We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlight of Trip to Antwerp”
Review of Reload - CLOSED

Reload
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$19 - US$29
Cuisines: Belgian
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Highlight of Trip to Antwerp”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Great food and amazing service (which, to be honest, can be rare in this part of Europe). They translated the whole menu from Flemish to English for us (it's on a chalkboard). We are traveling with our 9 month old son and they were very helpful. Our waiter even read a book to him while we were eating :)
Very trendy, upscale, neighborhoody atmosphere with flavorful, local food but not pretentious at all.
Truly one of the highlights of our time in Antwerp.
Great place for a date or something as well. Amazing value for a fine meal.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CultureCouple2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    52
    9
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Vol-au-vent & friendliness”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We ate here July 23 on the first night of our holiday. This was a great place for us on two counts: the super-friendliness of the guy in charge who spoke great English and the main dishes. We skipped a starter and weighed in with two tradish Belgian dishes which were both expertly done. My chicken vol-au-vent was absolutely great. It was a generous portion of food and everything about the dish was impressive, given that I was hungry and didn't want something delicately executed. The quality of the chicken and of the sauce were way better than I expected. Not sure it was a great fit with salad, but frankly, that wasn't the point. The fries on the side were beautiful. We shared an ice cream dessert that was very, very nice, and all in all we were delighted to have found Re-load after sizing it up on TAd from England.

Atmosphere very informal, prices reasonable (for Belgium/Holland) and overall a sense of people running a restaurant who want customers to be well-looked after and who carry the thing off with more expertise than we're used to here in Britain.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnActor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nice little place!”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We're really happy we found this nice little place to eat! The food is wonderful and is served in generous portions, there are a lot of plates to choose from - even for vegetarians. And it's all very affordable. The service is also excellent, and the ambience is really nice and easy-going. I'd definitely come to this place again!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cecilia2707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansdowne, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Wonderful eatery!!!”
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

There were six of us looking for a casual and relaxed meal. This turned out to be the perfect place. For a small restaurant, the menu was very extensive. We ordered a variety of dishes including beef stew, duck stew, rib eye, vol au vent and meatballs. Normally they will limit each party to only 4 different dishes because of the kitchen limitations but they weren't busy so made an exception. The menu was only in Flemish and the proprietor was extremely helpful with interpretation. Food arrived promptly and hot with very generous portions of delicious fries. It seemed like it had just come out of a home kitchen....very fresh, flavourful and generous portions. The meal and service were delightful.

Make sure you have cash....credit cards not accepted.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent service, lovely food!”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We had a lovely meal at Reload. We arrived quite early, so didn't need to book, but if you are planning on going after 8pm ish, I recommend booking a table, as it gets quite busy. All of the menu was on a large blackboard, but the lovely waiter came and sat with us to translate it into English. He also made it clear that he was there to help if we had any questions. When the food arrived, it was lovely, and all clearly made with fresh ingredients (hence no fixed menu). A lovely little find, not too far from our hotel near Central Station.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jooster30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Reload also viewed

Antwerp, Antwerp Province
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing