internet (too expensive)
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank hinakogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FranceDeZutter, Hotel Manager at Astoria Hotel Antwerp, responded to this review, 22 November 2008
Dear guest,
We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay in Astoria Hotel. WIFI is expensive but as we care a lot about the needs of our guests, we ordered a new system. As from January 2009 the Internet will be free of charge to all our guests. We will provide keyboards to use the Internet on the flat screen in your room free of charge. We really hope that we can welcome you again soon!
Best regards, France De Zutter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
0.1 mi away
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
#3 of 71 in Antwerp
4.0 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lindner Hotel & City Lounge Antwerpen
0.7 mi away
Hilton Antwerp Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Antwerpen
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp
0.3 mi away
Ibis Antwerpen Centrum
Ibis Antwerpen Centrum
#15 of 71 in Antwerp
3.5 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astoria Hotel Antwerp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria Hotel Antwerp

Property: Astoria Hotel Antwerp
Address: Korte Herentalsestraat 5 - 13, Antwerp 2018, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 71 Hotels in Antwerp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Astoria Hotel Antwerp 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Astoria Hotel Antwerp is ideally located in the the city centre across the road from the beautiful Stadspark. The historical city packed full of restaurants, bars and the famous diamond sector are located a short stroll away. Antwerp's central station and the most popular shopping area are less than five minutes away. This well regarded hotel is known for its soothing ambiance and impeccable service. With 66 well appointed bedrooms, the hotel offers an affordable base for staying in Antwerp, whether on a business trip, or a weekend break. We are pleased to announce that our hotel is now completely smoke free, smoking is prohibited in all areas of the hotel, including guest rooms. Guests must go outside the building to smoke. Breakfast is available each morning The lobby is equipped with a 'Grab and Go' snacks and drinks machine. We offer FREE internet access in all guest rooms through the flat screen TV Great choice of international channels including CNN free of charge We have secure underground parking for a fee (subject to availability). Guests of the Astoria Hotel can avail of all the facilities at our sister hotel, the Leopold Hotel Antwerp, which is located just 2 minutes walk from our door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Astoria Hotel Antwerp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antwerp Astoria Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing