We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busy but relaxed and friendly campsite.”
Review of Camping de Molen

Camping de Molen
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Antwerp
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Camping de Molen
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Busy but relaxed and friendly campsite.”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

I can confirm much of what the other reviewers have said - It is a great base from which to visit Antwerp which we found to be a great city, interesting sites, good restaurants and a good buzz. There are bikes to hire from the campsite ( at a good daily rate) and this really does make the journey into Antwerp much easier and the tunnel under the river to the city is quite an experience ( especially if the elevator is being mended and you need to hold your bike on the escalators!) Omar in reception was exceptionally helpful, whizzing off on his bike to find a place to fit in our campervan and his hospitality may explain why the site can get full, he continued to find places for more and more tents. If you don't want to be turned away you are very grateful to him, if you come back and find another tent squeezed in next to you then you may feel differently. But all remains a friendly site and quite quiet. Omar went out of his way to sort our electricity supply, was informative about the area and a great ambassador for the site.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bombaysapphire_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    7
    10
    5
    7
See reviews for
3
21
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Northwest England
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Great just as a base, no electrics for tents which would stop me visiting again. We left early because of rain but didn't get a refund. Showers and toilets basic but clean and electric sockets in the block which was a bonus.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank NothernGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
157 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Antwerp is a great city and Camping De Molen is a good place to stay. Its a good walk in, about 1.5 miles but really easy on a bike.The tunnel under the river is a real experience. The toilets and showers could be cleaner but we had 4 nights there and it was fine. When you arrive dont be worried that your electric hook up doesnt fit. They have adapters at reception.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lmlmlmjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deventer, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

The campsite 'De Molen' is an good place to stay if you just don't expect a very wide area or view: this is a typical 'city camp site'. It is an excellent place to stay if you want to discover Antwerp by bike (bring you own, no rental biks on the camp site or nearby), because it is situated on the other site of the river 'Schelde'. But via the superb walking & cycling tunnel below the river 'Schelde' (including 2 elevators) the city center can be reached by bike within 10'. By foot it will take you about 30 to 40'.

The camp site was a bit crowded during our stay in August. Sometimes even 2 or 3 tents were placed on one place. Nevertheless the atmosphere was very relaxed and so where the other visitors of the camp site. Toilets and showers are okay, nothing special.

Swimming pool (not included in camping price) ánd free river-beach next to the camping!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Maud_van_Etten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
1.9 mi away
Ibis Budget Antwerpen City Central Station
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Antwerp City North
1.1 mi away
Hilton Antwerp Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp
1.9 mi away
Lindner Hotel & City Lounge Antwerpen
2.4 mi away
Ibis Budget Antwerpen Port
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping de Molen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping de Molen

Property: Camping de Molen
Address: Thonetlaan - Jachthavenweg | St Annastrand, Antwerp 2050, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 44 Speciality Lodging in Antwerp

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing