We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Rubens - Grote Markt
Ranked #12 of 72 Hotels in Antwerp
Certificate of Excellence
Yerevan, Armenia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“very average”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

i was not impressed with the service. besides, the internet was a problem, which is rather important for me. i could not connect to to the internet in the lobby. the connection in the room was ok, but it was good only for one device, which is not acceptable. prepaid cards for 24-hour connection were not available, and 3 hour cards cost 10 eur.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vahan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rubenshotel, Manager at Hotel Rubens - Grote Markt, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear Sir
We are very sorry that you were less than fully satisfied with our hotel since our aim is always to try and please every guest.
The free internet in the lobby, usually works for every computer, and as many devices as wanted per guest. We are surprised it did not for you, since we see many guests using their computers, laptops,tablets and I phones, especially while they are enjoying the free tapas and drinks on week days between 6 and 8 pm.
Fortunately the internet in you room did work well, we are happy about that. Of course there is always the free internet table top computer in the lobby which even has skype on it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    174
    73
    11
    9
See reviews for
36
205
11
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, UK
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights. It was a pleasant stay in a comfortable and quiet room. The location is close to the old market square & close to many restaurants.
The breakfast was buffet style, with a good selection opening up early if like me you had to leave before 07:00 each day.
The restaurant is not open of an evening as there are many near by. What they did have of an evening was a complementary wine selection & some nibbles - cheeses, pickles, tortilla chips. A nice aperitif to try before going out for the evening!
The reception hold a list of local restaurants with a free map & the one they recommended to us was excellent!
I would definitely return again whether business or pleasure.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank MSellwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkland, WA
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 380 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 1 night. The location is convenient to so much - just about a block off Grote Markt. The room was very comfortable, and the bathroom had a separate water closet and shower/sink area, which allowed for a good amount of space. Breakfast offered a good selection of items, including coffee, tea, juice, cereal, rolls, cold cuts, yogurt, fruit and eggs. The lobby was large and attractively decorated, and everything looked well maintained.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirkland_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bombay India
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

stayed here a couple of times already. infact it was first recommended to me by The Hilton 3 yrs ago when they were fully booked.

Small cozy hotel, centrally located, clean, nice breakfast. i keep going back...

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bombay36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

I have nothing but good things to say about Hotel Rubens. Great location on a quiet street just off the Grote Markt. We walked everywhere. Free internet in the lobby, free wine & appetizers in the evenings, and a very nice breakfast spread. The room was quite large and comfortable. Staff was really accommodating - they pour you port when you check in, they have a list of vetted restaurants in the area which we used both nights & really appreciated. And when we called from the train station to say we thought my husband had lost his camera while checking out, they found it in one of the lobby chairs & I was able to pick it up later. I felt this was a very good value for the price, given the excellent location, service and amenities.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Albiart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yoho National Park, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Hotel Rubens is located on a quiet street right behind the Grote Markt. It's a very short walk to the many cafes and restaurants, churches and cathedrals and the Groene Plaats (Green Place).

Our room was spacious and clean, the beds very comfortable and the complimentary tea and coffee in the room and nightly complimentary wine and tapas between 6 and 8 are a very nice touch.

Breakfast is very generous, served buffet style, with fresh fruit, juices, yoghurt, cereals, pancakes, different types of bread, cold cuts, cheese and eggs. One does not leave hungry!

Staff at reception gave us a list with restaurants they recommend in the area, which was helpful as the choices are many.

The Hotel Rubens is a true gem: friendly, charming and welcoming in that perfect location.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LDG-BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

The hotel was quiet and clean, and the rooms were large and comfortable. The breakfast included pancakes, which are a favorite of mine. Staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast and reception areas felt like a private club and had character.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Edward B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Antwerp Old Town
0.9 mi away
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
#6 of 72 in Antwerp
799 reviews
0.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Julien
Hotel Julien
#8 of 72 in Antwerp
380 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lindner Hotel & City Lounge Antwerpen
0.9 mi away
Queen A Antwerp
Queen A Antwerp
#4 of 72 in Antwerp
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rubens - Grote Markt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rubens - Grote Markt

Property: Hotel Rubens - Grote Markt
Address: Oude Beurs 29, Antwerp 2000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Antwerp
#8 Luxury Hotel in Antwerp
#9 Romantic Hotel in Antwerp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rubens - Grote Markt 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Rubens-Grote Markt is situated less than a 1-minute walk from the lively Market Square with bars and restaurants, as well as The Cathedral of Our Lady. It has a 24-hour front desk and free high speed wireless internet access throughout the property. This hotel offers light and spacious rooms as well as a luxurious suite. All units have individual climate control as well as a flat-screen TV. Some of the deluxe rooms and suites also come with a private terrace. The breakfast buffet offers a variety of hot and cold choices. Weather permitting, breakfast is served on the patio with the hotel's own 16th-century Pagadder tower. Guests can benefit from the Rubens-Grote Markt's convenient location in the historic centre for visiting the most important museums and shopping streets, De Meir and Groenplaats Square, all within walking distance. The MAS Museum is a 10-minute walk and the Red Star Line Museum can be reached in 15 minutes on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Rubens - Grote Markt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rubens Grote Markt
Rubens Grote Markt Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing